Go

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 855 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 171 | Next

30 years of Jeeps

By on Tuesday, January 8, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have had them all, this year Cherokee or years close to it were in my opinion the best jeep ever made. I have owned all of them and have also owned other SUV but this one it both a true off road vehicle, great family hauler, third one I have owned and driven well over 200k, even with the lift kit and big tires I still get 20mpg while towing my boat. Worse mistake Daimler Chrysler ever made was discontinuing this model"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

a workhorse

By on Wednesday, December 19, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"this is a real workhorse' no problems-always ready to go recommend this to everyone great car a teenager/college kid gas mileage is better than expected"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sweet all-arounder

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"One of the best vehicles I've ever owned. It's nothing super fancy styling wise (but classic), but it does everyting well. Small enough to manuver in the city easily, and more off-road worthy than the new bling-bling SUV's of late. With a $100 aftermarket air intake my power went up a few ponies and MPG went from 18mpg hwy to 22mpg hwy (with a bike rack on top). Plenty of room and yet not too big. Great all around vehicle, Highly recommended."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Jeep 4 Life

By on Sunday, May 1, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 279,002

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, Good in BAD weather conditions, Tough"

Cons: "Gas Mileage!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this Jeep. The XJ models are one of the greatest Jeep came up with. It has the ever so reliable Bullet Proof Straight 6 engine that runs even when the Jeep looks like scrap on wheels. I have the Sport Trim and it is a BEAST on the highway. I race people all the time on the highway home from work and i either: completely dominate my opponent from the jump or can keep up very close behind them. If you have a Japanese commuter car or a Ford I wouldn't race a Jeep!! I also wouldn't recommend living too far from a gas station because these babies guzzle gas down faster than a person drinking water after spending weeks in a desert. Speaking of deserts these Jeeps would drive through one flawlessly. Sand, Dirt, Mud, Snow, Rain doesn't phase a Jeep the 4X4 works perfectly and they refuse to get stuck. But they still are susceptible to all forms of Ice so don't get too cocky. All in all Jeeps are the best. If you don't have one buy one today. Everyone needs at least one in their Driveway."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very good suv,small,parks easy

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,674

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "starts up every time,gets 26mpg on highway,"

Cons: "back seat area is small,hard to get in"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"great vehicle,as im a dodge tech its a mopar,6cly.great engine,has asian trans,should last 3-4 hundred thousand miles,ice cold air,has custom camoflage head liner,overhead console and visors,howeer im read for a grand cherokee,im big person,cant seem to find a buyer,,,"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 171 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement