Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 872 Ratings for the 1993 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 88 | Next

Great Value in an SUV!

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,525

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliability, value, 4WD"

Cons: "V8 sucks gas easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Overall, a great value... the leather seats are comfortable, the Jeep has a quiet ride, is smooth on the road, and the 4WD will get you through the snow in the winter... just wish the interior had a bit more to it in terms of style and technology features, but of course, this is 1994, not 2014. My Jeep is going on 20 years old and still runs like the day it was new (although I've only owned it 2 years). My family has owned Jeep Grand Cherokees as old as 1994 and as new as 2005, and this is second best compared to my '02 and '05 I also own now. A good buy!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A GREAT SUV if u keep it up

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,555

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good car if u keep the maintenance up on it"

Cons: "All Cherokees are over price in my opinion"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My Jeep is 18 yrs old and i love it. All in all it is a great car. Don't know about the new Grand Cherokee Jeeps but this model and year has been great. No engine or Transmission trouble in 18 yrs. loved it."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

can't do better than a jeep for SUV

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable 4x4 goes thru alot better than any truck"

Cons: "tailgate wiper and tailgate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have owned my jeep for 8 years and she has never let me down or stranded. I replace her tires every year, whether or not it is needed. Oil is changed at 2500 to 2700 miles. when I seen my jeep in the lot, I bought it with NO test drive. No regrets."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best suv that I have owned

By on Sunday, June 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the jeep 11 yrs ago it had 35,000 on it I have always taken care of my cars. I run bigger tires for more comfort 235 75r15s calls for 215 75 r 15s handles great in the winter BEST SUV EVER OWNED WANT A NOTHER ONE never had any mech problems the normal stuff"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

needs tlc

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"it needs some work but is still a reliable transportation. it has 31 10 15 tires on alloy wheels with 90% tred. 4wd works ill consider any offers"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great jeep. Gas mileage not too good.

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "size and perks of the grand cherokee limited, 4WD"

Cons: "gas mileage, back seat difficult to access"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Great size and perks for a four wheel drive. Classy enough to drive anywhere."

I LOVE this car.

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 365,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Felt safe when driving; go anywhere; looks great"

Cons: "AC unit not the best"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely Love this Jeep! Did not want to invest in it originally but so glad my family overruled. Bought it from the dealer who drove it for 1,000 miles; and we are the only other owners. We have a wonderful history together: family trips, business trips, vacations, writing/book signing tours. If I had the ability and $$$, I would completely restore the car and keep it forever. We always felt safe when driving it, got us where we needed to go in style. Great cargo area, easy loading and unloading. Performed well in challenging weather conditions."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

It has always gotten me there and back.

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Will handle about anything"

Cons: "I had to replace the fuel pump at around 200k mi"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"It's been through about everything from snow to rivers and from fields to highways."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Bought at an auction and got taken.

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought this Jeep at local auction.Had transmission trouble right away. Spent $1500.00 to fix and worked for a few weeks.In shop again and want another $1250.00 to fix.This Jeep is supposed to be 4 WD but all the equipment removed from the front wheels and now is a 2 wheel rear drive jeep.Motor runs good,body in good shape,leather interior,roof rack.Could be fixed or used for a parts car."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Very reliable. Awesome in snow!!

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Runs and drives great- even tho has lotsa miles."

Cons: "Rust prone due to body design, not fuel efficient."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I LOVE this Jeep. It's old and rusty and she never hesitates to start- even on the coldest days. Awesome in the snow- better than some 4x4s with lift kits (could be my driving, too LOL!) Prone to rust along windshield, wheel wells, and on body inside doors. Reliable and tough. I want another one!!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 88 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals