Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1996 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 573 Ratings for the 1984 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

GREAT VEHICLE

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "RELIABLE,FUN TO DRIVE"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1995 JEEP XJ CHEROKEE. BOUGHT NEW IN NOV 1994, 5SPEED PLAIN JANE. 300,000 MILES. GOES ANY WHERE, ENGINE HAS AWSOME TORQUE.HAS BEEN MY DAILY DRIVER AND WEEKEND WARRIOR FOR OVER TWENTY YEARS. IF YOU CAN FIND ONE FOR SALE,BUY IT."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

tough as nails. Engine and drive train rate a 10

By on Sunday, February 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun to drive."

Cons: "not freeway raated!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car has been through my dentist, my niece, my nephew, my daughter and me and still runs like a top. Luxurious it is not but reliable as heck. Still goes and goes. Headliner is a pain, repair on the heater core is a poor access design. But an incredible value still and just won't quit."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

its a tank

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 360,994

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lot of power very good performance reliable"

Cons: "no cup holders and too much gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ive drove this vehicle for 13 years its affordable powerful and yet the best truck jeep has ever built it is sad that they stop making the xj it is a riliable truck and its a beast . it makes ford and chevy look weak. thanks to the amc 4.0 straight 6 i can transport people and pull stuff and its still running like a champ"

Most reliable vehicle I have ever owned

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Peppy,turns on a dime.great value for the price"

Cons: "Sport model has sparse interior."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a 1995 Cherokee Sport back in 1998. it had 30,000 miles on it.I have put 3000,00 more thousand on this vehicle.Still has original drive train including universal joints,original shocks and exhaust. original front end gear.I have only replaced wear items like brakes,starter and Alternator. Whenever someone tells me a cherokee is a cheap pice of junk ,I laugh,for I know better."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car i ever owned

By on Saturday, December 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Value"

Cons: "No cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned, easy to maintain and comfortable to drive."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very good for running errands.

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Oil leaks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The jeep has a fixable oil leak. Almost everything under the hood is new. I have all receipts."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

i love this thing

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"it is a sraight drive car and that is rare for the cherroke"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not a gas saver

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
5/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Car has a problem with engine noise and transmission does not shift to overdrive/it looks nice and clean has it for almost 15 years."

9 people out of 19 found this review helpful

many more miles to drive.many wish they owned it.

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 324,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "used 4wheel drive in last ice storm,awsome"

Cons: "no cup holders thats ok"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"everyone should own one.4.0 engines are the best.looking to buy severval modles if possible.I always pray seeking the right car for me.Bought jeep 6 years ago 198000 miles.Any car makes the trip to Alabama or to mountains,deserves to drive until the wheels fall off."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Ten years later

By on Sunday, February 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable, the 'Jeep' thing."

Cons: "Gas mileage, hot chicks don't care."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this in Texas with 115k miles on it. 2wd. It runs great, cruises the highway well for it's age. I'm not an off-roader. Switched to synthetic oil when I bought it and then had the rear main leak fixed. No problem since. All other mechanical issues have been basic and expected. Starter, alternator, water pump, brakes, a little front end work - all are normal for the mileage. Parts are easily available and not expensive. I don't do the work myself but labor has never been outrageous. It's not as pretty as when I bought it but still just as reliable. If you know a little about basic car maintenance it's a breeze. Properly aligned and with decent tires you can set the cruise control on 85. That's the upper limit of the speedometer. Gas mileage is not great. Payments and full coverage insurance on a new car would be prohibitive. I suppose I could buy a used economy car but I've come to know the Jeep too well. A basic sporty utility vehicle! It's pretty much bulletproof."

11 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals