Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1996 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 569 Ratings for the 1984 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 112 113 114 | Next

GOOD JEEP

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"its a good truck overall the 4 wheel drive isnt as good as many other jeep's i have owned but very reliable myin is at 160,000 and still kicking."

Tough Little Jeep

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have had my 1991 Jeep for about 1 year, and it now has 180000 miles. It is a tired jeep, and needs some maintenance. The lifters are knocking which in turn threatens the cam shafts and together will cost about $700 to fix. I have heard this is a common problem in Jeeps. I still really enjoy my jeep though and the I6 is sweet. Great in snow and off road too."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Rock Solid U.S. SUV

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Have had two of them, ran 2nd one up to current 260,000+; still doesn't burn oil or leak fluids; tranny is fine. Always starts in Wisconsin winter, has Never Been in a garage. Has plenty of pep, even with a heavy load. Great Sound system, gas mileage considering size & weight is not laughable, 18-22 on highway. Handles very well, just need to respect weight, greater heigth than normal car. Good Wide Track too, tough to roll unless driving like a pin-head. Always has enough room for whatever I need to haul, which has been plenty and often and heavy; ie. 2-400 Lbs. + passengers. Would handle a load on trailer quite well, no doubt; my buddy has been using several jeeps with fishing boats no problem."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The Beast keeps truckin

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought the 92 basic Cherokee from a friend knowing it need some work. All new brake components, a junk yard rear end and a new V belt were installed. I use the Jeep mostly for work and running errands around the area. It never fails to start and gets fairly good gas mileage (17mpg without a tune up) even with the big six engine. During winter, slip into four high and the "Beast" will handle anything mother nature puts down on the road. The 4 wheel drive is like no other 4 wheel drive I've ever owned. Very strong pulling power. The downside is some road noise and sort of uncomfortable seats. But, I can live with that. All in all, it's a good, dependable SUV."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Long Term Love Affair

By on Saturday, July 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 1989 Jeep Cherokee new. And 18 years and 316,000 miles later, I would not part with it. Original engine runs fine. 3000 mile oil changes through all the years. I replaced the radiator, alternator, muffler, window motors and vent windows which I got from a junk dealer. The hinge rusted out. Someone tried to steal it once, but couldn't break in using a screw driver to the door lock. Installed an alarm system. Regular maintenance most of these years. I converted the air to "new" freon system. Body still looks like new. Seats are the most comfortable I have ever found in a vehicle, including a Lexus. At 5'2'', I have slept in the back many times. That isn't too bad, but heck I'm getting older and can't handle that stuff anymore. Mechanics step out of the Jeep once behind the wheel. They see the mileage and say, "Wow." in disbelief. What new car could I buy and get a better longer term relationship?"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 112 113 114 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals