Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1998 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 836 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 34 | Next

Love My Cherokee, But Must Sell!

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great condition!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Jeepers! This is a great Jeep Cherokee.

"Must sell my pride and joy! Great car that is in excellent condition; the vehicle has been kept clean and immaculate, and maintenance has always been kept current. The vehicle is great in any weather conditions, and is perfect in snow, or for driving up on the beach too! Drives like a Cherokee and this would make a great vehicle for anyone who loves the Jeep Cherokee or a high school/college student, wanting a super first vehicle with 4WD for any and all weather conditions, as well as space for hauling sports equipment to and from practice(s). Always driven with care, you will be able to tell immediately this this vehicle has many more adventures for the Cherokee enthusiast! As I said, I must sell the vehicle or I'd be keeping it for myself!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Jeepers! This is a great Jeep Cherokee.

Don't make them like this anymore. Great car.

By on Tuesday, September 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sporty drive, classy car"

Cons: "Rides like a truck which it is."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"we love the design and performance of this car."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love Jeep

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe, easy to drive/park, durable"

Cons: "oil leaks, electrical problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I fell in love with this the day I test drove it and bought it, I have had it for 8yrs. I always feel safe when I drive anywhere. 4WD is fantastic in the harsh NY winters."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

wicked pissah

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love slangin mud out on the back 40, ain't afraid of no trail. Take her huntin and fishin as much as I can. Always fires up, and does what I make her do. She don't complain, just needs normal tender love and care. Wouldn't trade her for nothin."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

well taking care of,oil changed every 3-4000 mil,

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "worth it guarantee"

Cons: "???????"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Hate to part with this vehicle but sometimes you just got to let go. I have always maintained it, oil changes every 3000, no chips,no dents, no rust,just want something newer."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great all around vehicle. Super in the snow"

Cons: "Could use a bit more leg room on the clutch side"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Too bad they discontinued this vehicle. It's probably one of the best models Jeep ever made. The engine is terrific. I bought it used with 62,000 mile. After owning it for over 13 yrs, I now have 192,000 mile. It'll last forever."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Owned for 12 years

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Awesome value, fun to drive, low maintenance"

Cons: "Not one... well maybe better gas mileage. lol"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my 99 Jeep Cherokee for 12 years with no major problems. I've replaced tires, battery, the basic wear and tear items but nothing major. This Jeep has been worth more than I paid for her. Blast to drive, handles well... one of my favorites ever. Time to trade her in, she's getting tired. Wish they still made them like her. I've owned a Wrangler and a Grand Cherokee but this one is my fav. Looking for another Jeep. Any suggestions??"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Drives better in snow than my 2012 F-250 Super dut

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun"

Cons: "I'm too tall"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"LOVE it in snow"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever!

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and great to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Jeep is my buddy; great car!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Kicks Butt

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun...reliable...a beast in snow or off road"

Cons: "drinks gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my first 2001 Cherokee new and drove it for 12 years...then went out and found another after the first finally died with 250K miles on it. These vehicles are very very reliable and the absolute BEST in the winter. In the summer I drive my current beast all over the farm and hasnt gotten stuck once. Only drawback? Low gas mileage. But small price to pay for the rest."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The most perfect vehicle ever constructed.

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 231,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent reliability, handling, and versatility."

Cons: "Overheats a bit too easily."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third Cherokee; I racked up 470000 miles on my first Jeep (replaced the engine at 238000) prior to selling it! The second was a 2 door 2x4 that we used as a spare vehicle, which also ran beautifully. This particular Jeep makes me feel like Queen of the Highway; it's powerful, nimble, easy to park (yes, that includes parallel parking), versatile, and has utterly classic lines. The only shortcoming of the Jeep Cherokee is that they like to overheat if you're idling in traffic on a hot day--10 or 15 minutes of just sitting, and you're done. Awesome vehicle!!!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great jeep for about anything

By on Monday, July 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Heated seats comfy power seats dependable"

Cons: "Rust, little squeaky belt should be fixed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Heated seats, power seats lots of room inside and even looks nice, it's got rust on the sides but not many cars this old are rust free, a couple more tune ups and it'll be just like new."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I've ever owned

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great Vehicle"

Very Dependable

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,488

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great 4WD vehicle, Classic Design"

Cons: "No Rear Cup Holders, Getting in the back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Orginal owner with 230K on the clock and still going. Still have the orginal clutch and get 21 mpg on the freeway. Have used it for towing a trailer and four wheel driving. The most reliable car I have owned. Stereo has had problems with CD's. If buying one look for oil leaks under the oil filter dripping on to the starter, the oil filter seals tend to leak and need replacing, should cost about $85 to have replaced. If you see a pool of grunge on the starter it will cause premature failure of the starter. I am on my 2nd starter. Other than the jack being a really bad design and the A/C these are great cars and fun to four wheel drive in."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The best car I ever owned! Love it!

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Strongly built, hi ground clearance."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, great design, perfect for camping with dog or friend. Strong car, easy for a good mechanic to take care of. High ground clearance (8 in.), great stability. Now 13 yrs. old and I have had it for 10 yrs. with no major problems. Have taken long 1200-mile trips, with cargo also on roof rack, delivered a newspaper route in it in L.A. on bad roads and private driveways in bad weather. All that you would want in an SUV!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

16 years and still going

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Love my Jeep! Reliable, fun, classic Jeep look. Original alternator finally quit in year 14 of ownership. At this stage, requires some TLC, but has some years left if you have a good mechanic to help. Not great on fuel, but engine still going strong."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best reliable car I've owned

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Loved this car! It has been reliable."

Best vehicle I've ever owned

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Low maintenance, great 4WD system."

Cons: "Rides like a cob! But it's a 4WD..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought Jeep used in 2003 with just under 30K. Still driving today with just under 200K. Sport model, 4L straight six engine, 5-speed tranny, 2-door. The only thing I've ever touched is the A/C compressor. Replaced 3 years ago. Other than that...nothing, nada, not a thing. Runs like a champ and does not use a drop of oil. Not bad on gas. With the manual tranny I get over 24 on the highway. I wish some car company would make another inexpensive, plain-jane, 4WD vehicle like the Jeep Cherokee. I would buy one in a heart beat. The"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

need tansmission

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
2/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "strong motor clean"

Cons: "transmission nerds replaced"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Motor runs make a good old beater needs tarinmission work"

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great car all around"

Cons: "heater is weak and gas mileage is not great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best vehicle i have had not the best for gas but a great car i love it and would buy another but i wont need too mine is wonderful i will drive it till the frame brakes which wont be no time soon because mine is rust free the heat is the only problem i have its not very strong for a heater but overall would not trade in this wonderful car...."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

my best vehical

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great in woods"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"tank"

This is the best vehicle I have ever owned by far.

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "dependable, great for moving stuff around"

Cons: "not great on gas, that's it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The main reason this vehicle has been so good for me has been the very low amount of repairs it has required over the life span of my ownership. I bought this vehicle when it had already seen 134k miles of use and have put another 70k on it with almost no money invested in upkeep. Had I been smarter about maintaining this vehicle I have no doubt that it would have lasted me another five yrs, as it is it is now on it's last legs due to bad ball joints rust and several small issues that would have been repairable had they been addressed in a timely fashion. All of the rust issues are more about the new england winters and not having washed it nearly often enough to fight the salt up here. Best rig for hauling stuff around town, not real great on mpg but good if you work locally."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Bulletproof drivetrain!

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"3 in our family, 260k,310k,465k, no drivetrain problems ever!That's why they discontinued this model!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Good engine but the rest falls apart.

By on Wednesday, May 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 182,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good engine, large cargo area, love the 4x4"

Cons: "Death wobble, electrical glitches, body rusts out."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"My jeep Cherokee was really reliable the first 5 years. At that mark it started going down hill. The driver window would go down and get stuck, passenger quit working. The rear differential had to be replaced at 5 AND 7 year mark. Year 7 the kickpanels started rusting. Despite treatment, they are non-existent at this point. In 2010 I hit a pothole and starting experiencing the "Death Wobble". Look it up. It's terrifying so we had the track bar replaced. This is apparently common especially on lifted Cherokee's. Mine has not been lifted and aside from driving through our yard, it has never been off roading. My headliner is falling down and the AC quit 3 years ago. That being said. It has a good engine that won't quit. My truck has got me through some pretty rough winters and kept me on the road when in 4 high. When young this truck is a cherry. I know she ain't new, I just wish the body was made as good as the engine. It's going to be hard to part with mine but I can't keep sinking money into her at this point. Much like a beloved horse with a broken leg, my jeep needs put down. I can't honestly recommend my 1999 Jeep to anyone with all her problems at this point. If she was new, it would be a different story."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I Have Owned, For This Area Perfect!

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 330,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I Have Owned This For 16 Yrs. Got It With 1,700 Miles On it. No Major Problums. Just Replacment of worn parts."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 34 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals