Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 810 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 162 | Next

front end damage engine runs needs work has noise

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,555

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "4 wheel works tires ,breaks,seats nice"

Cons: "engine has noice when starts grill damaged"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"has new head water pump radiator battery starter no heat or air tires good and brakes rest of body nice"

I live in the New England area, enough said!

By on Sunday, January 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent vehicle for winter conditions. Fun!!!"

Cons: "The ride is a little stiff."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Jeep and will never drive anything else. Have found myself on dirt roads that changed into barely a path with the huge rocks and some flooding like on the commercials and know where to turn around. Went through it all with no worries. I have bought all my vehicles second hand, never new. The Jeeps have my vote for excellence and no it does not ride like my Jag but we can`t have everything. PS My first Jeep was totaled by my son and the only injuries was two black eyes ( air bag) and bruising where the seat belt caused pressure."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best SUV

By on Monday, December 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,001

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "run great, looks, off road abilities, fun to drive"

Cons: "I'm stretching here, better gas mileage..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In my opinion, one of the best suv's money can buy. You see them everywhere and with the 6.0L motor they pretty much run forever. I don't see getting rid of her until something seriously goes wrong and even then.... have only had minor problems and once you own one you just learn to love the little quirks. Best SUV by far, new or old."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Amenities and Durable as Anything

By on Thursday, December 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Durable, straight 6 power & does bad weather gr8"

Cons: "leg room limited, gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Owned my '99 Sport since 2000. Paid 24K but worth it over the years. Haven;t had a car payment in a decade! Only complaints are limited leg room and 14-20 mpg gas mileage but i'm 6'3" and i deal with it just fine. Other than that, it's great - she's good & high so it clears over a foot of snow, which it chomps thru real easily, and handles really well in snow & even icy conditions. At least 5-6 mechanics have tried to buy it from me (not offering near what I'd ask) as well as other people, multiple people say they've seenothers w/200K plus and still running great, because it's the last straight 6, 4.0L Jeep that put in their vehicles. I snarl at, and won;t consider buying, 1 of those 2.4L put-puts. They shoul go back to the 4.0L It's "so" old it has a tape player & no cruise, but for my work & around town vehicle, with a little off-roading, it's the bomb."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Monday, December 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, easy to park,accomodates family of 4"

Cons: "a little small inside and isn't good on gas."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had this car for 14 years and it has been great. I haven't had any major problems with it and it has taken me all the country and back. I pull a tent trailer with it and take it out to the desert 4 wheelin..and it is still very comfortable and rides like a car."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 162 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals