Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

2000 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 828 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 34 | Next

excellent vechile

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "best 4x4 for money"

Cons: "cant find any cons about it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best 4x4 around gets better gas mileage than wife's 4 Cyl. Kia 4 wheel drive unstoppable ,good looking ,proud to have in in driveway , at 187,000 motor and trans doing great well engineered"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I will miss her

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great clearance, tough as I am,"

Cons: "Grieving my loss can't think of any cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Not a scratch on me

"I was looking for something that would get me off the ground so I could see over weeds at intersection but not so high I would have trouble getting in. She was perfect, though only rear wheel drive she did great in most conditions. Only tricky thing was traction while up hill if no momentum. Today I hit a patch of us while accelerating up hill and I fish tailed, wobbled and eventually hit the ditch that sent me end over end. What remains of my girl looks like major injuries should have occurred...nothing. The back end is in the back seat the hood crunched but the cab is fine and so am I. I had planned on keeping her forever. I was comfortable driving her at only 5' and was able to see, my 5'9" husband was also comfortable and not squished in."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Not a scratch on me

Fantastic vehicle

By on Thursday, January 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Trail manners power"

Cons: "Fuel use"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great on the trail, tons of upgrade parts and I can work on some things myself."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

front end damage engine runs needs work has noise

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,555

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "4 wheel works tires ,breaks,seats nice"

Cons: "engine has noice when starts grill damaged"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"has new head water pump radiator battery starter no heat or air tires good and brakes rest of body nice"

I live in the New England area, enough said!

By on Sunday, January 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent vehicle for winter conditions. Fun!!!"

Cons: "The ride is a little stiff."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Jeep and will never drive anything else. Have found myself on dirt roads that changed into barely a path with the huge rocks and some flooding like on the commercials and know where to turn around. Went through it all with no worries. I have bought all my vehicles second hand, never new. The Jeeps have my vote for excellence and no it does not ride like my Jag but we can`t have everything. PS My first Jeep was totaled by my son and the only injuries was two black eyes ( air bag) and bruising where the seat belt caused pressure."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best SUV

By on Monday, December 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,001

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "run great, looks, off road abilities, fun to drive"

Cons: "I'm stretching here, better gas mileage..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In my opinion, one of the best suv's money can buy. You see them everywhere and with the 6.0L motor they pretty much run forever. I don't see getting rid of her until something seriously goes wrong and even then.... have only had minor problems and once you own one you just learn to love the little quirks. Best SUV by far, new or old."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Amenities and Durable as Anything

By on Thursday, December 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Durable, straight 6 power & does bad weather gr8"

Cons: "leg room limited, gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Owned my '99 Sport since 2000. Paid 24K but worth it over the years. Haven;t had a car payment in a decade! Only complaints are limited leg room and 14-20 mpg gas mileage but i'm 6'3" and i deal with it just fine. Other than that, it's great - she's good & high so it clears over a foot of snow, which it chomps thru real easily, and handles really well in snow & even icy conditions. At least 5-6 mechanics have tried to buy it from me (not offering near what I'd ask) as well as other people, multiple people say they've seenothers w/200K plus and still running great, because it's the last straight 6, 4.0L Jeep that put in their vehicles. I snarl at, and won;t consider buying, 1 of those 2.4L put-puts. They shoul go back to the 4.0L It's "so" old it has a tape player & no cruise, but for my work & around town vehicle, with a little off-roading, it's the bomb."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Monday, December 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, easy to park,accomodates family of 4"

Cons: "a little small inside and isn't good on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had this car for 14 years and it has been great. I haven't had any major problems with it and it has taken me all the country and back. I pull a tent trailer with it and take it out to the desert 4 wheelin..and it is still very comfortable and rides like a car."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

i love my jeep

By on Wednesday, November 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive."

Cons: "low mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"honestly, best car i could ask for. mpg isnt too great but the power is extraordinary. mine is lifted and has 31's onit and does phenomenal in sand snow and mud!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

GREAT SUV

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I don't own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "DRIVING CONFORT"

Cons: "NOT MUCH REAR SEAT LEG ROOM."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"THE JEEP IS A VERY CAPABLE SU. TO GET MORE AND POWER, I PUT IN A TORNADO FUEL SAVER IN THE INTAKE HOSE, TI REALLY WORKS! I HAVW PUSH BACK IN YOUR SEAT POWER, WHEN NEEDED, I ALSO AM SAVING SOME FUEL!"

Reliable, strong motor, excellent towing.

By on Monday, November 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable, strong motor, excellent towing"

Cons: "Short, narrow wheel base-squirrely to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Has been a very reliable vehicle. Straight six motor is very strong and we have towed a tent trailer with no problmes. Only concern is short and narrow wheel base make this vehicle less stable to drive than others."

My Baby!!

By on Sunday, October 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "what's not to love?"

Cons: "What's not to love?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Loaded down with camping gear and family, headed to 2013 Wakarusa!

"Would not trade my baby for anything else..!! first time owning a jeep and loving every minute of it!! Great for hiway, off road, camping, travel, or work. (i am a LMT) She is cleaned and babied and responds well when i need her to. Yes i am very, very happy with my Jeep Cherokee Laredo! Recommend it to all people of all ages!"

Loaded down with camping gear and family, headed to 2013 Wakarusa!

very good suv,small,parks easy

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,674

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "starts up every time,gets 26mpg on highway,"

Cons: "back seat area is small,hard to get in"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"great vehicle,as im a dodge tech its a mopar,6cly.great engine,has asian trans,should last 3-4 hundred thousand miles,ice cold air,has custom camoflage head liner,overhead console and visors,howeer im read for a grand cherokee,im big person,cant seem to find a buyer,,,"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great SUV!

By on Thursday, August 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "size, quick, reliable"

Cons: "gas, dont make them anymore"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 4th vehicle and my favorite so far. I bought it with aprox 95k on th odo. Ive had it for about two months now and it just turned over 100K withought any problems. I have limited modle so it has all the goodies. I love how it isnt a huge suv, its the perfect size and the 4wd is amazing on this jeep. love the classic look to it and the feel of riding up a little higher then most people. I plan on keeping it until the engine goes ( figureing 300K) then hopefully rebuilding the engine. not the best on gas but a lot better then some suv's. I would buy another in a heartbeat!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very nice 4WD transportation

By on Sunday, August 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 202,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Powerful, Great look"

Cons: "None I can really think of!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has a great look overall, the 4.0L engine is powerful, 21 mpg consistently."

Best Jeep Ever.

By on Friday, August 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "4WD, fun to drive, extremely reliable!!"

Cons: "not very aero-dynamic, back seat is small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Jeep is the best jeep there is. Litterally. This vehicle has gotten me out of mud holes, stuck in sand on the beach, its just all around outstanding. Most jeeps are great vehicles. Unfortunantely, jeep doesnt make them like this anymore and there going fast. If you're looking at one and cant decide, BUY IT!!!!!"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Durable, reliabale with short comings, ie:....

By on Monday, August 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 238,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Vehicle well go on and on meaning the engine...."

Cons: "Short comings electric widows rear hatch...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"With short comings yet over all the most reliable vehicle I own thus far, this vehicle well go on and on with more then 238000 miles just well not end, ie: the short comings has to be the electric widows, rear hatch. The place I bought it from did not show any reconstructed title until I brought it too the body shop. The use vehicle I bought it from shown clean vehicle and they were the church owners here in the Valley but it has taken me and family many places we have not been."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

I love my jeep!

By on Sunday, August 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependability"

Cons: "low gas mieage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased it in 2010 with 204,000 miles on it for $1900. It has been the most reliable and dependable car that I have ever owned. The interior is all intact, nothing falling off or broken. The engine is sound and strong ( full synthetic oil ) is well worth the extra expense. This car still looks like new and runs like new too. I will reach 300,000 miles by the end of the year and will be driving it till it drops. if that's even possible."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This car goes and goes and goes without breakdowns

By on Sunday, July 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable to drive and ride in for hours."

Cons: "Air conditioning needs to be charged every year."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is the best for my job as a rural mail carrier. This is a car on a truck base. I beat it daily having 430 stops up and down the steep bluffs of the Mississippi River Valley during all weather conditions from sunny summer days to freezing rain and feet of snow in the winter. It just keeps on going and going! I do regular maintenance and most of my repairs have been standard..brakes, oil changes etc. My only fear is not being able to find a jeep with low mileage to use on my mail route in the future. Wish Jeep would bring back this little tough truck!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

It's a Jeep thing!

By on Monday, July 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Built to last"

Cons: "don't expect comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"First off, this is an off-road vehicle so expectation of comfort should go out the window. Next, fuel economy is terrible. Lastly, this is the last of the inline six engine design, 4.0's are build like a tank. Overall best capable vehicle I've ever owned, next to my wrangler though."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

BEST CAR EVER MADE

By on Friday, July 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was the first and only car I've ever owned. Bought it used 8 years ago with 85,000 miles on it and it drove as though it was brand new. Most reliable vehicle out there. Driven through floods, over a foot of snow and every type of weather imaginable never had a problem. Untouchable 4-Wheel drive, especially in blizzards when larger SUVs are in a ditch. Incredible pickup and awesome for long trips. Plan on driving this vehicle until it turns to dust. Wish they still made the Cherokee, nothing compares to it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great first car

By on Sunday, July 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 166,428

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great daily driver, good gas mileage, great towing"

Cons: "the back seat is small."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car the 4.0 is a beast and the fuel economy is NOT bad for a 4dr 4wd suv. It is very capable off road and will tow anything."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A real pity they stopped making the Jeep Cherokee

By on Saturday, July 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,989

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "engine has a lot of torque"

Cons: "could have used a better steering box"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The Jeep Cherokee is a simple vehicle with a quick peppy engine and transmission. They will go anywhere (ie up unplowed steep dirt roads). I have owned three of the Cherokees and they all were extremely reliable. Just regular maintenance like the oil and transmission fluid. You can put 300,000 miles on one easy. I did. They could have done a better design for the leaf springs. They all sag after about 125,000 miles. The steering is a bit sloppy- don't buy a new steering box- they are all the same. But overall the Jeep Cherokee is a really well made vehicle. Adequate cargo space, good visibility, and most importantly - they hold the road. Why did Chrysler to give up a sure thing?"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Haven't gotten stuck yet.

By on Monday, July 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "smaller suv"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Four feet of snow no problem, over 200k on original clutch with only basic maintenance."

Loved It

By on Monday, May 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Very Reliable"

Cons: "Gas Mileage, AC issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport used in 2003 with 36k miles (it was a lease). I drove approximately 50 miles a day 7 days a week for 7 years (mostly highway driving), for the last 2 years I've been city driving about 10 miles a day 5 days a week. Other than normal oil changes, brakes, etc. It gets on average 17-18 mpg combined hwy/city when in 4x4 mode it gets 12-13 mpg. FYI, owners manual says to use mid grade 89 gas in it and I always have, but that is a little more expensive these days as well. The only problems I have had with this are the air conditioner never worked right even after replacing all components (which I understand is a common problem in these). My dad put the wrong kind of antifreeze in it once and gunked up the system so I've had to replace the radiator twice, but that is not really Jeep's fault. A screw fell out of my steering wheel once which left it undrivable and the tow truck driver not believeing me (it was new years eve and I think he thought I was an idiot or drunk) proceeded to spin my wheel the whole way around breaking the thing that deploys the airbag (it was like a $300 dollar part). I was rear ended by a full size pick up truck going about 40 mph when I was stopped and the rear hatch, floor, and bumper needed to be replaced but I was uninjured, these things are like tanks. I take very very good care of my cars regular maintainence, replacing parts at the suggested time (before the break, you get the idea), it now has 168k miles on it and just started leaking oil from the rear seal (which means removing the transmission) and a little bit of transmission fluid. I wish they still made these because I would buy another one in a heartbeat I loved this car, but it is now time to part with it, and seeing as how I no longer need a 4x4 I'm downsizing for better gas mileage. and like I said other than the AC haven't really had any major issues. There have been 1 or 2 other minor issues I can't remember what, but I think that is to be expected with any older used car with higher miles."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 34 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals