Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 892 Ratings for the 1993 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 90 | Next

By on Thursday, February 07, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"My dad bought the jeep new. He drove it a hour and a half in rush hour traffic to work every day. when I turned 16 he gave it to me and i have driven it since. The straight 6 engine is bullet proof. The exhaust manifold however has a bad habit of cracking. Being 16 i didn't treat mine the best and it held up to every thing i could throw at it. My dad towed our 18 foot runabout with it and i tow every thing from snowmobiles to tent trailers with it and i holds up great. If you have good tires it will go any where in the snow. It not the best on gas mileage, I get about 15mpg myself. I would recommend it to anyone."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Always dependable in any weather situation

By on Wednesday, January 16, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned a 96' Grand Cherokee Laredo for a little over three years now and have not regreted it yet. Yes, the gas mileage is not super (roughly 17-18mpg). I have only ever broke down one time, which was during the bad winter last year when temperatures were in the low single digits and the transmission line cracked which eventually left me unable to drive. It was towed in and a cheap fix, but this kind of maintainance is expected when temperatures are this cold in an older vehicle. Other than that, it has been great to get around in the snow, never been stuck and I've actually tried to get it stuck already. Also great for towing as a friend and I often hookup a trailer, two 4 wheelers, and hit the state trails for a day of riding."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, December 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great SUV. I've had three all to 200,000 miles and very little has broken down. My 96 Limited with a V8 has more power than most other trucks I've driven."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Used Jeep Reviews

By on Friday, November 23, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"These models are one of the best deals out there. 30K+ new and you can pick up a clean example for less than 5K. 6 cyc models are known to go 250K+ miles with no issues. Excellent in snow, rain or dry. All around a good vehicle-"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

GREAT!!!! I'm Hooked

By on Tuesday, October 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This was my First Jeep, passed it on to my son at 94,000 miles It's been in 3 bad accidents, held up tremendously and is still running and looking good with 150,000 miles. Loved it so much, purchased a 98 Grand Cherokee for my younger son.. then a 04 for me. Later I bought a 05 Liberty.... I AM HOOKED ON THE RELIABILTY OF THE JEEP PRODUCT"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Monday, October 01, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We have owned this car for almost 12 years and with 180,000 miles, it keeps on running. I put about $5k into it about 140k miles but other than oil, tires, and occasional replacement items, it is very low maintenance and looks great. My goal is at least 200k. It is worth much more than any trade in value or resale I could get."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

JEEPS A OK

By on Saturday, August 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I HAVE HAD 17 JEEPS FROM 1990 THRU 2006. I WAS BLIND SIDED BY A TRUCK AND ROLLED 3 TIMES I AM HERE TO SPEAK ABOUT THAT ACCIDENT DUE TO THE JEEPS TOUGHNESS. I WILL NOT DRIVE ANY OTHER SUV. THE JEEP HOLDS THERE VALUE. I BOUGHT A 1998 WWITH 144K FOR 700 SOLD W INSPECTION 4K NOT BAD FOR 1 WEEKS WORTH OF WORK.. LOVE THE JEEP"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great 4x4

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've driven many four wheel drive vehicles ranging from GMC Sierra's, Chevy Blazer's, Ford Explorer's, and Honda CR-V's. Let me just set the record straight. There is no comparison in my opinion to the feel and trust in which the Jeep Grand Cherokee gives to you in severe weather. I've taken my Cherokee, and my girlfriends Grand Cherokee out on some pretty bad snowy secondary roads and never came close to getting stuck or stranded. I will always have a Jeep vehicle in the family. Highly recommend."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

AMAZING!

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I BOUGHT MY '93 IN 2003 WITH ONLY 43K MILES ON IT AND THE THING STILL RUNS LIKE ITS NEW! I HAVE TAKEN THIS ON BACKROADS, THROUGH THE HILLS OF WEST VIRGINIA, IN THE MIDDLE OF THE WOODS IN WISCONSIN, TO CANADA, FLORIDA AND SEVERAL OTHER TRIPS. IT ALWAYS STARTS RIGHT UP, NEVER OVERHEATS, AND IS AMAZINGLY COMFORTABLE. IT IS ALSO THE SAFEST VEHICLE THAT I HAVE EVER RIDDEN IN. IT NEVER LOOSES CONTROL IN WET, SNOWY, ICY CONDITIONS AND ALWAYS HAS GREAT TRACTION. I RECOMMEND THIS VEHICLE TO EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best suv that I have owned

By on Sunday, June 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the jeep 11 yrs ago it had 35,000 on it I have always taken care of my cars. I run bigger tires for more comfort 235 75r15s calls for 215 75 r 15s handles great in the winter BEST SUV EVER OWNED WANT A NOTHER ONE never had any mech problems the normal stuff"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 90 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals