Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2001 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 846 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

BEST CAR EVER OWNED

By on Monday, May 04, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: no longer needed 4WD

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "BULLET-PROOF, SUPER RELIABLE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"LOVED OWNING THIS CAR FOR 12 YEARS. ORIG PURCH $7K IN 11/2002. SOLD LAST MONTH 04/2015 FOR $5200 EVEN THOUGH BLUE BOOK SAID <$2800 OOPS-KBB DID NOT GET THAT ONE RIGHT! TALK ABOUT HOLDING ITS VALUE ! WHAT A TROOPER THIS CAR HAS BEEN. PROPER MAINTENANCE REALLY PAID OFF, AND THE CAR STILL HAS ANOTHER 100,000 MILES LEFT IN HER TO GO, I'M SURE!"

Definitely great for kids

By on Saturday, April 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 194,669

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very spacious and great for the family comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Sittin in the driveway

"great vehicle, easy to have fun in and great for a family vehicle. Very easy to work on"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sittin in the driveway

Awesome car. Never had a big problem

By on Sunday, March 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable, cheap to fix"

Cons: "Not very fast"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been the best I've owned. It is not the most comfortable car, nor the most fun to drive, but it is reliable, inexpensive, very rugged, cheap to fix, fun to upgrade, can go anywhere, and has never let me down. For the price, especially for a used car, I can't think of a better choice."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best trail vehicle I have owned!

By on Sunday, February 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent off road capabilitys, great road manners"

Cons: "Sparce interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Apache Trail, AZ

"I purchased my Jeep from a 70yo lady, it is in beautiful shape and very well taken care of! I bought her 6 months ago, since then I have put 3000 miles on her, she has been perfect, even bone stock with street tires she performed better off road than my lifted 1990 Ford 4x4 truck! I have since done a 2" lift and will add another 3 1/2" lift soon with more capable off road tires, I have yet had to put it 4 wheel drive and I have taken her on the same trail as my Ford! lol On the road manners have been better than expected! As far as gas mileage, I have been impressed! I was expecting far worse, then again, with the gas prices down, I could care less! lol"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Apache Trail, AZ

good looking jeep, has been a reliable vehicle,

By on Saturday, January 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "one owner, desert car, like new"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"personal car, ordered special from Jeep, Limited edition, good gas mileage, interior like new, rear seats never used, no accidents, good maintenance, tires are in good shape, spare has good tread, brakes-front pads and rotors at 85000, rear at 105000, deep green color, gas mileage-town 19mpg hiway 25 mpg, good glass-no chips,"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

good dependable ride

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive"

Cons: "kind of small, not for a tall man."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It's been a real good car for a long time."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best 4x4 ever!

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Accident, sold for parts.

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun, never stuck, roomy"

Cons: "Gas mileage, rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my '98 Sport, 4.0L, 5-Speed in '00, it was a lease turn-in. My dad had a '90 until he traded that in on a '99 that he still owns. I loved my Cherokee, except for the inevitable rocker panel rust (consequence of Upstate NY winters). Only major repairs were radiator, heater core, clutch, and leaf springs. As long as you do proper maintenance these things will run forever. Tons of modifications are available. 200,000+ miles and it still runs like new, too bad the unibody got bent after losing it on black ice."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The best 4x4 EVER!!

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 272,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "best 4x4 ever hands down!!"

Cons: "gas mileage, stock stereo"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love my Jeep XJ Country! Never get stuck ANYWHERE in any weather, comfortable to drive in any conditions highway or city, not too large and cumbersome but roomy enough for 5 comfortably plus some gear. There are TONS of upgrades for everything from lift kits and bumpers/winches to interior/exterior styling galore. My only qualm is the gas mileage, but you don't buy this to commute to work or school...unless there's 3ft of snow on the road ;)"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

most reliable easy to repair long lasting great.

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "seems harsh to drive above 80mph"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I would recommend this car to anybody, and I am looking for another similar jeep now."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My Absolute Favorite Vehicle!

By on Monday, October 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Classic looks, reliable, lots of fun to drive!"

Cons: "They don't make 'em like this any more!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

And yes, I pulled right out easily in 4WD!

"I bought my 2000 Cherokee Classic in 2009, with 35k on the clock. Added red stripes on the sides and Wet Okole seat covers, otherwise she is completely stock. I now have 85k on her & she continues to drive like a dream. Totally reliable, never gives me any trouble. Fits me like a glove in the cockpit with the power seats (I'm 5' 3"), but is a little tight for my husband (good - I don't like how he drives her anyway). Classic, classic looks. Gets thru snow easily (& I live in Philly, where they NEVER plow). Drove her to CO & back once - no sweat, got 25mpg on the highway with cruise control on. No worries about the small back seat; I always have the seat down for my dogs. Lots of easily accessible storage space in the back when the seat is down. Has top of the line Infinity stereo with cassette & CD players; I recently updated the speakers & sound is great. Used to drive an '84, then '94 S-10 Blazer - loved 'em both, but the Jeep beats 'em by a mile. The new Cherokees are hideous! I will never sell my baby!!"

11 people out of 20 found this review helpful

And yes, I pulled right out easily in 4WD!

Love My Cherokee, But Must Sell!

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great condition!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Jeepers! This is a great Jeep Cherokee.

"Must sell my pride and joy! Great car that is in excellent condition; the vehicle has been kept clean and immaculate, and maintenance has always been kept current. The vehicle is great in any weather conditions, and is perfect in snow, or for driving up on the beach too! Drives like a Cherokee and this would make a great vehicle for anyone who loves the Jeep Cherokee or a high school/college student, wanting a super first vehicle with 4WD for any and all weather conditions, as well as space for hauling sports equipment to and from practice(s). Always driven with care, you will be able to tell immediately this this vehicle has many more adventures for the Cherokee enthusiast! As I said, I must sell the vehicle or I'd be keeping it for myself!"

17 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Jeepers! This is a great Jeep Cherokee.

Don't make them like this anymore. Great car.

By on Tuesday, September 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sporty drive, classy car"

Cons: "Rides like a truck which it is."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"we love the design and performance of this car."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love Jeep

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe, easy to drive/park, durable"

Cons: "oil leaks, electrical problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I fell in love with this the day I test drove it and bought it, I have had it for 8yrs. I always feel safe when I drive anywhere. 4WD is fantastic in the harsh NY winters."

12 people out of 15 found this review helpful

wicked pissah

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love slangin mud out on the back 40, ain't afraid of no trail. Take her huntin and fishin as much as I can. Always fires up, and does what I make her do. She don't complain, just needs normal tender love and care. Wouldn't trade her for nothin."

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

well taking care of,oil changed every 3-4000 mil,

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "worth it guarantee"

Cons: "???????"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Hate to part with this vehicle but sometimes you just got to let go. I have always maintained it, oil changes every 3000, no chips,no dents, no rust,just want something newer."

13 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great all around vehicle. Super in the snow"

Cons: "Could use a bit more leg room on the clutch side"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Too bad they discontinued this vehicle. It's probably one of the best models Jeep ever made. The engine is terrific. I bought it used with 62,000 mile. After owning it for over 13 yrs, I now have 192,000 mile. It'll last forever."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Owned for 12 years

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Awesome value, fun to drive, low maintenance"

Cons: "Not one... well maybe better gas mileage. lol"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my 99 Jeep Cherokee for 12 years with no major problems. I've replaced tires, battery, the basic wear and tear items but nothing major. This Jeep has been worth more than I paid for her. Blast to drive, handles well... one of my favorites ever. Time to trade her in, she's getting tired. Wish they still made them like her. I've owned a Wrangler and a Grand Cherokee but this one is my fav. Looking for another Jeep. Any suggestions??"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Drives better in snow than my 2012 F-250 Super dut

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun"

Cons: "I'm too tall"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"LOVE it in snow"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever!

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and great to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Jeep is my buddy; great car!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Kicks Butt

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun...reliable...a beast in snow or off road"

Cons: "drinks gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my first 2001 Cherokee new and drove it for 12 years...then went out and found another after the first finally died with 250K miles on it. These vehicles are very very reliable and the absolute BEST in the winter. In the summer I drive my current beast all over the farm and hasnt gotten stuck once. Only drawback? Low gas mileage. But small price to pay for the rest."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The most perfect vehicle ever constructed.

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 231,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent reliability, handling, and versatility."

Cons: "Overheats a bit too easily."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third Cherokee; I racked up 470000 miles on my first Jeep (replaced the engine at 238000) prior to selling it! The second was a 2 door 2x4 that we used as a spare vehicle, which also ran beautifully. This particular Jeep makes me feel like Queen of the Highway; it's powerful, nimble, easy to park (yes, that includes parallel parking), versatile, and has utterly classic lines. The only shortcoming of the Jeep Cherokee is that they like to overheat if you're idling in traffic on a hot day--10 or 15 minutes of just sitting, and you're done. Awesome vehicle!!!"

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great jeep for about anything

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Heated seats comfy power seats dependable"

Cons: "Rust, little squeaky belt should be fixed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Heated seats, power seats lots of room inside and even looks nice, it's got rust on the sides but not many cars this old are rust free, a couple more tune ups and it'll be just like new."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I've ever owned

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great Vehicle"

Very Dependable

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,488

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great 4WD vehicle, Classic Design"

Cons: "No Rear Cup Holders, Getting in the back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Orginal owner with 230K on the clock and still going. Still have the orginal clutch and get 21 mpg on the freeway. Have used it for towing a trailer and four wheel driving. The most reliable car I have owned. Stereo has had problems with CD's. If buying one look for oil leaks under the oil filter dripping on to the starter, the oil filter seals tend to leak and need replacing, should cost about $85 to have replaced. If you see a pool of grunge on the starter it will cause premature failure of the starter. I am on my 2nd starter. Other than the jack being a really bad design and the A/C these are great cars and fun to four wheel drive in."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The best car I ever owned! Love it!

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Strongly built, hi ground clearance."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, great design, perfect for camping with dog or friend. Strong car, easy for a good mechanic to take care of. High ground clearance (8 in.), great stability. Now 13 yrs. old and I have had it for 10 yrs. with no major problems. Have taken long 1200-mile trips, with cargo also on roof rack, delivered a newspaper route in it in L.A. on bad roads and private driveways in bad weather. All that you would want in an SUV!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals