Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2008 Jeep Compass

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 361 Ratings for the 2007 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.7/10
    Quality
    7.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    7.5/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

Love it

By on Thursday, April 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Price and available upgrades"

Cons: "Cub Holders in back,Odd. Hate the backdoor handles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wanted a Cherokee but due to the gas Mileage, it just was not worth the additional cost. I compromised with this. I upgraded to Leather seats and I Love it. It is a nice solid vehicle and so far I have no complaints"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great vehicle for the price!

By on Tuesday, April 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "drives very well, good gas mileage, very roomy"

Cons: "material on seats not durable or stain resistant"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I purchased this vehicle new in 2008, I love the body style and the inside room. The only comlpain for me is that the I wish the motor had been a little more powerful but my overall experience with it has been great. Great family ride! AND I am a firm believer in "you get what you pay for" so I new the motor wasn't big and I am OK with it!"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Its just ok

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,600

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "ok on gas"

Cons: "small, basic interior feel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I got this car last year, and I am sad to say I am already feeling the itch for a new one. Its a good standard car, good on gas, not great. It feels kind of cramped even for a small SUV. I feel like the material the overall interior has a cheap feel. It is a very standard car, but reliable and dependable. I have had an issue with the tire pressure sensor but nothing too dramatic. the overall value is good, but I am looking forward to something less basic. Driving is nothing special, no power but then again it is a 4 cylinder."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this vehicle!

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,168

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Resonably priced, nice smaller suv"

Cons: "I have no cons for either yr that i have owned"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the 2nd compass that I have owned, and I love them. They completely changed the interior from the '08 that I had and it is much nicer inside and drives and rides better also. They also changed to exterior some and made it look nicer than before. It is nice to have a smaller 4x4 suv that gets good gas mileage. As long as they continue to make them, this is what I will buy when I want a new car."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Good economy suv, hanles well and great pickup.

By on Friday, March 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great milage, handles well."

Cons: "Don't like the little hump at doors."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Would recommend to others."

Minor Issues

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good Family Vehicle. Decent gas milage for a "SUV""

Cons: "Interior seems cheaply made"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"After a week of ownership I noticed a loud creaking noise coming from the interior passenger rear. Apparently this was due to a loose interior side panel that the dealership fixed only for it to return a few days later. On occasion the car will take a while to start, this problem appears to be random."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Shotty suspension

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The suspension is awful. I went through more reparis then I care to count...tie rods, wheel bearings, control arms, axels...you name it I fixed it! The 4wd didn't work all that great either. Vehicle is too low to the ground."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle!

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage for an SUV"

Cons: "Would like the cross bars for luggage rack."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"All around, this vehicle has been great. The only two negatives I find is that it is often difficult to get an all around clear view when backing out of a space, due to the headrests, but that's in any car. Also, back seat occupants have complained about the comfort level on longer trips, which has never affected me, so it's not huge!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not so great

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,500

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Cons: "No storage!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I bought this car brand new with high expectations as I have been a jeep owner previously. I loved my Grand Cherokee but when it came time for a new one I just couldnt afford one. I have had it for less than 6 motnhs and have had both back windows replaced as they had air leaks and am waiting on it to go in again to replace one for the second time. I was told I would get better gas milage and have not. I definately went down to a more basic vehicle, which is ok, but I miss a lot of the features I had."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

LOVE THIS CAR

By on Friday, February 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easy to control, reliable, stylish, good price"

Cons: "4 cylinder power can sometimes be weak"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for almost 2 years now, and I love it! It's affordable and stylish. I am a petite girl it's not too big for me and not too small.. just perfect. The only thing that bothers me is that sometimes it takes a moment to pick up speed, but thats what you get when you have a 4 cylinder and a lead foot! Gas mileage is great for an suv. I have got up to 29 miles to the gallon on road trips and the lowest I have got was 19 miles( once I got a tune up it went up to 21). I get an average of 24mpg on an everyday basis. I bought this car used and it had already had an accident. I have driven it from mid texas to northern california, and it was a comfortable and safe trip. I recommend this car to any one whos thinking of getting one. I might even upgrade to a newer one =)"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great for the money

By on Thursday, February 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, great gas mileage"

Cons: "Lacks loads of technology"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So I've always heard great things about Jeeps. My friends have had Jeeps, my parents, etc. I traded in my 2003 V6 Grand Am for a 4cyl 2010 Jeep Compass. I gotta say, I love it! It's weird being in a CUV compared to a fast little car but I am getting used to it. The gas mileage is GREAT for something with so much room. I wish the inside had some more perks (how much MPG I was getting, a compass, etc.) but it DID come with an aux jack which was important to me. It also tells me the weather on my dash! Another thing..it kind of creaks occasionally? I think it's the under carriage and how it's made. It sounds kind of goofy but it has held up well so far that I'm not worried about it. Even though it's 2WD and a CUV it takes bumps like a champ! If you are looking for the space of an SUV but want the gas mileage of a car I would go for the Compass."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Amazing Vehicle!!!

By on Tuesday, February 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "amazing looks, comfort, my gig, sunroof!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I sold my jeep liberty 2007 for this crossover and I am not disappointed!! It is a good car with a lot of features and amenities, also is very comfortable. About the wind noise and sound of the CVT, I really don't understand the comments, because I haven't experienced anything like that driving in highway and streets. I have the compass limited 4x2 with my gig, nav and 18" rims!! I enjoy the ride!!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Needs better towing capabilities

By on Saturday, January 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Needs better towing capabities"

Needs much improvement

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,400

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "heated seats, gps, sound system."

Cons: "underpowered, no 4wd, road noise, poor mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"This vehicle is no match for New England winters. With 4 brand new snow tires and awd engaged, I was slipping and sliding in only 3 inches of dry powder. I owned a Wrangler and a Cherokee years ago. Wish I still had one of them. Never got stuck with them. Another complaint is this vehicle is underpowered. With four adults inside I feel as if I need to get out and push sometimes to get it moving when the light turns green. It's worse with the AC turned on. The mileage is another problem. It's rated at approx. 27 mpg highway and the best I've been able to get is around 20 with no accessories turned on except the sound system. I hope the new models are better."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

its true to its name plate

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price,fuel millage,its a blast to drive in the mud"

Cons: "arm rest is small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this little jeep is great on and off road. the compass can keep with its big brother."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

awesome car,unbeleivable handling,31mpg love it

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome car ,31 mpg, incredible handling ,made in USA,buy American"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I Love, Love, Love this SUV

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I can't say enough about this car. I am disabled and have a hard time getting in and out of regular cars. To low. But this is the perfect height for me to slide in and out of. Plus the reliability of this car. I don't worry at all that I will get stranded anywhere. And the comfort, I have owned a Ford Escape, and it was so bumpy to ride in, but the Compass rides more like a car than an SUV. I would buy this SUV again, and I would definately recommend this car to family and friends."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great vehicle, would def recommend

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love my Jeep, but being a tall guy,(6'8") there isnt quite the leg room to give this Jeep a 5 star rating. Everything else is great tho. Also, some models dont come with cruise control, make sure, it surprised me to find that mine didnt have it....makes for a longer road trip without it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Too cheap even for low price

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "ok gas mileage, like the CVT w/autostick"

Cons: "A little too cheaply made even for the lower end"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"The biggest problem is that with less than 60000 miles the front end needs work (ball joints, tie rods), to me this is unacceptable at this mileage. These are commonly 100,000 mile or better parts. This seems to be a common problem as I have found many similar complaints online. There seems to be no fix available from the manufacturer. My plan is to trade this car in as soon as I fix the front end and buy something better built."

I love the car

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,665

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I feel safe in this car. best car i ever had"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nice bottom line car

By on Tuesday, January 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good price"

Cons: "loud ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car since mile one. The car dose have its problems but is a nice starter car. The interior dose have hard edges and is not the smoothest ride. The fold down seats in the back allow for lots of room. the car came with a nice sound system and never had to up grade it. The car gets decent gas milage ( it is still a jeep) and handles well off road with the 4x4. I have taken it off road and been able to keep up with the big boys."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle

By on Tuesday, January 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, good mechanically , nice styling"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been a pleasure to drive"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very good gas mileage, nice looking.

By on Monday, January 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the 4x4 and I am very happy with this little jeep. I went from a Jeep Liberty 4x4 put 87000 miles on it. With no problems. I love my jeeps. I know that the Compass is not like a truck like the Liberty was,but I would rather have the gas mieage."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good car, my wife picked it

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good on Gas"

Cons: "Not much power,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good car, best on gas. My wife picked it. Was not sure I would like it, but it has become a great car ! I am glade with gas costing what it does that we have it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

fast trouble free

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "wish I bought the 4x4"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car. fastest 4cyl., non sports car I ever owned. great gas mileage. doesn't feel like you are riding on a skateboard. wish I bought the 4x4 so I could take it in the desert."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Compass near Honolulu. See local deals