Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1994 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 883 Ratings for the 1993 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next

great for the family tons of storage

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great 4x4 abilitiys"

Cons: "stuck in a all wheel drive and really bad on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"its great for everyone from the explorer to the family guy. super comfortable allows for the relaxing long distance drives and the 4x4 capabilities have gotten me more places then people with mild builds get. do not buy it for fuel economy, this is the safest thing that you can put the wife and kids into and now worry about anything. snow mudd sand everything is no match for this beast of a v8"

Very Versatile

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Versatile, reliable over 20 years, fun to own"

Cons: "Gas mileage not so good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very versatile and enjoyable to own. Overall, very reliable. There can be be cost problem in replacing original parts. But so far so good and I am keeping the car until this becomes a problem. I bought the car 20 years ago, when there was not as much choice in the SUV market as there is now. But it has proved to be an unexpected pleasure and I am glad I went with it as opposed to, for example, a Range Rover, which was reportedly under-powered and unreliable at the time, or the to me cumbersome Toyota Cruiser."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle especially for college student's f

By on Friday, March 06, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great utilitarian vehicle - we will buy another."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great vehicle to own, very reliable.

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a 1996 jeep grand Cherokee Laredo, v8 5.2 liter in 2009, with 95000 miles on it. Here in 2015 I still own her and with 165000 on it, I can exclaim it's true reliability as my first vehicle. In conclusion, I would recommend this vehicle, as my experiences with it have proven it a very safe reliable machine."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

A very good design.

By on Sunday, January 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Cheap and easy to repair, Truck-like suspension"

Cons: "The annoying computer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the 1995 grand cherokee used in 1999 for $5400 with 104k miles on it. It's transportation has helped me obtain two degrees. I've used it to deliver pizza. I started using Mobil 1 full syth and 93 premium octane and it pops so smothly and effortlessly with the 318 mpi. People give it alot of flack becuase of the gas milage but it has a truck like suspenion that can handle pot holes and road deformities nicely. If driven properly and maintained properly it can get the same mpg as a large sadan. The V8 is effecient becuase it rarly needs to go over 2k rpm. With the low end torque you only need to press the gas just a couple MMs to get up to speed. I've been in 2 non major wrecks with it (no body damage just the plastic bumper) and it still runs great. I've only changed the power sterring pump and water pump. Paint is comming off the roof but other than that no problem. I like that the rear view mirror as an awesome electronic dimmer. The computer infront of the shifter stopped working after a buffet from a 6 D battery mag light(not a bad thing because it would beep annoyingly). I now have 225k miles on it (as of 1/11/2015) and if the tranny or engine gives out I'll just have to replace them because this jeep is and extension of my body."

17 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Best I've ever owned, bar none!

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 217,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very comfortable and great turning ratio."

Cons: "ashtray was hard to get to (where I kept spare cha"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've driven this Jeep for 20 years and it has never let me down. I have over 217,000 miles on it and have changed the oil at regular intervals, as recommended. All cars have issues from time to time, but this one never gave me any problems that wouldn't have been expected as it aged. When they came up, I was lucky enough to be able to take her to the same mechanic also for 20 years. There has never been a problem with this vehicle that wasn't expected due to normal use, and I never let anything (odd sounds, or noises, etc.) go hoping they would go away. Basically, what I'm saying is that it is a very solid model Jeep from that year and I would not hesitate to recommend buying one if you could know it was taken care of and have a mechanic you trust check it out beforehand."

12 people out of 15 found this review helpful

best vehicle ever for icy and snow condition

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "secure drive on any terrain in any weather"

Cons: "not for in town drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"excellent all terrain vehicle"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Absolutely the safest car money will buy.

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxury, Safety, Reliability, Fun"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

There is no substitute!

"I'm driving the 2nd 1996 GC that Ive owned; the 1st was destroyed in a roll-over accident on a rural interstate. The cause of that accident was a rear tire blow-out of a defective BFG all terrain tire. Although the combination ABS and AWD hampered maintaining control, I was able to reduce the speed of 75 MPH to approximately 20 MPH before sliding off road and rolling. There was not an exterior panel that was untouched and to look at the vehicle you would surely think a fatality occurred; however, I did not get a scratch. the Jeep took it all. I'm driving my 2nd GC last Tuesday with my 8 y/o son when another car slammed into the rear of the Jeep, and another slammed into that car. My son asked, "what was that Dad?" From the cabin of the Jeep it barely felt like a speed bump, the other cars did not fare so well.The driver of the first car to hit had to be hauled away on a back board the other driver was a bit shaken. The Jeep suffered damage but is still drivable awaiting insurance adjusters to conclude their waiting game. If you want to survive the texters, the road ragers, the make-up applicators, and the idiots with whom you must share the pavement, buy a Jeep. Period. Happy trails and rubber side up. Draper"

15 people out of 17 found this review helpful

There is no substitute!

I finally got one. wanted one for a long time.

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "comfort, reliable"

Cons: "full time foru wheel, no way to put in two wheel."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I've wanted one for a long time. I really enjoy it. Very comfortable ride. The only problem I have is that it is in four wheel drive ALL the time which is the QUADRA TRAC. I wish I could take it out of four wheel. I get from 15 to 18 MPG (city & highway) plus or minus."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever owned!

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to work on, extremely reliable/trustworthy."

Cons: "None....really."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this 98 Laredo used, private party when it was 5 years old. Aside from routine maintenance, it has been the best vehicle we've ever owned. I can't brag enough about this old vehicle. It's getting tired now, but the 4 liter is still as strong as day one, not even the valve cover leaks! I'd own another one in a heartbeat!"

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Old but well kept.

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Interior is in great condition. History of all/any repairs upon request. Back hatch and bumper need body work. Engine needs radiator, hose and compressor (for air conditioner). Has received oil changes every 3000 miles and only premium gas (93)."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great Value in an SUV!

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,525

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfort, reliability, value, 4WD"

Cons: "V8 sucks gas easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Overall, a great value... the leather seats are comfortable, the Jeep has a quiet ride, is smooth on the road, and the 4WD will get you through the snow in the winter... just wish the interior had a bit more to it in terms of style and technology features, but of course, this is 1994, not 2014. My Jeep is going on 20 years old and still runs like the day it was new (although I've only owned it 2 years). My family has owned Jeep Grand Cherokees as old as 1994 and as new as 2005, and this is second best compared to my '02 and '05 I also own now. A good buy!"

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

A GREAT SUV if u keep it up

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 223,555

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good car if u keep the maintenance up on it"

Cons: "All Cherokees are over price in my opinion"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My Jeep is 18 yrs old and i love it. All in all it is a great car. Don't know about the new Grand Cherokee Jeeps but this model and year has been great. No engine or Transmission trouble in 18 yrs. loved it."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

can't do better than a jeep for SUV

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable 4x4 goes thru alot better than any truck"

Cons: "tailgate wiper and tailgate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have owned my jeep for 8 years and she has never let me down or stranded. I replace her tires every year, whether or not it is needed. Oil is changed at 2500 to 2700 miles. when I seen my jeep in the lot, I bought it with NO test drive. No regrets."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best suv that I have owned

By on Sunday, June 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the jeep 11 yrs ago it had 35,000 on it I have always taken care of my cars. I run bigger tires for more comfort 235 75r15s calls for 215 75 r 15s handles great in the winter BEST SUV EVER OWNED WANT A NOTHER ONE never had any mech problems the normal stuff"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

needs tlc

By on Monday, May 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"it needs some work but is still a reliable transportation. it has 31 10 15 tires on alloy wheels with 90% tred. 4wd works ill consider any offers"

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great jeep. Gas mileage not too good.

By on Sunday, May 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "size and perks of the grand cherokee limited, 4WD"

Cons: "gas mileage, back seat difficult to access"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Great size and perks for a four wheel drive. Classy enough to drive anywhere."

I LOVE this car.

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 365,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Felt safe when driving; go anywhere; looks great"

Cons: "AC unit not the best"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely Love this Jeep! Did not want to invest in it originally but so glad my family overruled. Bought it from the dealer who drove it for 1,000 miles; and we are the only other owners. We have a wonderful history together: family trips, business trips, vacations, writing/book signing tours. If I had the ability and $$$, I would completely restore the car and keep it forever. We always felt safe when driving it, got us where we needed to go in style. Great cargo area, easy loading and unloading. Performed well in challenging weather conditions."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

It has always gotten me there and back.

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Will handle about anything"

Cons: "I had to replace the fuel pump at around 200k mi"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"It's been through about everything from snow to rivers and from fields to highways."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Bought at an auction and got taken.

By on Saturday, May 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought this Jeep at local auction.Had transmission trouble right away. Spent $1500.00 to fix and worked for a few weeks.In shop again and want another $1250.00 to fix.This Jeep is supposed to be 4 WD but all the equipment removed from the front wheels and now is a 2 wheel rear drive jeep.Motor runs good,body in good shape,leather interior,roof rack.Could be fixed or used for a parts car."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Very reliable. Awesome in snow!!

By on Tuesday, April 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Runs and drives great- even tho has lotsa miles."

Cons: "Rust prone due to body design, not fuel efficient."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I LOVE this Jeep. It's old and rusty and she never hesitates to start- even on the coldest days. Awesome in the snow- better than some 4x4s with lift kits (could be my driving, too LOL!) Prone to rust along windshield, wheel wells, and on body inside doors. Reliable and tough. I want another one!!"

very good vehicle.drives well.needs new interior s

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,610

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive very comfortable."

Cons: "two cup holders up front.seats fold down in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"runs good couple little things needed.reverse light,sway bar is bent,headboard and speakers need replaced,"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

love this Jeep

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great reliability"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this Jeep for 5 years. I bought it for Mn winters but now drive it year around. It's reliable comfortable sharp looking rugged...and it wears a bumper sticker that says"silly boys Jeeps are for girls" love my Jeep!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best iv ever owned

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: frame rusted

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "best ever"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"when i sold her she had 188000 only sold her because the frame was bad had her 9 years"

4 5yrs. ALL N ALL has been good to me

By on Tuesday, April 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 224,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "claimes EXECELENT"

Cons: "n/a"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

WANT TO CLIM

"SMART WAY IS REBUILD "trans. rebuild 2100.-2400.""

WANT TO CLIM

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Grand Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals