Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 827 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 83 | Next

Kicks Butt

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun...reliable...a beast in snow or off road"

Cons: "drinks gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my first 2001 Cherokee new and drove it for 12 years...then went out and found another after the first finally died with 250K miles on it. These vehicles are very very reliable and the absolute BEST in the winter. In the summer I drive my current beast all over the farm and hasnt gotten stuck once. Only drawback? Low gas mileage. But small price to pay for the rest."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The most perfect vehicle ever constructed.

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 231,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent reliability, handling, and versatility."

Cons: "Overheats a bit too easily."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third Cherokee; I racked up 470000 miles on my first Jeep (replaced the engine at 238000) prior to selling it! The second was a 2 door 2x4 that we used as a spare vehicle, which also ran beautifully. This particular Jeep makes me feel like Queen of the Highway; it's powerful, nimble, easy to park (yes, that includes parallel parking), versatile, and has utterly classic lines. The only shortcoming of the Jeep Cherokee is that they like to overheat if you're idling in traffic on a hot day--10 or 15 minutes of just sitting, and you're done. Awesome vehicle!!!"

Great jeep for about anything

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Heated seats comfy power seats dependable"

Cons: "Rust, little squeaky belt should be fixed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Heated seats, power seats lots of room inside and even looks nice, it's got rust on the sides but not many cars this old are rust free, a couple more tune ups and it'll be just like new."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I've ever owned

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great Vehicle"

Very Dependable

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,488

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great 4WD vehicle, Classic Design"

Cons: "No Rear Cup Holders, Getting in the back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Orginal owner with 230K on the clock and still going. Still have the orginal clutch and get 21 mpg on the freeway. Have used it for towing a trailer and four wheel driving. The most reliable car I have owned. Stereo has had problems with CD's. If buying one look for oil leaks under the oil filter dripping on to the starter, the oil filter seals tend to leak and need replacing, should cost about $85 to have replaced. If you see a pool of grunge on the starter it will cause premature failure of the starter. I am on my 2nd starter. Other than the jack being a really bad design and the A/C these are great cars and fun to four wheel drive in."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The best car I ever owned! Love it!

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Strongly built, hi ground clearance."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, great design, perfect for camping with dog or friend. Strong car, easy for a good mechanic to take care of. High ground clearance (8 in.), great stability. Now 13 yrs. old and I have had it for 10 yrs. with no major problems. Have taken long 1200-mile trips, with cargo also on roof rack, delivered a newspaper route in it in L.A. on bad roads and private driveways in bad weather. All that you would want in an SUV!"

16 years and still going

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Love my Jeep! Reliable, fun, classic Jeep look. Original alternator finally quit in year 14 of ownership. At this stage, requires some TLC, but has some years left if you have a good mechanic to help. Not great on fuel, but engine still going strong."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best reliable car I've owned

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Loved this car! It has been reliable."

Best vehicle I've ever owned

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Low maintenance, great 4WD system."

Cons: "Rides like a cob! But it's a 4WD..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought Jeep used in 2003 with just under 30K. Still driving today with just under 200K. Sport model, 4L straight six engine, 5-speed tranny, 2-door. The only thing I've ever touched is the A/C compressor. Replaced 3 years ago. Other than that...nothing, nada, not a thing. Runs like a champ and does not use a drop of oil. Not bad on gas. With the manual tranny I get over 24 on the highway. I wish some car company would make another inexpensive, plain-jane, 4WD vehicle like the Jeep Cherokee. I would buy one in a heart beat. The"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

need tansmission

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "strong motor clean"

Cons: "transmission nerds replaced"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Motor runs make a good old beater needs tarinmission work"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 83 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details