Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 567 Ratings for the 1984 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next

Pleasantly surprised

By on Friday, April 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 201,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Doesn't attract car thieves."

Cons: "It's old. (A Pro?)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My first Jeep, bought 8 years ago with 117K miles on it. Now at 202K. Some people think I'm nuts for loving such an old car. Read the other posts - these thing do run forever. I'm thinking around 300K miles it might need some serious work. Maybe not. It's not a Cadillac. Choppy ride on rough roads and a little noisy. Drives/steers/handles great for a small SUV and I think the seats (front) are comfortable. Back seat is for kids or really short trips. On smooth highways it's fine. Four hours of bad Oklahoma highways will wear you out. GREAT engine/trans (4.0HO with auto). 2wd but put some weight in the back and it handles snow well. If you're thinking of buying one stay away from rusty/wrecked examples. Otherwise there shouldn't be much to worry about. More reliable than a tank and drives better. Oh: I have cupholders!! Looks like a ten dollar option mounted in front of the armrest over the e-brake."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

No major problems since I bought it new!

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Solid running, easy handling, pretty quiet inside"

Cons: ""Hard" jeep ride, rust under vehicle @150K"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the Cherokee when we started our family"

I'm 21 this is my 4th vehicle, and most reliable

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Great vehicle to work on i.e. lifting and such."

Cons: "No cup holders, not the best ride quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Old jeep but runs great 4wd must last forever! Not the best ride quality but most rugged, useful vehicle I have ever owned"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

love it in the winter and off road

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,900

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive, safe, reliable, rugged"

Cons: "gas guzzler, no fatory cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"its a blast to drive in the winter, drives well enough to be a year round vehicle, but poor gas milage makes it mostly a winter car for me. i love its off road ability even in fatory specs. i dont like that it has no cup holders and the fatory radio was garbage."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

needs cup holders

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"needs cup holders.. that's about it"

I actually own the yr.1990. one car i won't forget

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 166,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "light=fun to drive. American made tough little car"

Cons: "stick shift in stop and go traffic is a pain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"The styling is nice and rugged. It gets decent gas mileage for how old it is, but if you live in a super cold climate the car does not like it! haha. The steering is great for around town driving because it's so light and nimble. I've caught myself drifting sometimes if I didn't pay attention to the road that much because you can basically move a finger and you changed lanes. I definitely didn't enjoy the gear box around town because it's the same as the Wrangler and all the others...first gear is too low and second gear is too high to start from 0mph. But i would say that it's a great "starter" car for a young kid."

Jeep - An American tradition

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, goes anywhere, great wheeler, fast"

Cons: "15 - 17 MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic rig, this is my second Cherokee, Powerful engine built like a tank fast, maneuverable with a low center of gravity, easy to lift has 4x4 love this car!"

most reliable

By on Saturday, March 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "be careful don't let the dealer con you"

Cons: "stay alert the dealer will stick you"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best ever owned"

ive owned many jeeps there the best

By on Saturday, March 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "un stoppable"

Cons: "no cup holders!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have had many jeeps in the past and there is nothing like the old cherokees they run for ever and can take pretty much what ever you throw at them"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

i love this jeep

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "a safe well handling jeep that u can have fun in"

Cons: "bad on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is an amazing vehicle that i would drive for ever"

love my jeep

By on Tuesday, March 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable with 4wd"

Cons: "cupgolders usually dont exist"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"jeep cherokees r the best thing ever since sliced bread i wouldnt trade mine for anything"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Jeep Reliability all wrapped in fun!!

By on Tuesday, March 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable, 4x4 fun"

Cons: "No standard cup holders, not enough air vents"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

I Love my jeep!!

"OLD SCHOOL FUN!! I got my 1994 Cherokee sport 4x4 automatic so I didnt have to drive my 2005 mistang GT in the snowy months. WOW.. it is so much fun. Jeep is known for being rugged and fun, and this is no exception. A small oil leak, ( fixable) but hey its 18 years old.. rides smoother then expected, but still bumpy , but the seats are confortable, and it is fun to drive!! Car seats fit well in the back as well. Sound bar in the back on the roof is great too!! Never any major issues with this car. Reliable and tough is what you get! Throw your sports gear in back, and have fun!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I Love my jeep!!

best vehicle ive ever had

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "almost every thing about it"

Cons: "no cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i live in colorado and make frequent trips up and down the mountains.my jeep has never had a problem running up and down mountain roads. it runs great on the high ways as well as off road. the suspention is a bit hard but i have a towning suspention. i have had my jeep for over 60,000 miles and the only thing ive had to change is a water pump and heater core, for being 180,000 mile old thats very good for a vehicle, and parts for these vehicles are cheap and if you know a bit about vehicles you can fix these by your self.if you want a cheap reliable vehicle that will do every thing you want it to, buy a jeep cherokee, best vehicle ive ever owned.i wont ever own any thing eles this car has turned me into a jeep person for ever. there is so much i can say about the engine as well, great gas milage to power ratio. and the 4-wheel drive in these is great because its got a kind of "smart" 4-wheel drive in that it diverts torque to each wheel sepratly allowing the best tration possible. i think only the country sub model comes with it but its a great feature. over all i love my jeep."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good vehicle

By on Tuesday, February 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable, plenty of power."

Cons: "Gas mileage- lacks luxury"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my jeep. It is reliable, has plenty of power, handles great for an SUV, and this thing just won't quit. Easy to work on but I never have to do repairs. Just replace stuff for the sake of replacing it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very reliable car!

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Very reliable!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It had hail damage when I bought it. I think the previous owners replaced the windshield which made a lot of noise and it wasn't the most comfortable car I have ever had, but I kept it parked in the winter for 2 months and the day I finally did start it, it had been 20 degrees for 3 days and it started right up. Also the 4 wheel drive was easy to use and got me out of the snow a few times."

Best vehicle, I love it

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,022

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "No cupholders and no place to add a cup holder."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first Jeep and even though it has 161k miles, I love it."

Best value of any car I have owned.

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 242,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun machine to drive and a great toad for RV"

Cons: "No cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Economy could be better. Has good power, towing ability and fun off road even in stock setup. Great to tow behind RV."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Amazing Vehicle with Great Longevity

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome!!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

tough as nails

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "tough, strong, dependable"

Cons: "fuel economy (expected), no full size spare"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"these jeeps are great, they will keep running and running. the 4.0L is torquey and will take you anywhere you want to go, its also quite quick, youll surprise alot of ricers that pull up next to you at lights. only down side is it tends to go through water pumps every 60,000 miles or so, but if you learn to fix it yourself, its a <$100 repair."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Dependable and Long lasting

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable and long lasting"

Cons: "Gas mileage terrible"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has been the best vehicle I have ever owned, dependable and requires little maintanence. Purchased used in 1996 and have kept the oil changed between 3-6,000 mi. and only major repair to date has been the radiator. Would recommend Jeep hands down, would love to purchase another one but can't afford today's car prices, plan on driving this one till it can't go anymore. Would gladly trade my Mercedes for a Jeep Any Day! This Jeep has my heart forever!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Awesome Truck

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "4WD! Nav system! Fold-down seats!"

Cons: "Headlight defect :("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"6 cylinders=good on gas compared to other suv's n trucks"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most dependable vehicle I have ever owned!

By on Sunday, January 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable, flexible function, clear vision."

Cons: "Back seat entry/exit difficult."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 1995 Jeep Cherokee is great! It got me all the way home after I hit a deer when I was still 250 miles from home...the radiator had been punctured by the mounts, and I had to stop frequently to add water, but I was able to make it home...and then drive it another 20 miles the next day for a new radiator. I love the dependability!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable tough go anywhere vehicle

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 241,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Goes anywhere, good styling, cubby spaces inside"

Cons: "no cup holders, bucket seats are uncomfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our Jeep keeps on running with a current mileage of 241K. Goes anywhere, muddy roads, dirt roads, washed out rocky roads. Good in the high country at 10K elevation. Lots of space inside for cargo or dogs. Seats are uncomfortable and no cup holders included. Surprising how important that is when traveling. 4 wheel drive on the fly. Electric locks are wearing out and need TLC and lube but this is a great model from Jeep for those who go outside. Oil change every 3K and some replacement parts but this is expected."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Car Around!

By on Saturday, January 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,215

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Heavy-duty, dependable"

Cons: "MPG, not so great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in November, 1993. After driving it for over 18 years, it now has 215,200 miles on it. It has been very dependable, and I am so sad that they don't make them any longer. That's why I refuse to get rid of it!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I cannot say enough good things ...

By on Friday, January 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, cheap, cool factor"

Cons: "no cadillac, rides kind of rough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my older Jeep Cherokee, basic, simple, cheap, reliable, but it is a jeep. Not a suburban or a land cruiser. These older cherokees, not the grand cherokee, are awesome! my 20 year old cherokee has taken us across the contry and out of state many times, all withough issue, just change the oil, and be sure you got one that has been well maintained. Well worth the cost of having s JEEP shop look at it first to be sure you are getting a good one, jeeps that have not been maintained will tell a different story. They do not ride like a rolls royce, you are buying the bottom end lf the SUV market, and it drives like it. I put a 3" lift with new"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details