Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 893 Ratings for the 1993 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next

1995 Grand Cherokee Laredo

By on Thursday, November 20, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought mine in 2003. She has a straight 6, Selec-Trac 4x4, power locks and windows etc. I'm the third owner, second guy was the brother of the owner of a dealership. These Jeeps last as long as you take care of them. I've put in nothing more than basic maintenance like the manual recommends and nothing has been a major problem that shouldn't be expected for the wear and tear I've put on the vehicle. I would recommend this vehicle only if they have been taken care of and you're willing to do the basic service on it. There are a lot of these in my area I can see have been abused, and people are usually shocked when I tell them she is a '95 for the condition she is in. Hope this helps."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

cant beat a jeep for the money

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Aside from the initial depreciation when purchased new, the value that the grand cherokee limited offers is hard to beat. It has 4wd, v8 performance, tow package, and every imaginable creature comfort you could desire. American made, extremely reliable when maintained properly, and still stylish after several years of service. Most service issues are very affordable to repair if need be and Diamler Chrysler is very easy to work with on warranty issues. The only weak link I have found after owning 3 of these jeeps is the transmission, but it can also be rebuilt cheaply enough and provide many more years of enjoyment. I don't believe that I would ever pay sticker price for a new Grand Cherokee simply because of the depreciation but if you find one that is a year or two old with low miles, the value is unbeatable! I'm sold on the Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Robust little 4.0L!!

By on Saturday, March 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "capability, interior, looks, power, upgradability"

Cons: "gas mileage, age, on road handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Just after a wash.

"I got my Jeep to replace my Subaru. I needed more hauling room and offroad prowess, both of which are plentiful with this Jeep. I have had the chance to upgrade anything yet, but it is capable enough to make it through a driver side window deep puddle without mud tires, and only in 4wd fulltime! If that isn't awesome then idk what is. The suspension is stiff so on road driving can be somewhat ruff on bad roads, but it makes up for this elsewhere. The selectrac 4wd is awesome because of the choice of drive types you have to choose from, and the seats are the most comfortable I've ever had. Cargo room is excellent with folding seats, but expect to have a few minor problems with quality being that they were built 15+ years ago and are aging. All in all, this car has become my baby, and I am likely to keep it until it breathes its last breath."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Just after a wash.

BOB, the Burro, is a beloved member of our family!

By on Sunday, July 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 258,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best value for original price that I've ever had!"

Cons: "Gettin' a bit harder to find replacement parts."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Bob the Burro with small bird friend

"BOB (Beast of Burden), the "Burro", is a grey, '93, Jeep Grand Cherokee with character, tenacity, courage and a spunky sense of humor. He's his owner's alter-ego, doing and saying things too outrageous for a mere human. Bought new, Bob's crossed the American Midwest countless times in all kind of weather, endured many blizzards and rock falls in the Intermountain West, and overcome southern Louisiana roads and trails after Hurricane Katrina. He spent a few years in Indiana and now lives in Allegheny Co. PA; looking forward to icey, snowy winter hills. We expect Bob the Burro to continue performing and bragging for years and miles more. You can call him "donkey", too, but please avoid that other word....it upsets him! His best feature, after that durable 6 cyl. engine, is his quadratrac 4wd system! I can't break it! He takes his time, but climbs every hill presented and wades water like a turtle. Duct Tape, hose clamps, coat-hangers (brass ones) and a Leatherman Tool fix most temporary problems. In his latest years he uses a guart of 10-30 Synthetic oil about every 3,000 mi. Maybe it's time for 1st replacement gaskets? A little rust has locked his left back seat in upright position and his body seals are shot so he leaks a lot...but, we'll fix that soon. I only wish he weren't so attractive as to attract people who park close and slam their doors into his sides. He's got a lot of little vertical dents! He's wearing 1.5 in. bumper armor, but still his lights are a little out of line from love-taps. Ya' couldn't tell to look at him, though. He shines up like nearly new. HE loves to tell BMW's, Audi's and Porches' his off road adventure stories. When he parks near a H-2, H-3, or other poser he asks, "Been anywhere interesting lately"...then he listens as they tell him about the mud at the soccer field parking lot, or the gravel road at the park. He responds with a tale of Targee Pass in January, or some uncharted bayou trail down south. Bob and I hope you find one of his automotive kind someday and love each other 'till you're both yard art!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Bob the Burro with small bird friend

one of the best trucks ever built

By on Sunday, July 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 252,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, built like a tank, 40. best engine"

Cons: "no rear power outlets"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is built like a tank will take anything you can throw at it, strong,dependable wont give up, 4.0L L6 engine is pretty much bullet proof, very spacious wont give it up for any thing just ask any one who has one they tell you"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Ye Ole JEEP

By on Monday, December 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Strong motor. great price"

Cons: "Could roll over."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good vehicle for the price. I've had mine for about 2 years now, nothing major just standard maintenance. I drive the car 120 miles round trip to work 5 times a week. JEEPS ARE GREAT!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Daryl. My hero

By on Friday, October 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, attractive looking. 4x4 great."

Cons: "Slightly Weird electrical, but easily manageable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car 2 years ago. Was born and raised in Alaska, and has been through every winter with no problem. Starts on a dime even if bellow -50 degrees. The previous owner abused it a bit but I have taken care of it and its my baby. Except once when I took it on the lake to get somebody unstuck, part of the lake wasn't frozen, and it sunk a bit.. Still ran, and I got out after driving through 4 feet of water. This car has saved me and others on plenty of occasions. And has had no major issues. His name is Daryl."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Amazing Value

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 214,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Value"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Greatest car I have ever owned. Had this car for 11 years with very minimal issues, 220000 miles on her and going strong!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Saved my Family

By on Wednesday, June 30, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought this car in Dec 09 used w/ 170000. I had some minor problems wrong w/ it but ran great and got me around town. I totaled it 3 wks ago. I had a bad accident and flipped it 6xs I wasn't buckled but my two little ones were. This vehicle saved my babies lives and held up.My kids didn't have one scratch on them and neither did I. It was a miracle. It is has a solid body and worth it. I would buy another one but too many scary memories from the wreck when i see these cars. I hope this review helps someone buy this reliable car and have peace of mind that ur family is safe."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Dependable

By on Wednesday, November 04, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This vehicle is about to break 200000 miles and will still start without hesitation in the -30 degree mornings in January. The transmission also seems to have no problems after all those miles. Although i prefer wranglers as an off road car the Grand Cherokee is more than capable off road but is much more realistic as a daily driver. For example if you accidentally drive it into a ditch (which i have more than once) all you have to do to get out is put it in reverse and push the gas. Here is the repair list on the car for the last twelve years. (part cost only i do my own mechanical work. Maintenance not included) New CV joint..........$90 Front drive shaft....$200 Ignition Coil..........$20 Fuel pump............$50 Viscous Coupler.....$300 (Optional repair reduces tire wear) In my view this is pretty modest for a car this old and heavily driven."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Reliable, Practical, Durable, Good Value!

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Based on the experience I have had with my 1996 5.2l V8 4wd and a 1998 4.0l 6cyl 2wd Grand Cheroke's, both purchased new and each now with over 150k miles under their belts. I have nothing but praise for these vehicles, as they continue to serve my family daily and have proven to be very dependable, reliable, functional, and low maintence vehicles. Compared to any of the 20+ various make and model vehicles I have owned over the last 20 yrs these two Jeeps have offered me the best "Bang for the Buck" by a long shot!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Friday, January 04, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased this '95 Grand Cherokee Limited for my wife to replace her sick Toyota Camry. I found myself wanting one for myself. We have gone everywhere (and I mean EVERYWHERE) in this great vehicle including mountain tops and driving on the beaches at the Outer Banks. This is the an excellent vehicle. Easy to maintain, very, very comfortable. It currently has almost 200k on it and still runs and drive like the day we purchased it. Sadly it is time to upgrade. We really need a pickup truck and with todays dual purpose truck, with 4 doors for family it makes sense now. I expected the value to be at the bottom for my Grand Cherokee because of the miles. I was surprise at how well it held it's value. I should have no problem selling this excellent vehicle."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Tuesday, November 27, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this Jeep when it had 65K and it now has 180K with no problems. The engine runs a little rough compared to my 2000 Jeep, but it is extremely reliable, and fun to drive. I used it from hauling to off road driving and it proved to be a very rugged and reliable vehicle."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Dependable

By on Tuesday, September 04, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Over 235,000 mi without and single breakdown. It just keeps goin. We have a driveway full of jeeps: another '96 Grand with 180000+ mi, and a wrangler with 200000+ mi, then mine. They also go everywhere on or off the road; the offroad performance is unbelievable for a stock vehicle. They are also pretty fast for an SUV and are really simple to work on. Good towing due to torque and minimal blind spots. The 4.OL inline six is simply a great engine"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle i have ever owned

By on Thursday, September 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "All wheel drive is great in the winter"

Cons: "N\A"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my jeep with 60000 miles on it for $4200 in 2005. It has been everywhere and done everything and never left me on the side of the road. It has the original motor and trans. The only maintenance i have had to do is brakes and oil changes ( i had to replace the rocker panels because of michigan rust. It has been used on and off road for the past 8 years and has been wonderful the whole time."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

360,000 miles and still running great!

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 365,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "4x4 and towing. Tows boats and small trailors!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this for 7 yrs. I am the second owner. We have never had to change the transmission or engine. I have a brand new GMC yukon and I still love driving my Jeep. It's so comfortable and to be outdated it has many features that were ahead of its time. Regular maintenance and oil changes are a necessity! It does help that we have an awesomea and inexpensive mechanic."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

1997 jeep grand cherokee laredo 4.0L

By on Thursday, May 19, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Own 2! The best car and best value I have ever owned. For the price you can not beat this car. 4.0L 6 cyl Engine has good power and very reliable. Parts are cheap and car is easy to work on. Tune up only took 30 mins, Disk brakes easy and cheap, oil change easy. Very comfortable and roomy. decent gas milage on the highway(21-26 mpg), however does suck up gas city driving. Only thing you have to watch is the door hinge's, make sure you give them a squirt of oil(wd-40) to prevent the hinge from sticking and crushing the bushings which makes the door sag and is a pain to replace. This is easily the best value out there for what you are getting. 4 wheel drive is great, interior styling is very nice. For $3k you get a reliable SUV that will last for years, is fun to drive and is very nice inside and out!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

all the comfort and style

By on Tuesday, November 17, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"great family vehicle for every day use and rode trips it has lots of room, also great for camping. It is well laid out and comfortable to drive or be a passenger. It has met all my expectations in performance and style. Bottom line is I love the Jeep Grand Cherokee and cant wait till I by another Brand new one."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Looking for another

By on Thursday, July 30, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought mine "used" with 35xxx miles 10 years ago. It now has 175xxx miles. It has been a very good vehicle. I never hesatate to take a rough road or run a trail that other SUV's would balk at. I dont off road as this is a daily driver, but I wouldent hesatate. In the winter the Jeep shines. When other AWD cars, trucks, and SUV's are spinning their tires in the parking lot or at stop signs, I pull away with no problems. I have had a few mechanical issues but nothing way out of the norm. A starter, fuel pump, water pump and radiator. But at this age it is expected to have some issues."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Friday, March 20, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"i bought my 96 jeep grand cherokee in feb of 2008. it had 233,000 miles on when i bought it, it now has 261,000 on it. it has the 318 in it. the only thing i have done to it was put new brakes tires and a alt. on it. it still runs very strong and drives great. it avg. around 18 to 20 on hwy and about 12 in the city. this has been a great vehicle and i would deff. by anthor."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, February 07, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"My dad bought the jeep new. He drove it a hour and a half in rush hour traffic to work every day. when I turned 16 he gave it to me and i have driven it since. The straight 6 engine is bullet proof. The exhaust manifold however has a bad habit of cracking. Being 16 i didn't treat mine the best and it held up to every thing i could throw at it. My dad towed our 18 foot runabout with it and i tow every thing from snowmobiles to tent trailers with it and i holds up great. If you have good tires it will go any where in the snow. It not the best on gas mileage, I get about 15mpg myself. I would recommend it to anyone."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Always dependable in any weather situation

By on Wednesday, January 16, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned a 96' Grand Cherokee Laredo for a little over three years now and have not regreted it yet. Yes, the gas mileage is not super (roughly 17-18mpg). I have only ever broke down one time, which was during the bad winter last year when temperatures were in the low single digits and the transmission line cracked which eventually left me unable to drive. It was towed in and a cheap fix, but this kind of maintainance is expected when temperatures are this cold in an older vehicle. Other than that, it has been great to get around in the snow, never been stuck and I've actually tried to get it stuck already. Also great for towing as a friend and I often hookup a trailer, two 4 wheelers, and hit the state trails for a day of riding."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, December 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great SUV. I've had three all to 200,000 miles and very little has broken down. My 96 Limited with a V8 has more power than most other trucks I've driven."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Used Jeep Reviews

By on Friday, November 23, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"These models are one of the best deals out there. 30K+ new and you can pick up a clean example for less than 5K. 6 cyc models are known to go 250K+ miles with no issues. Excellent in snow, rain or dry. All around a good vehicle-"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

GREAT!!!! I'm Hooked

By on Tuesday, October 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This was my First Jeep, passed it on to my son at 94,000 miles It's been in 3 bad accidents, held up tremendously and is still running and looking good with 150,000 miles. Loved it so much, purchased a 98 Grand Cherokee for my younger son.. then a 04 for me. Later I bought a 05 Liberty.... I AM HOOKED ON THE RELIABILTY OF THE JEEP PRODUCT"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals