Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
Go

2007 Jeep Compass

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 361 Ratings for the 2007 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.7/10
    Quality
    7.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    7.5/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 73 | Next

Worst vehicle I have owned

By on Tuesday, August 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
2/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good mileage, decent looks, great in snow and rain"

Cons: "So many problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"My 2012 has been in and out of the shop so many times, I have lost count. First was the trailer hitch assembly had been installed wrong and caused all my blinkers to flash when I hit the turn signal. Then the sunroof leaked and soaked the interior... not looking forward to the rust problems later. The front drivers side wheel makes a noise when turning left after driving long distances but the dealer finds nothing wrong. The seat belt latch has rubbed the plastic on the drivers seat, damaging the seat. Has had two recalls already for the fuel tank valve, and the computer needed updated due to something with the passenger seat belt... which now it only recognizes someone in the seat half the time to tell when their seat belt is undone when driving. When they installed the tail lights on the car at the factory, they scratched the paint. I noticed the touch up work about a week after I bought the Jeep. The rear passenger door was not installed right, and was slightly off line. Tires that came from the factory came with radial pull, which eventually pulled on my alignment... luckily the dealer covered it under warranty. I'm almost out of the warranty, and I fear I may have to just park it and let it sit rather than pay for the repairs... it's only 1 1/2 years old. On a good note, the mileage is pretty good, especially for a 4wd."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this car!

By on Monday, July 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good price, cute, comfortable"

Cons: "a little small in the back for passengers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For the money this is a great car. I do not haul children around any longer so I did not need a large vehicle and this was perfect. If you need to move furniture, kids or other items, this may not be right but to get back and forth to work it is the best. The gas mileage could be better and because of the weight it can be sluggish on take off but overall I have nothing but love for this car. I can fit my dog and my golf clubs and it gets me through the snow. What more can I ask?"

11 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great first car

By on Wednesday, July 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "The car is reliable and handles decently."

Cons: "The car lacks in power and trunk space."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I got this car as my first. The car handles decently and is easy to drive. The only complaint that I have is the 4 cylinder. I like cars with more power and the compass is lacking in power. The interior is average. It is comfortable up front but in the back there is a limited amount of space. The trunk is very small though, I have issues fitting my golf clubs in the back without folding down the seats. Over all it is a decent car though. It is a reliable car for anyone in the market that needs a one or two person car, this is not a family vehicle."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

OK....Except Ball Joints & Jatco CVT Transmission

By on Monday, July 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "All Wheel Drive Selector"

Cons: "CVT Transmission & Lower Ball Joint Failure"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Not a bad little (meaning small interior space) SUV. Both lower ball joints are very poor design and wore out quickly. The CVT transmission has been overheating and slipping when driven hard. Just waiting for that transmission to go up in smoke and cost a few thousand dollars. 3 year, 36,000 warranty was poor and Jeep knows they have had huge problems with the CVT transmission reliability. I heard that later models had a "lifetime drivetrain warranty" to first owner for this reason. 2007 customers are stuck holding the bag. Alternator burned up at 105,000. Other than that its been pretty good."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great vehicle for the price

By on Monday, May 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "price, size, gas mileage, comfort"

Cons: "would like to remove back seat headrests"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I drove several other vehicles and my wife liked the Compass best. I waited for the 2014 with the 6 speed auto-didn't like the CVT. Once I tried the 2014 I drove the 2.0 and the 2.4 and bought the 2.4 that same day. Just took a 1900 mile road trip and was very happy with the Compass- got between 28-32 mpg and hauled plenty of things in back. Quiet, comfortable- simple controls (couldn't stand the confusing layout on the Ford Escape). We got the Sport (base model) FWD with AC, pwr windows, 2.4 engine, 6 speed auto, for about $21,500.Added tow pkg and will tow 2000 lbs. Very happy with it, and fun to drive."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 73 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Compass near Honolulu. See local deals