Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Jeep Compass Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $18,279 - $18,912.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $19,790

Fair Purchase Price $18,547
Fair Market Range ($18,279 - $18,912)

Invoice $19,578
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 5.3 of 10

10/5.3

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 22 Ratings for the 2011 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    7.2/10
  • Comfort
    7.9/10
    Styling
    7.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Blew the competition away.

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Drives great, gas mileage , ammenities."

Cons: "could use a better rear wiper."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After looking at and driving other midsized SUVs,I was amazed at the driving dynamics of the Compass. It actually drives more like a car than an SUV.Coming from a Chevy Equinox to this, the mileage was incredible at 31 hwy and feels like there is more usable room..Compared directly against the Hyundai Tucson it just felt much more secure on the road. You don't feel as though your sitting over the tires and the is much less body lean. It was more roomy than the Crosstrek for less money snd quiter thsn the Escspe.Well satisfied for the price!"

25 people out of 31 found this review helpful

Asolutely trouble-free since April, 2011.

By on Friday, March 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Appreciate short turning radius, compared to my PT"

Cons: "Could use more rear storage with second row seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"No problems at all since purchase. 44000 miles, 60-70% highway. Comfortable ride, reasonably quiet. Gas mileage could be better, but ok at 24-26mpg at 70 mph. Don't care for CVT transmission, but resolved in newer models."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Excellent on and off road - totally reliable

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Does not disappoint ."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Never again!

By on Monday, December 01, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Poor driving characteristics

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Comfortable, roomy, not bad looking"

Cons: "Cheap, no power, worst transmission ever!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Had a Compass this year and hated it. No power, cheap interior and the worst automatic transmission I've ever driven. The engine is anemic and struggles to get out of it's own way. Super loud at any RPM above 4k. The automatic transmission is sloppy and is constantly searching for the right gear, which it never seems to find. The only way I could drive this car was by manually selecting the correct gear. Cheap plastic all around, but quite comfortable, even for a big guy."

19 people out of 25 found this review helpful

probably wont buy one again

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "looks good. sound system is great"

Cons: "transmission is not smooth. high noise level."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Poor quality on interior, had to replace plastics on RT side of passenger seat 3 times..road sounds are very high..transmission has tendency to bounce when in heavy traffic..padding on driver door bubbles when weather is warm."

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Comfortable,good handling,safe ride

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride,affordable,good size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Great looking SUV !

"I purchased this car because I liked the look, the size & the jeep reputation. I needed it to travel to upstate NY to a cabin in a rural area. We have an under developed road that is often eroded from the elements. It's hilly and can be icy and snow bound. We have never had a problem getting up the road with the compass. It handles beautifully. It's comfortable and is not a rough ride at all. We have taken two very long trips in the Compass and they were great trips. It's comfortable, not noisy and not bad on gas for an SUV."

13 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Great looking SUV !

Great Value

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great car, very comfortable, spacey for its class."

Cons: "no stock roof rack, mileage isn't amazing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The vehicle is a great value for its price. If your looking for luxury this is not the car. It does not have bells or whistles and the interior is not amazing; however, it is a very functional vehicle. The car drive is very comfortable and the space is great. The seats fold down very quick and easy for maximum space. The drive is very smooth. I have driven it for 6 hours plus multiple times for a very easy ride. The only thing I would say is the roof rack is overcomplicated. It does not come with simple racks like many cars do. You have to purchase them from overpriced roof rack companies."

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Ok for the money

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good looking, great for small suv"

Cons: "poor gas mileage, sun roof controls are tiny"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I have only had my Compass for 2 months. I went from a Liberty to a Compass thinking I would get better gas mileage - did not happen. My 2004 Liberty did the same if not better on gas - very disappointing - I basically traded in a lot of space for no reason. Should have kept my Liberty. I will probably keep the Compass for as little time as possible to get a good trade in amount."

37 people out of 61 found this review helpful

Love my Jeep!!

By on Thursday, April 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Drives well in all weather types"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Jeep Compass. I liked it so much, I bought another one! I highly recommend this vehicle. I live in Minnesota, this vehicle has gotten me through many snow storms. 4 wheel drive really comes in handy here."

15 people out of 25 found this review helpful

not a real suv

By on Thursday, December 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"You can't tow anything and it has no power at all. It is roomy and gets excellent gas mileage for a SUV wanna be"

19 people out of 32 found this review helpful

Yes I am still new to this vehicle

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price - gas - interior"

Cons: "no ports in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For the vehicle it is crossover suv whatever -- it is exactly what I needed in all areas"

28 people out of 48 found this review helpful

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Style, room, and interior"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has always been my favorite car to look at on the highway, so I was extremely happy to be able to purchase my dream car. I am definitely sticking a Jeep forever. I am so pleased with my Jeep Compass."

18 people out of 31 found this review helpful

Don't recommend it

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Great engine"

Cons: "wind noise is unbearable with rear windows down."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Clutch went out at only 25k miles. dealer charged $1,600 to fix . The clutch went out suddenly leaving me stranded. Usually a clutch will start slipping and therefore warn you but you can still drive it. It wasn't covered by the warranty.No parts in town , had to wait forever. Get this, dealer charges $750 for the clutch kit. Napa gets $300. I hear the auto trans is a real piece of work . just stay away from this car. It is a cheap piece of junk."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

BEST SUV EVER!

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,749

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive! I feel very secure behind the wheel"

Cons: "Cannot think of any cons....honestly!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 6 speed and moved to the mountains of Frederick. I needed a 4WD. I was more impressed than I thought I would be. First, the car still has the new car smell. All of the "extras" of a LTD SUV was so overwhelming! I still have not learned every detail of each one. The only reason I want to sell my vehicle is because I am moving to Las Vegas."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellent Value for the money

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fuel mileage, very quiet engine, supportive seats."

Cons: "Needs better oem tires, lousey in snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the 3rd Jeep my wife and I have owned, previously a 1990 Cherokee, 2007 Liberty, and I have to say that so far this is the best. 30mpg, descent power(not a race car), good interior room. I am 6ft and 350lbs and I am very comfortable in both the drivers and passenger seats."

27 people out of 48 found this review helpful

Jeep just needs to step up the interior a little.

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Theres no Jeep Compass that looks like mine."

Cons: "My Jeep is one of a kind!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I actually made my jeep more to my liking piece by piece and thats ok by me."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love this vehicle!

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love everything!"

Cons: "Wish it had navigation & heated steering wheel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wish it had navigation and heated steering wheel"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

cheap new car

By on Saturday, May 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "good on gas"

Cons: "too small inside and not enough horsepower!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"VERY underpowered with the 2.0 5 speed manual!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love the car.

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,800

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "No power. Poor gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I may love the car but, unfortunately, it has no power, ie: no pick up and no acceleration. Also, the gas mileage leaves a lot to be desired."

14 people out of 31 found this review helpful

Very comfortable, smooth riding vehicle; nice size

By on Friday, April 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Compact size, good handling, very smooth riding"

Cons: "Poor visibility, low gas mileage, heat a/c control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I have enjoyed this small Jeep--it's size is good and it handles well on the road, very smooth riding (some of my passengers have commented on that). Drawbacks would include the continuously variable transmission (it can sometimes be uneven), the "stick shift" feature that can be activated by my dogs when I don't want it, limited driver's visibility, and low gas mileage. Very good on wet, slushy roads. Heating and air conditioning controls sometimes stick, and some rust has appeared inside one of the doors."

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

dated platform, nice options for the cost

By on Friday, February 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good value, great Jeep 4wd"

Cons: "dated styling, uncomfortable to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Dated styling but a decent value for a mid level package. I have heated seats, sunroof, premium sound(sun and sound package) and an automatic starter, unheard of in mid level pricing. I was looking for a 4cyl suv to save on fuel. It's 6 speed automatic is spunky and economically sound. Great 4wd, rock solid in the snow. Lacks comfort on long drives. It blows around in the wind more than my high profile Suburban, but less than my Jeep Wrangler. I probably would not replace it with another Compass of this design/styling."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Save and reliabie

By on Friday, May 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,840

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my first jeeb.Like it so far;the special 4x4 system saved me from a brutal accident in the just past winter.I was negotiating a curve at a little too high speed and the car slided but i heard and felt a shift of the front axle to side the car tilted and this just brought the whole car back to a mormal positoin.Icould not believe that just happened automatically;only jeep does that-owesome."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.