Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1997 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 846 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

'89 with 257k and going strong

By on Saturday, February 13, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought my '89 Laredo 4x4 new. Still my daily driver. Have newer toys, but they break. I always end up back in the Cherokee. Routine maintenance and new parts have averaged $57 per year over the last 21 years. It's never left me stranded. Rear end went out once in the mountains. Pulled the rear drive shaft, duct taped the transfer case hole, drove home as a front wheel drive. Hardest repair: Slave cylinder on the clutch took 2.5 hours. They made millions of these, so everything that wears out is in stock at the local auto parts store, and the parts are inexpensive. Only valid complaint is that the interior plastic stuff is breaking due to old age. Probably will be buried in this thing."

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned.

By on Wednesday, June 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Solid built engine, transmission, 4 wheel drive."

Cons: "Week factory rear springs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this Jeep after doing some research on my own. I knew the history on the car. The 4.0L I6 is one of the reliable engines every made! I own a rare 5 speed manual that is built strong but I know the automatic is just as reliable. I would recommend this Jeep to first time young drivers, or the weekend warrior."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Nothing better

By on Sunday, June 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive, reliable, lasts forever"

Cons: "low gas mileage, rides a bit rough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has been in my family since we bought it new in 1997. I've been driving it for for 7 years and I love it. I've used it for hauling equipment, towing a boat, and moving across the country. It rides a little rougher than most, but it is incredibly reliable. I'd never trade it for anything else. I've put some money into the brake system and other parts, but it's worth it. The engine should take me a long way yet and I plan on driving her until she dies. Hands down one of the best vehicles still on the road after 15 years. It's worth the extra money spent on gas to know your car will take you where you need to go."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great all around vehicle. Super in the snow"

Cons: "Could use a bit more leg room on the clutch side"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Too bad they discontinued this vehicle. It's probably one of the best models Jeep ever made. The engine is terrific. I bought it used with 62,000 mile. After owning it for over 13 yrs, I now have 192,000 mile. It'll last forever."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

The Last of the Real Jeeps

By on Monday, June 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "economical (other than gas), uncomplicated,"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 2nd Cherokee. I owned a '92 and now this '01. A few other cars I had in between just didn't live up to the value of the Cherokee. With a Jeep you know what you got and you know what you don't got. Simple and straightforward. Little fluff and a lot of tough stuff. There is no replacement in the current Jeep line up that takes the place of the Cherokee. A great vehicle that Detroit (Toledo) produced for many years that was a jewel they didn't truly realized."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals