Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 837 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 31 32 33 34 | Next

Great Car

By on Tuesday, August 07, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned my 2000 Cherokee Sport 4x4 for 7 years, bought it new in june 2000. I have put 176,500 miles on it and have never had a serious problem. Oil changes every 3500 miles, a couple drivetrain fluid changes, a new battery, two exhausts, three sets of tires and thats it. This is awesome, it simply wont die. Engine is still strong, transmission is getting a bit clunky. Overall, a great jeep, my only bad comment is gas mileage, but i knew this when i bought it, being only rated for 14/20 cty/hwy"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great rugged small suv

By on Monday, August 06, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"great off road and general utility, great in snow and bad weather. Very manuverable around town. not great highway car and not great on gas. most rugged suv in catagory."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Working Mule

By on Sunday, August 05, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"At first i did not like it, rough, moved from one side to the other on the road. Gas milage is fair about 19 miles to a gallon. Solid body, have not run it pass 75 miles an hour only to pass another auto. Use standard 4 wheel drive on wet raining weather. Will go just about anywhere, their is a road. Need to sell it, just need a newer car for comfort, jeeps just don't have this, I would buy another one and recommend it, buy one. This mule been in the family for over four years, might not sell, grand kids need somthing to try to tare up, not this mule, LOL."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 02, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

reliable

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"My a/c evaporater has a leak, which costs an estimated $1100 to fix. Apparently it is common repair item with jeeps. Other than that, this is a very reliable vehicle with good handling and is generally fun to drive. I wish Jeep still made the cheerokee; what a bad move to discontinue the line."

2000 Jeep Cherokee

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Great car - solid and dependable, like the way it sits up tall and easy to get in and out of .. back seat very cramped and small for adults, great for small children."

THE MOST DRUABLE VEHICLE I HAVE OWNED

By on Sunday, July 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"In 2001 I traded in my '96 Grand Cherokee Limited for this 2001 Cherokee Sport, ..new. The Grand Cherokee Limited AWD Drive train was not satisfactory for my need for a selective differential; so the part time 4WD in the Cherokee was more suitable to my rough service needs. 170,000 miles later, three sets of tires, three sets of brake pads (the original rear shoes lasted 165,000 miles), 34 synthetic oil changes @ 6qts each, one trans/fluid change, one battery, one radiator flush, 12 wiper blade replacements; here I am.... I average 23/24 mpg at highway speeds, 15/16 in city. I recently tried to replace it with a new SUV; but there was nothing on the new vehicle market (not even Jeep) that would come close to replacing it. I have decided to keep this vehicle and see how long it will continue to serve my needs. I intend to invest the money I would have spent on new car payments on a new satellite radio system, and gasoline at $3.25/gal."

19 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Very dependable

By on Sunday, July 29, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Have owned my 1999 Jeep Cherokee Classic for 7 1/2 years and not had a bit of trouble out of it. The most dependable vehicle I ever had. Still love it!"

Doesnt live up

By on Friday, July 27, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"I just bought a 2001 cherokee sport about 6 months ago. I thought i got a screamin deal 3 inch lift and only 58000 miles. Considering one of my buddies had a 91 and it simply would not die i figured i was in good luck. I have not drove it hard just to and from work and around town and two thousand miles later i have a blown head gasket and my oil pump is going out. now both things are cheap fixes but both can also lead to bigger things. i bought it under the impression that it would run for at least another hundred thousand miles"

Reliable

By on Friday, July 27, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I have about 60000 on my Jeep and the only problem is the AC went out about 45000 miles- bad evaparator I am told and it is an expensive repair. Great in bad weather. I hope I can get the engine to last over 100000."

best vehicle I ever owned

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I owned a 1996 Jeep Cherokee Sport. Loved it!!! Ran great, looked great. One evening my daughter and I were coming home from the movie theater and was struck on the drivers side by a Dodge Ram truck that had ran a flashing red light. My Jeep was totalled but I was O.K. Thank goodness for the Jeep frames!!! Well built hardy little vehicles. I made a huge mistake purchasing a used Saturn wagon because I couldn't find another Jeep like the one I owned in my area. But I will keep looking, and driving my horrible little wagon. I highly recommend the Jeep Cherokees (especially the Sport model). Too bad Jeep stopped making them. Big, big, mistake, Jeep."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awesome Vehicle

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I had a wrangler, and after starting my family, the cherokee is the next best thing to the wrangler. I love Jeep! They rock!"

1998 Cherokee Sport

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is my 3rd Cherokee. My son is still driving my last one. My only complaint with the '98 is the lack of storage in the front seat. My '89s were full of little storage areas. That said, I have heaped incredible abuse on these Jeeps, and they have never let me down. From mixing it up with taxis in NYC, to trails that an ATV would think twice about, these Cherokees will go anywhere. Other posts have mentioned the engine's reliability, and I agree. My office is next to a transmission shop. I see Grand Cherokees coming in on flatbeds all the time, but almost never see a Cherokee there. The owner tells me they have a different transmission, normally good for at least 300,000 miles."

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Jeep Owner

By on Friday, July 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"We own 3x Cherokees (1997-98-99) great investment-cars are low maintainance and great performers."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Looking for another

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned two Cherokees. I loved them both. Never had any problems. I had over 150,000 miles on both of them before I parted with them. I believe the 4.0 Inline six is one of the most bullet proof engines ever made. I am now in the process of finding another with low milage. They are getting harder and harder to find. I have driven newer SUV's and still keep coming back to old faithful. I think Jeep is even starting to regret the decision to stop production on the Cherokee. Even the Commander and the Grand Cherokee are starting to resemble the boxier Cherokee. (Good Move) They now look like a Jeep again! Great truck!"

Reliability

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought my 1997 Jeep at 72000 miles, now have around 145,000. Very dependable daily driver whether going to the family farm or to work. Jeep needs to start making this vehicle agian!"

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, July 17, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

anywhere......anytime

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love this Jeep, I wouldnt give it up for the world!!!!!! Its got enough room to go on vacations but small enough to tackle the tightest trails!!!!! Jeep should of never of phased this one out!!!!"

THE BEST LIL CAR

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"TOASTER ON WHEELS THIS 6 BANGER WILL LAST FOREVER"

Best of the Best

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best car ever in the offroading...it has the best engine, the I-6, which normally will last for 300,000 miles..."

best car i've ever owned

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"i've never had a single problem with this car. its very reliable, and suits many needs of mine. Ever since i got it i've seen more and more of these jeeps in awesome condition, if you take care of it, it won't let you down. I LOVE MY JEEP!"

Sweet all-arounder

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"One of the best vehicles I've ever owned. It's nothing super fancy styling wise (but classic), but it does everyting well. Small enough to manuver in the city easily, and more off-road worthy than the new bling-bling SUV's of late. With a $100 aftermarket air intake my power went up a few ponies and MPG went from 18mpg hwy to 22mpg hwy (with a bike rack on top). Plenty of room and yet not too big. Great all around vehicle, Highly recommended."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 31 32 33 34 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals