Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 872 Ratings for the 1993 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next

Best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Monday, August 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 450,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything about it."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my 1995 at the end of 1995 with 18,000 miles on it. At 450,153 miles, besides routine maintenance, the only repair was a used rear axle at 250,400 miles because it was humming. I have the "iron horse" six cylinder and plan to run this Jeep as long as I can. I have had no problems at all. I am in love with my Jeep. - We love it so much, we bought our neighbors 1997 in 2003 when it had 100,000 miles on it (she bought it new) and we now have 350,781 miles on it. It has the eight cylinder. We are Jeep Grand Cherokee fans for life!"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Amazing Value

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 214,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Value"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Greatest car I have ever owned. Had this car for 11 years with very minimal issues, 220000 miles on her and going strong!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

BOB, the Burro, is a beloved member of our family!

By on Sunday, July 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 258,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best value for original price that I've ever had!"

Cons: "Gettin' a bit harder to find replacement parts."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Bob the Burro with small bird friend

"BOB (Beast of Burden), the "Burro", is a grey, '93, Jeep Grand Cherokee with character, tenacity, courage and a spunky sense of humor. He's his owner's alter-ego, doing and saying things too outrageous for a mere human. Bought new, Bob's crossed the American Midwest countless times in all kind of weather, endured many blizzards and rock falls in the Intermountain West, and overcome southern Louisiana roads and trails after Hurricane Katrina. He spent a few years in Indiana and now lives in Allegheny Co. PA; looking forward to icey, snowy winter hills. We expect Bob the Burro to continue performing and bragging for years and miles more. You can call him "donkey", too, but please avoid that other word....it upsets him! His best feature, after that durable 6 cyl. engine, is his quadratrac 4wd system! I can't break it! He takes his time, but climbs every hill presented and wades water like a turtle. Duct Tape, hose clamps, coat-hangers (brass ones) and a Leatherman Tool fix most temporary problems. In his latest years he uses a guart of 10-30 Synthetic oil about every 3,000 mi. Maybe it's time for 1st replacement gaskets? A little rust has locked his left back seat in upright position and his body seals are shot so he leaks a lot...but, we'll fix that soon. I only wish he weren't so attractive as to attract people who park close and slam their doors into his sides. He's got a lot of little vertical dents! He's wearing 1.5 in. bumper armor, but still his lights are a little out of line from love-taps. Ya' couldn't tell to look at him, though. He shines up like nearly new. HE loves to tell BMW's, Audi's and Porches' his off road adventure stories. When he parks near a H-2, H-3, or other poser he asks, "Been anywhere interesting lately"...then he listens as they tell him about the mud at the soccer field parking lot, or the gravel road at the park. He responds with a tale of Targee Pass in January, or some uncharted bayou trail down south. Bob and I hope you find one of his automotive kind someday and love each other 'till you're both yard art!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Bob the Burro with small bird friend

Great SUV (:

By on Thursday, July 12, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: It was just time (:

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun-to-drive, good gas mileage"

Cons: "Could be quieter inside, handling's a bit rough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I bought this car brand new in 1995 as an early 1996 model year vehicle. Mine was a Laredo 4WD, 4.0L I6 (great fuel economy and performance), bare bones with only power windows and door locks, oh, and a cassette player radio. I loved it when I owned it, so much that I just recently bought a similar but older Grand Cherokee to it. You can't go wrong with these Jeeps (:"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle for a New Driver

By on Thursday, July 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,342

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, logical controls, easy to repair"

Cons: "Could be quieter inside, handling's a bit rough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My Jeep (:

"I bought my 1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4WD in February of 2012 (this year). It is my first car. It is one awesome vehicle, it drives nice, is pretty quiet (could be a bit quieter), and has all the technical features (a trip computer, compass and outside temperature gauge, power everything, and an advanced computer system). It starts up every time and I put a custom stereo system into it. Inside, all of the controls are logically-placed and are easy to control from the driver's seat. The 5.2L V8 sips fuel, and has plenty of pickup on the highway. It is comfortable and its looks are iconic. Nothing beats a Jeep, and it will go anywhere, and do anything, just like they said (:"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

My Jeep (:

Fair

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy To Drive, Love my power steering"

Cons: "High center of gravity, have to take corner's slow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I bought this Jeep in October of 2011,for $1,250. It had about 179,000 miles. I have took it to orlando recently,(about 160 miles away from us)and it ran fine. With it doing almost a constant 60 MPH, I was able to get it to get about 21 MPG. It was a good deal all around... Since october, I've put about 3,000 miles on it. This jeep has the Window protectors on it, so i can constantly keep the windows cracked with out any water damage, It also has Power seats, which are EXTREMELY COMFORATABLE...I don't like Jeeps in general but this has surpassed my expectations."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great 4x4

By on Sunday, June 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car for $500. It didn't run when I purchased it. I replaced the crankshaft position sensor and has run great ever since. Guy who had it before me tried to get it running by replacing plugs, plug wires, distributor, and cleaning injectors. I did a google search on the problem and found that the crankshaft position sensor is a common problem on this model. Anyway I use this jeep to get around my farm and it has worked great for me. With the stuff the guy before me replaced it gets really good mpg for a suv as I get 20-24 mpg regularly. Runs great for the number of miles"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great SUV for the Money

By on Monday, April 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 288,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Runs a very long time."

Cons: "Seat uncomfortable on long trips. Get one with pwr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 1996 Jeep used with 129,000 miles on it. I have driven it hard in MN and used it to move west in 2011. The car had a slight shifting problem when cold for the first few blocks but no other issues. The car was totally loaded as I drove up and down the mountains at the limit. That trip caused transmission problems that I have to this day. However, it has gone another 20,000 miles since then by babying it up the Grapevine (route 99)and is still going strong..."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Considering buying a Jeep? DO IT!

By on Thursday, April 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,523

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "runs forever, fun to drive, goes anywhere"

Cons: "Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The older Jeeps(1993-2004) will run forever. Especially the 4.0 liter 6 cylinder engine. That particular engine could run to 400,000 miles before failing. But really, whats so great about these Jeeps? Well, here is my opinion: Pros: 1. Extremely safe. You get in a wreck with anything other than a dump-truck, and you will be fine. 2. Great, practical design. You don't have to be a master mechanic, but if you kinda have an idea of what you are doing, regular maintenance/small repairs on this car are a breeze. 3. Powerful engine, great for going out on the beach, or off-roading on the trails. 4. Great exterior design. As far as 90's cars go, these Jeeps are the most attractive(for its class(which is SUV)). Cons: 1. Gas is expensive. This cars doesn't have the gas mileage of a Honda civic. Just plan out where you're going, and don't race out of stoplights."

24 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The best car ive ever owned"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this truck in general

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great price, lots of space"

Cons: "Wish it had a sun roof"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

My green monster!

"For a 95, this is a pretty solid vehicle. I bought it from a used car dealership, and only paid $1400 for it (before the DMV fees). The leather seats are comfy, and I love that it has dual power seats, locks, and windows. The backseat is just big enough for 3 car seats, which is why I bought it. Huge trunk space, which is a definite plus with the huge strollers I have! The height is just right, not too tall or too short (I'm 5'2" with toddlers and wanted a vehicle higher up in case of accidents)."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

My green monster!

A Really Good Vehicle

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Goes anywhere you want with ease!"

Cons: "Gas mileage...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had the car for 13 years and it has never failed me in any way. I goes anywhere with the greatest of ease. It always starts (and always stops...) I would have given it a 10 across the board but I had one car I liked even better!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This has been an Excellent Vehicle for our Family.

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Limited slip differential"

Cons: "V8 Gas mileage averages 14.7"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this 1997 vehicle new in the fall of 1996 and it's still going strong in 2012. The 1997 Grand Cherokee Laredo is a good vehicle year to own. We've encountered very few problems and the body is very well designed since there is no body rust."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love my jeep

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my jeep in 06 which by then it was 9 yrs. old and I only paid 2700 for it, it had high mileage, but I never regret buying this vehicle"

unbelievable power with great fwd

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "lots of cargo space and very cofortable"

Cons: "low mpgs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"this truck is an ideal truck to trick out for a family fourwheeler."

i love this car. Great on and off road performance

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "overall great vehicle"

Cons: "none really"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"i really dont have any complaints about it. it gets decent gas milage for an old suv. comfortable driving even for a tall guy such as myself. absolute blast to drive in the snow. safe and secure traction for nomal driving in bad weather."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great fun, awesome off road performance, powerful

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Powerful drive train. Very strong all around."

Great winter vehicle

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "4x4 is great. Comfy for 5. Lots of inside room"

Cons: "15 mpg."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great vehicle. Gas guzzler, but small price to pay in the winter. If you can afford a Jeep I'd recommend it. They are a bit pricey, but other than normal repairs it has performed well. Normal oil changes and checking the basics keeps them running well. Love my Jeep. Even with $4/gal gas I'm planning on keeping it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car For Nantucket Island

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good in all conditions from MA to FL. Won't let you down."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

It's done what I've asked

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,450

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, cheap maintenance, great power"

Cons: "gas mileage, normal fluid leaks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this Jeep while I was in the military in Washington state. It has done everything I've asked from it and I'm not easy on anything I've ever owned. Bought it used with 185,000 miles and figured it was a matter of time before I had to start replacing everything on it. Thusfar, I've only replaced a wheel bearing that was bad when I bought it. It's had the normal problems with this model type, door wires being cut by the door jam and causing power windows to stop working but that was a 45 minute fix and cost about $6 in parts. It has some leaks from places but so long as I change oil in regular intervals (3,000-4,000 miles) it's never been a problem. The downsides to it is it gets horrible gas mileage. I average about 13-16 and I do mostly highway driving. But it is a AWD system in it so when it snows and rains and mother nature throws all sorts of things at me, I'm never stuck 'waiting it out' like a lot of my co workers. If I'm ever in a position where I need power the V8 under the hood puts power down to the 4-wheels and the Jeep is pretty surprisingly quick."

amazing SUV. has never left me stranded.

By on Monday, March 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "unstoppable in snow, very powerful, and safe."

Cons: "nothing major i can think of to be honestl"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have a 93 grand cherokee. it has the 4.0 in it. i paid 900 bucks for it. im selling it and the only reason i am is to get a 99 cherokee sport :) id recommend older jeeps to ANYONE that needs something reliable."

Great Family/Country Jeep

By on Monday, March 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "4wd, power everything, tinted windows, prem. sound"

Cons: "Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I'd always wanted a Jeep and this happened to be my first one, and it delivered everything I'd hoped it would do and more! Only downside is the gas mileage on the thing, but what do you expect from a 5.9L V8!? This vehicle was a champ; rain, snow, ice, sand - whatever it dealt with it with ease, almost felt like it laughed at roadblocks sometimes. And the premium sound system in it sounds awesome! Didn't even need to upgrade the speakers it sounded so nice. Overall a great vehicle, jeep makes them strong, this one's no different."

Good vehicle. Well built

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, great luxurious interior"

Cons: "Transmission tends to be hard to shift into"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 96 grand Cherokee Laredo and its a very nice vehicle. It has a straight 6 motor and it doesn't usually use it . I love the 4WD in the snow. Nothing can stop it hah but it gets about 16 city Nd around 26 hwy. very comfortable seating and I like how the seats come down for extra room . I thought I would need a truck but the jeep works just as well."

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE LAREDO

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 209,495

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "FUN TO DRIVE!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I LOVE THIS CAR!! VERY CONFORTABLE.."

Love my Jeep

By on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Never get stuck in snow, Back roads, Very spacious"

Cons: "I may have to retire it soon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Jeep is affordable in repairs and has out lasted by far any car I have ever owned. I purchased a 2 yr old car last year and have put more money into then I have put into my Jeep in the last 10 yrs. If taken good care of a Jeep will take you places no others can go :)"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals