Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2009 Jeep Compass

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 361 Ratings for the 2007 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.7/10
    Quality
    7.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    7.5/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next

No repairs after after 41,000 miles.

By on Tuesday, April 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "0 repairs"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car going to upgrade to new Jeep Cherokee."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The best vehicle I have owned in over 30 years.

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun vehicle with no issues!"

Cons: "Ground clearance can be an issue in >10" snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am starting to look at upgrading to a new vehicle, and am going to have a hard time parting with my Compass. The Jeep has been reliable since day one, and is the best vehicle that I have owned in over 30 years of driving. Living in a snow belt, the front wheel drive has gotten me through each winter without issue (my only problems have occurred when I did not have enough ground clearance, which is rare). A pleasure to own!"

Better buy a extended warranty, Problems!

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Four Wheel Auto Stick........"

Cons: "To many repairs,,,,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"2008 new car,first two years and it was great, Then the problems,, Gear box power sterring went out, then Rear back wheel bearings, Now the Ball Joints,, and alternator , and rust starting up on the rear passenger wheel wall, Bad very bad, was told to get a Honda! CRV, A friend got the (Honda Crv) and its two years older then my Jeep, and no Problems at all just change oil, LUCKY HIM,, POOR ME ,, over $4000 out of my pocket fixing this Jeep , three people i know with the same problems,, a 2007 and a 2009 , if you got one trade it while you can,,"

I Have Loved This Vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,110

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Comfortable, convenient. Its look still seems current despite the years of ownership, because Jeep design changes very little over time. Sound system (though NOT an upgraded one) is very good. My only reservation would be that (for me and my particular physiology) the support panels between the passenger seat and the trunk space create an obstruction to my vision that is a problem. Has been very reliable.... never had a problem."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Lots of repairs needed

By on Monday, December 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great price, good in the snow"

Cons: "repairs, faulty parts, noisy,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I am the only owner of this vehicle which I purchased new in 2007. Since then the tie rods have been replaced 3 times, the lower control arms/ball joints twice. There was also an issue with an axle boot that needed to be replaces. I swear every time I went in for an oil change, something was about to go (they would warn me of loose ball joints, etc.) and needed to be fixed. The tie rods were something I noticed and got fixed after having a shaky wheel at 45MPH. Cabin is very noisy, even had question if the car (when new!) was going to blow or something it is so loud. Okay for the price, but remember, it IS a CHEAP vehicle!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

so so

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: mediocre quality

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"adequate for what it is. wish american cars paid more attention to quality feel"

Total nightmare.

By on Friday, November 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 390

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "none"

Cons: "Totally unreliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"AT 20 miles, my brand new 2014 Jeep Compass had all the lights on the dashboard lit. The entire computer system was defective and had to be replaced. At 300 miles, the map light had water leaking out of it and pouring into the interior of the car. Who knows how much is still in the frame, electronics, etc. Another trip to the service department and they returned it saying that the drains were clogged. I traded in a car that never, ever broke down for this car that is a NIGHTMARE!!!!! All the joy, happiness, or satisfaction of owning a new car is completely destroyed. I know that it will leak again. That will lead to mold and who knows what other damages. I used up my hard earned money on this car and now I am stuck with it. Thanks, Chrysler."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Poorly crafted, don't waste your money

By on Monday, November 04, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Kept falling apart

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Attractive interior and exterior"

Cons: "Mechanical components keep breaking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Parts keep falling apart, not a reliable vehicle."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

I like it but dont love it

By on Saturday, November 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,340

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Sexy, Affordable , Pretty good gas , Good warranty"

Cons: "Noisy engine, noisy cabin , no standard gps?!?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This is a great car for the price . I got a sport loaded otd for 17,600. I used true car to save 3000 and got 3500 for my trade and 500 military. So I got a great deal . But the cabin is a little noisy. The 4 banger engine is defentitly wayyyyyy too noisy. But for the price ... one word. Great"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent trannie, fun to drive, pulls boat

By on Thursday, October 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "6 speed trannie, tows boat, fit & finish, US made"

Cons: "milege, visability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We had two cars, one a hybrid for mileage and an older one to tow our boat. The Compass allows us to get by with just one car. It pulls our boat very well, probably better that our previous tow vehicle. I absolutely love the Korean built 6 speed transmission. The fit and finish is excellent. The seats are very supportive as well as attractive.Initially I didn't like the high belt line of the dash, but got used to it in a short time. While vision is somewhat restricted at all four corners & at the small rear window, the rear view mirrors are better placed and it's easier to change lanes than in my previous cars. Unfortunately the rear seat headrests are not removable, which would help with visibility."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Compass near Honolulu. See local deals