Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 567 Ratings for the 1984 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 21 22 23 | Next

89 cherokee

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

"the vehicle is great. it has 213k miles on it and it doesnt burn a drop of oil. very powerful, great offroad, and a great overall vehicle. i give it a 9 out of10 not the prettiest but a great deal"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

keeps kicking

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have to say I have really used to its limits and it still keeps going. I have had in the past, fuel pump problems replaced 3 in about 3 years (thank god for the warranties). This is a strong vehcile that cruises at high speeds with no problems. Back seat is a nightmare getting the baby in and out of but never the less safe and reliable. The cherokee's would be a great car for your kids first car."

Great truck

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Have the 5 speed 2 door sport, its great off road. I haven't souped it up or any thing and it out performs similar Fords or GMs. I have had some problems with the hydrolic clutch, but other than that its a great truck. 187,000 miles and still going strong. Body is starting to rust up a bit, but pushes through the snow just fine."

GOOD JEEP

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"its a good truck overall the 4 wheel drive isnt as good as many other jeep's i have owned but very reliable myin is at 160,000 and still kicking."

Tough Little Jeep

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have had my 1991 Jeep for about 1 year, and it now has 180000 miles. It is a tired jeep, and needs some maintenance. The lifters are knocking which in turn threatens the cam shafts and together will cost about $700 to fix. I have heard this is a common problem in Jeeps. I still really enjoy my jeep though and the I6 is sweet. Great in snow and off road too."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Rock Solid U.S. SUV

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Have had two of them, ran 2nd one up to current 260,000+; still doesn't burn oil or leak fluids; tranny is fine. Always starts in Wisconsin winter, has Never Been in a garage. Has plenty of pep, even with a heavy load. Great Sound system, gas mileage considering size & weight is not laughable, 18-22 on highway. Handles very well, just need to respect weight, greater heigth than normal car. Good Wide Track too, tough to roll unless driving like a pin-head. Always has enough room for whatever I need to haul, which has been plenty and often and heavy; ie. 2-400 Lbs. + passengers. Would handle a load on trailer quite well, no doubt; my buddy has been using several jeeps with fishing boats no problem."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The Beast keeps truckin

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought the 92 basic Cherokee from a friend knowing it need some work. All new brake components, a junk yard rear end and a new V belt were installed. I use the Jeep mostly for work and running errands around the area. It never fails to start and gets fairly good gas mileage (17mpg without a tune up) even with the big six engine. During winter, slip into four high and the "Beast" will handle anything mother nature puts down on the road. The 4 wheel drive is like no other 4 wheel drive I've ever owned. Very strong pulling power. The downside is some road noise and sort of uncomfortable seats. But, I can live with that. All in all, it's a good, dependable SUV."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Long Term Love Affair

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 1989 Jeep Cherokee new. And 18 years and 316,000 miles later, I would not part with it. Original engine runs fine. 3000 mile oil changes through all the years. I replaced the radiator, alternator, muffler, window motors and vent windows which I got from a junk dealer. The hinge rusted out. Someone tried to steal it once, but couldn't break in using a screw driver to the door lock. Installed an alarm system. Regular maintenance most of these years. I converted the air to "new" freon system. Body still looks like new. Seats are the most comfortable I have ever found in a vehicle, including a Lexus. At 5'2'', I have slept in the back many times. That isn't too bad, but heck I'm getting older and can't handle that stuff anymore. Mechanics step out of the Jeep once behind the wheel. They see the mileage and say, "Wow." in disbelief. What new car could I buy and get a better longer term relationship?"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great Jeep

By on Friday, July 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Very nice Jeep and has been nothing but a fun little car. If you happen to be a car stereo fanatic like myself, this is a great car to add your own system to. Room in the rear for some great stereo customization, and runs great offroad. My Cherokee is running great at 160,000 miles. Love it."

I love my Jeep

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I am a big Jeep fan. I currently have a 1987 Jeep Cherokee Limited. It is lifted 6" sitting on 33" tires. It rides great for the suspension work that I have done and wouldnt ever think of selling it."

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Best Vehicle I have owned

By on Thursday, July 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought the Cherokee used in 1995 and it now has 248,000 and my son has it now for high school. This is the most reliable, durable vehicle I have owned. It was a perfect vehicle for me and my young family - especially during Wyoming winters. The back seat is not the most comfortable for adults but hey...."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

excellent

By on Saturday, July 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned this vehicle since 1995 and have only had to replace a water pump!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, July 12, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

It's a Jeep

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"146K and running great. A few nuisance issues - rear auto locks stopped working, door doesn't stay open anymore on hills, brake wear. But I would still have no hesitation taking it 100 miles offroad over slickrock, sand, or mud. The straight 6 will pull you over anything and in 4wd you are unstoppable. As a family car, it is a bit cramped, lots of road noise, and seems to struggle to maintain 75mph, but if you want a true offroad vehicle that can also pack a few kids, a cooler, and a mountain bike, this would be my first choice."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great jeep

By on Monday, July 09, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"good mileage even with the inline 6. drive in an hour to and from work. very powerful. Great all around vehicle."

By on Friday, July 06, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"good rig"

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 21 22 23 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details