Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1997 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 841 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 85 | Next

good dependable ride

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, fun to drive"

Cons: "kind of small, not for a tall man."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It's been a real good car for a long time."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best 4x4 ever!

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Accident, sold for parts.

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun, never stuck, roomy"

Cons: "Gas mileage, rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my '98 Sport, 4.0L, 5-Speed in '00, it was a lease turn-in. My dad had a '90 until he traded that in on a '99 that he still owns. I loved my Cherokee, except for the inevitable rocker panel rust (consequence of Upstate NY winters). Only major repairs were radiator, heater core, clutch, and leaf springs. As long as you do proper maintenance these things will run forever. Tons of modifications are available. 200,000+ miles and it still runs like new, too bad the unibody got bent after losing it on black ice."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The best 4x4 EVER!!

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 272,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "best 4x4 ever hands down!!"

Cons: "gas mileage, stock stereo"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love my Jeep XJ Country! Never get stuck ANYWHERE in any weather, comfortable to drive in any conditions highway or city, not too large and cumbersome but roomy enough for 5 comfortably plus some gear. There are TONS of upgrades for everything from lift kits and bumpers/winches to interior/exterior styling galore. My only qualm is the gas mileage, but you don't buy this to commute to work or school...unless there's 3ft of snow on the road ;)"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

most reliable easy to repair long lasting great.

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "seems harsh to drive above 80mph"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I would recommend this car to anybody, and I am looking for another similar jeep now."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My Absolute Favorite Vehicle!

By on Monday, October 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Classic looks, reliable, lots of fun to drive!"

Cons: "They don't make 'em like this any more!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

And yes, I pulled right out easily in 4WD!

"I bought my 2000 Cherokee Classic in 2009, with 35k on the clock. Added red stripes on the sides and Wet Okole seat covers, otherwise she is completely stock. I now have 85k on her & she continues to drive like a dream. Totally reliable, never gives me any trouble. Fits me like a glove in the cockpit with the power seats (I'm 5' 3"), but is a little tight for my husband (good - I don't like how he drives her anyway). Classic, classic looks. Gets thru snow easily (& I live in Philly, where they NEVER plow). Drove her to CO & back once - no sweat, got 25mpg on the highway with cruise control on. No worries about the small back seat; I always have the seat down for my dogs. Lots of easily accessible storage space in the back when the seat is down. Has top of the line Infinity stereo with cassette & CD players; I recently updated the speakers & sound is great. Used to drive an '84, then '94 S-10 Blazer - loved 'em both, but the Jeep beats 'em by a mile. The new Cherokees are hideous! I will never sell my baby!!"

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

And yes, I pulled right out easily in 4WD!

Love My Cherokee, But Must Sell!

By on Monday, October 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great condition!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Jeepers! This is a great Jeep Cherokee.

"Must sell my pride and joy! Great car that is in excellent condition; the vehicle has been kept clean and immaculate, and maintenance has always been kept current. The vehicle is great in any weather conditions, and is perfect in snow, or for driving up on the beach too! Drives like a Cherokee and this would make a great vehicle for anyone who loves the Jeep Cherokee or a high school/college student, wanting a super first vehicle with 4WD for any and all weather conditions, as well as space for hauling sports equipment to and from practice(s). Always driven with care, you will be able to tell immediately this this vehicle has many more adventures for the Cherokee enthusiast! As I said, I must sell the vehicle or I'd be keeping it for myself!"

13 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Jeepers! This is a great Jeep Cherokee.

Don't make them like this anymore. Great car.

By on Tuesday, September 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sporty drive, classy car"

Cons: "Rides like a truck which it is."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"we love the design and performance of this car."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love Jeep

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe, easy to drive/park, durable"

Cons: "oil leaks, electrical problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I fell in love with this the day I test drove it and bought it, I have had it for 8yrs. I always feel safe when I drive anywhere. 4WD is fantastic in the harsh NY winters."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

wicked pissah

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love slangin mud out on the back 40, ain't afraid of no trail. Take her huntin and fishin as much as I can. Always fires up, and does what I make her do. She don't complain, just needs normal tender love and care. Wouldn't trade her for nothin."

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

well taking care of,oil changed every 3-4000 mil,

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "worth it guarantee"

Cons: "???????"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Hate to part with this vehicle but sometimes you just got to let go. I have always maintained it, oil changes every 3000, no chips,no dents, no rust,just want something newer."

13 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 85 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals