Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 872 Ratings for the 1993 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next

Great Value in an SUV!

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,525

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliability, value, 4WD"

Cons: "V8 sucks gas easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Overall, a great value... the leather seats are comfortable, the Jeep has a quiet ride, is smooth on the road, and the 4WD will get you through the snow in the winter... just wish the interior had a bit more to it in terms of style and technology features, but of course, this is 1994, not 2014. My Jeep is going on 20 years old and still runs like the day it was new (although I've only owned it 2 years). My family has owned Jeep Grand Cherokees as old as 1994 and as new as 2005, and this is second best compared to my '02 and '05 I also own now. A good buy!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A GREAT SUV if u keep it up

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,555

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good car if u keep the maintenance up on it"

Cons: "All Cherokees are over price in my opinion"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My Jeep is 18 yrs old and i love it. All in all it is a great car. Don't know about the new Grand Cherokee Jeeps but this model and year has been great. No engine or Transmission trouble in 18 yrs. loved it."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

can't do better than a jeep for SUV

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable 4x4 goes thru alot better than any truck"

Cons: "tailgate wiper and tailgate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have owned my jeep for 8 years and she has never let me down or stranded. I replace her tires every year, whether or not it is needed. Oil is changed at 2500 to 2700 miles. when I seen my jeep in the lot, I bought it with NO test drive. No regrets."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best suv that I have owned

By on Sunday, June 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the jeep 11 yrs ago it had 35,000 on it I have always taken care of my cars. I run bigger tires for more comfort 235 75r15s calls for 215 75 r 15s handles great in the winter BEST SUV EVER OWNED WANT A NOTHER ONE never had any mech problems the normal stuff"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

needs tlc

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"it needs some work but is still a reliable transportation. it has 31 10 15 tires on alloy wheels with 90% tred. 4wd works ill consider any offers"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great jeep. Gas mileage not too good.

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "size and perks of the grand cherokee limited, 4WD"

Cons: "gas mileage, back seat difficult to access"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Great size and perks for a four wheel drive. Classy enough to drive anywhere."

I LOVE this car.

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 365,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Felt safe when driving; go anywhere; looks great"

Cons: "AC unit not the best"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely Love this Jeep! Did not want to invest in it originally but so glad my family overruled. Bought it from the dealer who drove it for 1,000 miles; and we are the only other owners. We have a wonderful history together: family trips, business trips, vacations, writing/book signing tours. If I had the ability and $$$, I would completely restore the car and keep it forever. We always felt safe when driving it, got us where we needed to go in style. Great cargo area, easy loading and unloading. Performed well in challenging weather conditions."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

It has always gotten me there and back.

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Will handle about anything"

Cons: "I had to replace the fuel pump at around 200k mi"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"It's been through about everything from snow to rivers and from fields to highways."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Bought at an auction and got taken.

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought this Jeep at local auction.Had transmission trouble right away. Spent $1500.00 to fix and worked for a few weeks.In shop again and want another $1250.00 to fix.This Jeep is supposed to be 4 WD but all the equipment removed from the front wheels and now is a 2 wheel rear drive jeep.Motor runs good,body in good shape,leather interior,roof rack.Could be fixed or used for a parts car."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Very reliable. Awesome in snow!!

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Runs and drives great- even tho has lotsa miles."

Cons: "Rust prone due to body design, not fuel efficient."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I LOVE this Jeep. It's old and rusty and she never hesitates to start- even on the coldest days. Awesome in the snow- better than some 4x4s with lift kits (could be my driving, too LOL!) Prone to rust along windshield, wheel wells, and on body inside doors. Reliable and tough. I want another one!!"

very good vehicle.drives well.needs new interior s

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,610

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive very comfortable."

Cons: "two cup holders up front.seats fold down in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"runs good couple little things needed.reverse light,sway bar is bent,headboard and speakers need replaced,"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

love this Jeep

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great reliability"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this Jeep for 5 years. I bought it for Mn winters but now drive it year around. It's reliable comfortable sharp looking rugged...and it wears a bumper sticker that says"silly boys Jeeps are for girls" love my Jeep!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best iv ever owned

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: frame rusted

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "best ever"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"when i sold her she had 188000 only sold her because the frame was bad had her 9 years"

4 5yrs. ALL N ALL has been good to me

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "claimes EXECELENT"

Cons: "n/a"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

WANT TO CLIM

"SMART WAY IS REBUILD "trans. rebuild 2100.-2400.""

WANT TO CLIM

Love My Jeep!

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Love it's fully loaded and goes everywhere!"

Cons: "Typical gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased my jeep used about 6 years ago, other than minor repairs, I have been pleased with everything about it. As a single woman, and due to my current financial situation, I would like to have a vehicle with better fuel economy. I live in East Tennessee and we don't get lots of snow, but when we do, my wonderful Jeep will go anywhere! We recently had a pretty big snow storm for our area..6-8 inches..and I was so proud of my Jeep!! I actually passed a wrecker on the highway that had came to rescue a police car that was stranded, the wrecker was stranded also!! My Jeep amazed me because I have yet see weather that it can handle. I am looking to trade for a smaller vehicle to trade for. I wish I could afford to keep my Jeep too! :("

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I am in love with this jeep

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "perfect wheeling vehicle"

Cons: "poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This jeep has an awesome lift kit, big tires, body is in great shape, no rust, etc. a few electrical issues but nothing major and the engine is in great shape."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Warning -- Severe Electrical Problems Nightmare !

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
4/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought a used 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 in great shape around 6 months ago and it ran fine for a month but then developed severe engine stalling and stopping problems, Google this and you will find that a multitude of JGC owners have had a nightmare plethora of problems trying to resolve what is apparently a factory system defect, even with professional mechanics' assistance! Beware, beware....and I sure wish someone had warned me about this before I bought a Grand Cherokee in the mid-90s era. My experience with the regular Jeep Cherokees, however, has been great....and they are very reliable cars."

9 people out of 11 found this review helpful

the best vehicle we have ever owned...period!

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 284,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "decent gas mileage,reliability,great motor"

Cons: "bland interior,road noise,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Sitting with our Hemi Grand Cherokee

"Bought this Jeep in 2000 with 56,000 miles on it.It now has 284,000 plus miles. We replaced brakes,tires,2 waterpumps,radiator and both front axles 2 times. Has has 4 cat back exhausts and new shocks on it (after 125,000 miles)The motor and transmission have never beep apart except for a valve cover gasket,exhaust gasket and water pump replacement. The best motor ever is the 4.0L motor..Starting to wear out but we will surely miss this girl when she has to be laid to rest.."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sitting with our Hemi Grand Cherokee

I LOVE MY JEEP!!!

By on Thursday, January 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, goes great in bad weather."

Cons: "OK gas mileage for a 4x4"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought mine used last year with 153,000 miles on it. Very good shape for being 15 years old! Not afraid to take it anywhere. 4 wheel drive is amazing. It goes like a tank in the snow, slush, mud."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

got mine in 1997 its a 96 love it

By on Saturday, December 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "bets suv i one beter then the k5 blazer"

Cons: "cant think of one my son wonts my jeep now"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best suv i have beter then my k5 blazer i have with a plow jeep has 200000 on it and is going running good"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I'll drive it till the wheels fall off

By on Sunday, December 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable, long lasting and enjoyable in any weathe"

Cons: "not the best on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this Jeep used with about 80K and now have 170K on it and she still runs strong. My girlfriend likes it so much that she asked me to go and find one for her. I found her a newer one but she and many others I speak with like the older Jeeps from the 90's better. They are heavier and more solid feeling. I'd probably look around for one from the 90's with low milage before I'd consider a newer Jeep. With the exception of my classic Brit sports car, probably the best money I ever spent on a used vehicle."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Still love it.

By on Saturday, November 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "All season"

Cons: "Terrible Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought mine 10 years ago with 120,000 miles on it. It currently has 186,000 on it and has never left me stranded. Still take on trips to Florida. Just replaced original Muffler and other than normal wear and tear and a small transmission leak(about a quart a week)no problems!The only complaint is the gas mileage on this is 17 highway and 14-15 city."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

love my Jeep

By on Tuesday, November 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is the first jeep I have ever owned and I fell in love with it. If and when I decide to sell I will stay with the Jeep. I have had to put work into it, due to most if not all of the parts are original so it is understood that they would need to be replaced. It has and continues to serve me well. I love my Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. It has a CD player in it, but it has not worked and I have continued to just use the radio. The air works great and 4 New tires were put on about 6 months ago. I would definitely recommend this to a friend. With the understanding that as I have put new parts into it, most likely they would too. It has a new starter, alternator, and muffler system."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Incredible vehickle

By on Tuesday, October 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, safe, and comfortable to drive."

Cons: "Heated seats would have been nice"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned many vehickles, cars, trucks and motorcycles. My 96 Grand Cherokee is light years ahead of even a BMW. It doesn't burn or leak oil. IT isn't rusted,HAS ORiGiNAL SHINING PAINT. It get's 22 mpg doing 75mph. I can go through anything in 4wd. I do change oil, filter, and greese it every 2k miles. All other fluids yearly.I also douse everything underhood with wd-40 every oil change. I've done basic mainenence on it. I'll change plugs again at the 200,000 tune up, did it at 150k, but didn't need it. Dealers want to give me peanuts for it. I laugh and tell them they've got nothing on the lot I'd trade my baby for. I got this Jeep with 90k on it 5 years ago. I towed a full covered trailer with my full sized bike for 12 hrs straigt last June. No problem. FULL OPTION PACKAGE aND EVERYTHING STILL WORKS GREAT.Rear wiper is a dream, tires wear even. I just bought a nice Silverado 1500, but I can't see anyone driving my Jeep but me. Or maybe my son, if I can be talked into giving it up. I love this Jeep. There is no equal in the world. Retired mechanic for 35 years here.Buy one, and don't spend over 3k. You don't have too.Try for a GRAND cHEROKEE LAREDO."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

My best vehicle to date LOVE IT!!

By on Wednesday, October 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 297,532

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive for me and my boxer Hook."

Cons: "Wish Hook could drive so I can stick my head out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I originally leased this Jeep, not sure if I really wanted it and boy did I fall for it. Once my lease was up bought it and he still takes me where I have to go. I'm a mobile Notary Public so I'm forever traveling through rain, sleet, snow, hail or sunny weather we go. I've got 297,532 miles. So I just have to keep him tuned up and all fluids changed and he will keep me going."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals