Go

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 903 Ratings for the 1993 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next

good suv

By on Friday, January 25, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned my1995 grand cherokee for 10 yrs it had 43k miles on it when I got it it now has 119k.it has been very good,but the ac died at 45k but that is just like most of the dodge,jeeps from90 to2000.my all wheel drive was stuck in 4 wheel drive at 80k miles the part was a viscous coupler 800.00 for the part.other than that not much has gone wrong.it has never broke down.with the 5.2 liter it is a tank in the winter."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

97 Grand TSI Rocks!

By on Monday, January 7, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The 97 Grand Cherokee Tsi Model is a great vehicle. Comfortable, easy to maintain and work on. The best vehicle I've had offroad in mud, snow, anything! I got the 4.oL straight 6cyl and wish I had the V8 for towing. Mileage difference not worth the sacrifice in power. It's got 190k on it and drives really nice. Aside from regular maintenance, I replaced: water pump, fuel pump, exhaust manifold twice (don't buy the cheap manifold, go with CarQuest), rear hatch shocks and rear light lens. I believe the shocks and power steering pump are next to replace. The electrical switches and fancy options all work, which is important since they are tough to fix. I would recommend this jeep to anyone willing to turn a wrench a little but not to someone without the ability or patience to maintain a high mileage vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

VERY NICE RIDE !!

By on Saturday, January 5, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I HAVE BEEN DRIVING THIS VEHICLE FO SOME TIME NOW AND MIGHT I SAY IT HAS GOT TO BE THE BEST MOST POWERFUL TRUCK IVE DRIVEN... FOR ITS SIZE. Engine is huge and doesnt burn the amount of gas you think it would. 4 wheel drive tugs like a beast unleashed, WOULD DEFINENTLY RECOMMEND THIS VEHICLE TO MORE THAN A FRIEND. A+ truck."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

problems!!!!

By on Monday, December 17, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"rides, drives, and handles great. Lots of power and great in snow. Comfortable and stylish ( I think). Lots of sporadic electrical issues though. I'm afraid to park it in my garage in fear that it will end up burning the place down! Jeeps quality control here is lacking and its too bad since its a pretty nice vehicle otherwise."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, November 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Solid and dependable, still a looker after 10 years. One of the few vehicles able to make it as a daily driver in the harsh North Dakota winters. Leaves everything but the Tourags, Quattros, and Outbacks in the dust."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I'd buy it again

By on Monday, November 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had the Jeep since 1995. It's been paid off for 7 years now. I wish they were still making this exact model. I'd buy it agian."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Dependable and full featured

By on Thursday, November 8, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"It has required very little maintainence. It is comfortable to ride in and has all the creature comforts of luxury cars but at a great value price."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

GREAT VEHICLE

By on Friday, November 2, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"OWNED THIS VEHICLE FOR 12 YEARS, GREAT PERFORMANCE."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Sunday, October 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My Grand Cherokee Limited is the very best, most comfortable, most reliable vehicle I've ever owned. She has over 180,000 miles and is a pleasure to drive every day. No major problems only common maintenance items. My husband says I need to be thinking about trading her in. Me? I'm not ready to even entertain such a thought!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever Owned!!!!

By on Sunday, September 2, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"197k miles still going strong, no complaints what so ever besides doing regular oil changes etc nothing major to speak of. Love the car going for a half a million miles is my goal. Original Owner 1996 Red Grand Cherokee.."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Work Horse

By on Friday, August 31, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"We bought this car new in 1995. It's been a real work horse for our growing family ever since. Plus's, minimal maint., good size for city driving/parking, powerful, great for driving to mountains, trailoring my boat... Minus's - gas mileage, size as our family has grown. OK, so if it got better gas mileage, it wouldn't be so powerful, and if it were bigger, I couldn't park it as easily. You can't have it all."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great long lasting

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have had this for 12 years. put every mile on it myself. It has 178,000 miles on it and the dealership says it can still get more. only a few maintance things, but being and american car. it doesn't cost much to fix!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this truck!

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had mine for 8 years, and its by far the most reliable comfortable car I've owned. Some expensive work had to be done, but I guess its to be expected. Put 137k not so gentle miles on it. Only complaint would be the transmission. Had replaced in 2003 with used, $2,000. About 4 months after the warranty was up, started acting funny again. It starts from 3rd gear unless manually shifted, but I will drive my Jeep until it wont move anymore!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love My Jeep!

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Love it's fully loaded and goes everywhere!"

Cons: "Typical gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased my jeep used about 6 years ago, other than minor repairs, I have been pleased with everything about it. As a single woman, and due to my current financial situation, I would like to have a vehicle with better fuel economy. I live in East Tennessee and we don't get lots of snow, but when we do, my wonderful Jeep will go anywhere! We recently had a pretty big snow storm for our area..6-8 inches..and I was so proud of my Jeep!! I actually passed a wrecker on the highway that had came to rescue a police car that was stranded, the wrecker was stranded also!! My Jeep amazed me because I have yet see weather that it can handle. I am looking to trade for a smaller vehicle to trade for. I wish I could afford to keep my Jeep too! :("

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Keeps on ticking @ 188565 miles

By on Friday, July 5, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Keeps on going like a timex"

Cons: "Have no idea"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"1996 gr chero ltd, inline 6, 2wd hard to beat this car. I have owned it for 8 yrs sec owner. Only thing that doesn't work is the heated seat an no easy way to repair seat heat wires.. Very little repairs as it just keeps on going my goal is 200000. Gas mileage is like others say here. Regular maintenance is best way to keep it going such as oil changes, but other than that cheap to own. I would like a Toyota Tacoma,but hard to justify when this is paid for and get the same gas mileage. Also, Got my daughter a 96 gr lerado several years ago she drove in high sch, an college sold it to a high sch boy ( who drove it hard) and now he is taking it off to college. These cars just keep on going an parts are fairly easy to find at pullaparts."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not pretty, But shes my baby

By on Monday, January 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good pricing,fun offroad,comfortable,repairable"

Cons: "stock headliner, stock headlights,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1996 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 I6. This is probably the most reliable vehicle I have ever had. Yes she has problems here and there but she is 16. Also, parts be it new or remanufactured are cheep for this vehicle, also VERY easy to do work on yourself. I have pretty much rebuilt this whole Jeep myself from oil change to engine rebuild to tranny rebuild, yadda yadda yadda. Out of all my buddies, this Jeep is the better performing out of them all, from offroading to the most comfortable ride you have ever had. small cons- stock headliner falls in almost every GC I have seen and mine is no different. Cheap fix though. Best vehicle ever."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fair

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy To Drive, Love my power steering"

Cons: "High center of gravity, have to take corner's slow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I bought this Jeep in October of 2011,for $1,250. It had about 179,000 miles. I have took it to orlando recently,(about 160 miles away from us)and it ran fine. With it doing almost a constant 60 MPH, I was able to get it to get about 21 MPG. It was a good deal all around... Since october, I've put about 3,000 miles on it. This jeep has the Window protectors on it, so i can constantly keep the windows cracked with out any water damage, It also has Power seats, which are EXTREMELY COMFORATABLE...I don't like Jeeps in general but this has surpassed my expectations."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great winter vehicle

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "4x4 is great. Comfy for 5. Lots of inside room"

Cons: "15 mpg."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great vehicle. Gas guzzler, but small price to pay in the winter. If you can afford a Jeep I'd recommend it. They are a bit pricey, but other than normal repairs it has performed well. Normal oil changes and checking the basics keeps them running well. Love my Jeep. Even with $4/gal gas I'm planning on keeping it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Suv

By on Monday, January 2, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,587

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great to drive through the woods..Engines great"

Cons: "exhaust usually rust and seperate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"On my 3rd Truck now 1st 1 was a green 95 straight 6 (sold her for a race car ) 2nd was a 01 limited 3rd 1 (which im using now) is a 96 straight 6 and it outlasted my 01 Limited has 207k miles, has never left me strained (in the woods or in the street) Did need a rear pinion bearing when I received it (previous owner didn't put oil in the diff) Other than that I love it. Would recomend it to anyone who is interested in buying 1 !"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

outstanding reliability!!

By on Sunday, November 6, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 231,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good interior room for people and gear!"

Cons: "no more 4.0 or solid axles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have over 231xxx miles on my jeep. i have done all scheduled maint. and this vehicle has never givin or acted like it would give problems in starting or drivability. Used with common sense it has not been stuck and has pulled many others out of snow and ditches. i love the reliability of its 4.0 inline six engine and the miliage isn't horrible."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle you could ask for

By on Tuesday, October 4, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 258,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great interior, plenty of room, lots of power"

Cons: "gas milage (a sacrafice i am willing to make)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

yes, i named my jeep lafonda.. because she is black and strong! And icey roads were no problem for her.

"My jeep is like my best friend. she is always reliable and with the all time 4 wheel drive... i never get in a tight spot, and never lose traction. The engine and transmission are all original and still solid after 258000 miles...The 5.2 liter engine provides plenty of power. and the leather interior, heated seats, and power everything give it a luxury feel..I am in love with it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

yes, i named my jeep lafonda.. because she is black and strong! And icey roads were no problem for her.

i love it just want a new one

By on Sunday, August 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

playin at the lake

"love this jeep one of the best cars i ever owned"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

playin at the lake

Amazing Reliability

By on Saturday, August 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, incredible off road capabilities"

Cons: "Rough idle, but it's to be expected from a straight line motor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Jeep with around 90,000 miles on it. I now have 193,000. It just keeps going. Incredibly reliable! I have only done routine maintenance. Amazing in the snow! I will be a Jeep owner for life!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best vehicle

By on Friday, June 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 184,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great - drive anywhere"

Cons: "would prefer leather seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"in family since it came out of showroom. this car has been wonderful. now has 184Kmiles and no major problems. most expensive was recently replacing starter-that is all just keeps running and running. use to love explorers but no comparison"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My Jeep

By on Sunday, January 30, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought for 1800 $$$ with 141000miles , had cracked windshield and needed catalytic convertor, we drive it daily about 50 miles , have put 42000 in 28 months, excellent in snow and ice and for off road play, they can flip if not used correctly off road, be careful, but with sense they play all day, getting old now with 182000 but still gets 16 or more and 22 + highway, i change the oil at 5000 miles and is always clean, i use LUCAS in all fluid additives and recommend highly"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement