Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 890 Ratings for the 1993 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next

360,000 miles and still running great!

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 365,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "4x4 and towing. Tows boats and small trailors!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this for 7 yrs. I am the second owner. We have never had to change the transmission or engine. I have a brand new GMC yukon and I still love driving my Jeep. It's so comfortable and to be outdated it has many features that were ahead of its time. Regular maintenance and oil changes are a necessity! It does help that we have an awesomea and inexpensive mechanic."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

1997 jeep grand cherokee laredo 4.0L

By on Thursday, May 19, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Own 2! The best car and best value I have ever owned. For the price you can not beat this car. 4.0L 6 cyl Engine has good power and very reliable. Parts are cheap and car is easy to work on. Tune up only took 30 mins, Disk brakes easy and cheap, oil change easy. Very comfortable and roomy. decent gas milage on the highway(21-26 mpg), however does suck up gas city driving. Only thing you have to watch is the door hinge's, make sure you give them a squirt of oil(wd-40) to prevent the hinge from sticking and crushing the bushings which makes the door sag and is a pain to replace. This is easily the best value out there for what you are getting. 4 wheel drive is great, interior styling is very nice. For $3k you get a reliable SUV that will last for years, is fun to drive and is very nice inside and out!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

all the comfort and style

By on Tuesday, November 17, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"great family vehicle for every day use and rode trips it has lots of room, also great for camping. It is well laid out and comfortable to drive or be a passenger. It has met all my expectations in performance and style. Bottom line is I love the Jeep Grand Cherokee and cant wait till I by another Brand new one."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Looking for another

By on Thursday, July 30, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought mine "used" with 35xxx miles 10 years ago. It now has 175xxx miles. It has been a very good vehicle. I never hesatate to take a rough road or run a trail that other SUV's would balk at. I dont off road as this is a daily driver, but I wouldent hesatate. In the winter the Jeep shines. When other AWD cars, trucks, and SUV's are spinning their tires in the parking lot or at stop signs, I pull away with no problems. I have had a few mechanical issues but nothing way out of the norm. A starter, fuel pump, water pump and radiator. But at this age it is expected to have some issues."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Friday, March 20, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"i bought my 96 jeep grand cherokee in feb of 2008. it had 233,000 miles on when i bought it, it now has 261,000 on it. it has the 318 in it. the only thing i have done to it was put new brakes tires and a alt. on it. it still runs very strong and drives great. it avg. around 18 to 20 on hwy and about 12 in the city. this has been a great vehicle and i would deff. by anthor."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, February 07, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"My dad bought the jeep new. He drove it a hour and a half in rush hour traffic to work every day. when I turned 16 he gave it to me and i have driven it since. The straight 6 engine is bullet proof. The exhaust manifold however has a bad habit of cracking. Being 16 i didn't treat mine the best and it held up to every thing i could throw at it. My dad towed our 18 foot runabout with it and i tow every thing from snowmobiles to tent trailers with it and i holds up great. If you have good tires it will go any where in the snow. It not the best on gas mileage, I get about 15mpg myself. I would recommend it to anyone."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Always dependable in any weather situation

By on Wednesday, January 16, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned a 96' Grand Cherokee Laredo for a little over three years now and have not regreted it yet. Yes, the gas mileage is not super (roughly 17-18mpg). I have only ever broke down one time, which was during the bad winter last year when temperatures were in the low single digits and the transmission line cracked which eventually left me unable to drive. It was towed in and a cheap fix, but this kind of maintainance is expected when temperatures are this cold in an older vehicle. Other than that, it has been great to get around in the snow, never been stuck and I've actually tried to get it stuck already. Also great for towing as a friend and I often hookup a trailer, two 4 wheelers, and hit the state trails for a day of riding."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, December 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great SUV. I've had three all to 200,000 miles and very little has broken down. My 96 Limited with a V8 has more power than most other trucks I've driven."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Used Jeep Reviews

By on Friday, November 23, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"These models are one of the best deals out there. 30K+ new and you can pick up a clean example for less than 5K. 6 cyc models are known to go 250K+ miles with no issues. Excellent in snow, rain or dry. All around a good vehicle-"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

GREAT!!!! I'm Hooked

By on Tuesday, October 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This was my First Jeep, passed it on to my son at 94,000 miles It's been in 3 bad accidents, held up tremendously and is still running and looking good with 150,000 miles. Loved it so much, purchased a 98 Grand Cherokee for my younger son.. then a 04 for me. Later I bought a 05 Liberty.... I AM HOOKED ON THE RELIABILTY OF THE JEEP PRODUCT"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Monday, October 01, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We have owned this car for almost 12 years and with 180,000 miles, it keeps on running. I put about $5k into it about 140k miles but other than oil, tires, and occasional replacement items, it is very low maintenance and looks great. My goal is at least 200k. It is worth much more than any trade in value or resale I could get."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

JEEPS A OK

By on Saturday, August 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I HAVE HAD 17 JEEPS FROM 1990 THRU 2006. I WAS BLIND SIDED BY A TRUCK AND ROLLED 3 TIMES I AM HERE TO SPEAK ABOUT THAT ACCIDENT DUE TO THE JEEPS TOUGHNESS. I WILL NOT DRIVE ANY OTHER SUV. THE JEEP HOLDS THERE VALUE. I BOUGHT A 1998 WWITH 144K FOR 700 SOLD W INSPECTION 4K NOT BAD FOR 1 WEEKS WORTH OF WORK.. LOVE THE JEEP"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great 4x4

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've driven many four wheel drive vehicles ranging from GMC Sierra's, Chevy Blazer's, Ford Explorer's, and Honda CR-V's. Let me just set the record straight. There is no comparison in my opinion to the feel and trust in which the Jeep Grand Cherokee gives to you in severe weather. I've taken my Cherokee, and my girlfriends Grand Cherokee out on some pretty bad snowy secondary roads and never came close to getting stuck or stranded. I will always have a Jeep vehicle in the family. Highly recommend."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

AMAZING!

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I BOUGHT MY '93 IN 2003 WITH ONLY 43K MILES ON IT AND THE THING STILL RUNS LIKE ITS NEW! I HAVE TAKEN THIS ON BACKROADS, THROUGH THE HILLS OF WEST VIRGINIA, IN THE MIDDLE OF THE WOODS IN WISCONSIN, TO CANADA, FLORIDA AND SEVERAL OTHER TRIPS. IT ALWAYS STARTS RIGHT UP, NEVER OVERHEATS, AND IS AMAZINGLY COMFORTABLE. IT IS ALSO THE SAFEST VEHICLE THAT I HAVE EVER RIDDEN IN. IT NEVER LOOSES CONTROL IN WET, SNOWY, ICY CONDITIONS AND ALWAYS HAS GREAT TRACTION. I RECOMMEND THIS VEHICLE TO EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best suv that I have owned

By on Sunday, June 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the jeep 11 yrs ago it had 35,000 on it I have always taken care of my cars. I run bigger tires for more comfort 235 75r15s calls for 215 75 r 15s handles great in the winter BEST SUV EVER OWNED WANT A NOTHER ONE never had any mech problems the normal stuff"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

love this Jeep

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great reliability"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this Jeep for 5 years. I bought it for Mn winters but now drive it year around. It's reliable comfortable sharp looking rugged...and it wears a bumper sticker that says"silly boys Jeeps are for girls" love my Jeep!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I LOVE MY JEEP!!!

By on Thursday, January 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, goes great in bad weather."

Cons: "OK gas mileage for a 4x4"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought mine used last year with 153,000 miles on it. Very good shape for being 15 years old! Not afraid to take it anywhere. 4 wheel drive is amazing. It goes like a tank in the snow, slush, mud."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever!

By on Sunday, December 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great ac/heat, tons of room"

Cons: "V8 instead of straight V6"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my experience with the Jeep is awesome I don’t ever have to worry if it is going to get stuck, start or brake down it is a super great vehicle for families. Has lots of room especially in the back hatch. This Jeep is something to be proud of. I would love my Jeep even more if it was a straight 6 instead of a 5.2 V8. the V8 doesn't really have a lot of power unless you fix it to where it can punch. Overall I would say this vehicle is the best in it's class on everything."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great SUV (:

By on Thursday, July 12, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: It was just time (:

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun-to-drive, good gas mileage"

Cons: "Could be quieter inside, handling's a bit rough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I bought this car brand new in 1995 as an early 1996 model year vehicle. Mine was a Laredo 4WD, 4.0L I6 (great fuel economy and performance), bare bones with only power windows and door locks, oh, and a cassette player radio. I loved it when I owned it, so much that I just recently bought a similar but older Grand Cherokee to it. You can't go wrong with these Jeeps (:"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

good 4x4 always starts and runs

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "can get 250k out of 6 cyl. great 4x4 system"

Cons: "fuel mileage flexy unibody construction rust prone"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"had this one year. It has always started and gets me where I need to go. I live in Illinois and I didn't get stuck at all winter 2011 in blizzard -- 2ft of snow. I was fortunate enough to buy it with the transmission already replaced. Unlike Jeep XJ Cherokee, it has a weak Chrysler transmission. They typically need replacing around 90k miles. Mine has intermittent electrical short. It has a little stiffer ride than some other suvs because of solid axles, but is much more capable off road. I would probably buy another one, but would probably buy one with a v8 based on fuel mileage, which could be better."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle!

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought brand new back in 1997. It has been very reliable. Has the 6 cyl. 4.0L HO engine in it. I would have preferred the V8 (5.2L), but I did not care for the quadratrac transfer case that all V8's come with. The base transfer case for the 4.0L is the NP242 model which has 2wd high, 4wd high, 4wd AUTO and 4wd low selections. Gas mileage has been average...Best mileage that I've seen was 19mpg on a trip from Pennsylvania to Florida. Around town it is 14-15mpg. My only 2 complaints about it are... 1. The clear coat on my factory aluminum wheels has worn over time and now the wheels are pitted and oxidized - they need a good polishing and to be repainted w/clear. 2. It seems that I see many that have the paint flake off of the rear side vents (between the rear cargo windows and the tailgate). This stands out more on the ligher (white, silver) colored cars. I plan on keeping this car...it's been good to me :)"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sad to see her go

By on Friday, October 07, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 277,400

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great for moving, reliable"

Cons: "16 MPG need to use my fuel efficient honda"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this jeep, it has been a family jeep for 15 years. Clean title, reliable wheels, and fun to drive. I feel spoiled with the automatic locks, alarm system, and car starter. I loved this vehicle but I have to commute to work and it's not ideal for my work and school life anymore. Tires aren't too old(about a year) needs a tune-up"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

i loved my jeep got me thru a lot

By on Sunday, September 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i ve never been stuck and have had very little problems, its sturdy and strong and id buy another in a heartbeat"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best car we've ever owned.

By on Wednesday, September 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, lots of room."

Cons: "Aging"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Jeep has been very reliable and fun to drive. It is relatively economical, about 17mpg. We have had minimal repair expenses."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

She's a Beast

By on Thursday, August 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependability, Reliability, and Many lifetime memories"

Cons: "Many small things go wrong"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought her in 2004 and now it's 2011, she is still kicking. There have been many major and small repairs to the Jeep but that was the result of the "race car" driver i bought the Jeep from. If you take great care and dont beat on the gas/ off roads the Jeep will last till the tires fall off!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals