Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1995 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 567 Ratings for the 1984 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 57 | Next

Love my jeep

By on Thursday, August 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Purchased mine for $800 and its still running"

Cons: "None of my gauges work- eh NBD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had a few fuel delivery issues but other than that suprisingly NO OVERHEATING issues- Rear main seal leak is a give in. DOES NOT SMOKE. I have launched our 16.5" boat at pineview reservoir and into rivers 2 years straight 3+ days a week and never had an issue. It does have hood spacers on it which help with the temp I am sure. 4-wheel drive used 2x living in northern utah that is surprising. Very evenly weighted- Good looking all around amazing vehicle. I would purchase this specific jeep for a child of mine if i had any. Amazing how many people trash talk it and how often they break down- any time i had an issue a little starter fluid and the issue was fixed."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best ever 274,000 miles

By on Wednesday, August 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 274,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "lomg running engine"

Cons: "bad electrical"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my Jeep for over 12 years. yes it started having the overheating issues as I saw earlier, but a new radiator will solve that. i have run this jeep almost dry, as my husband would put it, but it keeps on running! Did have a slow drain on the battery, but put in a battery kill switch to fix it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Suspension is poor

By on Tuesday, August 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "Some Torx bolts,Recall on Rotars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought it used for $300.00. People told me it kept over heating and did not know what was wrong. They ran it to hot and put a hair line crack in the block. I put some K W Block sealer in there and it runs great.Under side is rusty but hey I gotta a deal."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good Starter

By on Friday, July 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car...good starter"

Engine is awesome/ wiring and brakes are pitiful

By on Monday, June 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great engine."

Cons: "Terrible wiring/poor brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this vehicle new in October of 1994. Overall it has been a good vehicle. I can't say enough about the engine it is powerful and even with 211000 miles uses only about a half quart of oil between changes. The wiring harness however is terrible it is very poorly made. The brakes also are a disaster. If you are going to own an old Cherokee I suggest you learn to work on brakes."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

No new 4X4 on the market like it!

By on Saturday, June 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lasts forever, Super torque, Small wheelbase"

Cons: "no cupholder...but I just use a Kleenex Box!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE my 1996 jeep! I bought it with 86,000 miles on it 7 yrs ago and it still runs great! Yes, with any old car you have to give it a little love now and then...I've replaced the brake master cylinder, fuel sensor, water pump and other things mostly related to temperature and exhaust system. But there are no other 4X4's on the market that have the small wheelbase and high torque (steep hill climbs) and cargo space for my dog/gear. You can go straight up at 5mph, and the seats are comfortable driving around town. I love this Jeep so much I wrote to the company and swore I wouldn't buy another car until mine died or they started making them again! My smog check guy says he's seen one come in with 500,000 miles on it so with a little luck I'll have it for a few years!"

Dependable

By on Saturday, March 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 315,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Lasts forever"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very tough and dependable vehicle."

20 years still strong

By on Friday, November 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,260

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, fun to drive"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"own a 1992 Jeep Cherokee with 176k on the odometer. Routine maintenance..for it being 20 years old had to replace the following within this year: radiator, water pump, oil pan gasket, overhaul brake system, drive belt..runs strong, reliable..however, gas mileage is limited to 21 mpg on hwy going 55-60 mph..follow maintenance schedule and you will have a car for a very long time..i know of people who have way more miles that I have..so reliability speaks for itself..you cannot go wrong with the inline 6 engine..love this jeep."

16 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Incredible Vehicle!

By on Thursday, November 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Awesome to Drive"

Cons: "Could use more cupholders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"These are incredible trucks! I had mine for over 2 years before the frame rusted out. It has very quick acceleration, very responsive steering, and ample cargo capacity. This thing took everything I threw at it. Only had to replace the gas tank during the 2 years. Awesome in the snow, mud, rocks. Favorite car to date!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very nice for the money

By on Wednesday, October 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, Capable, Reliable, Practical, and Fun"

Cons: "Not the best mileage. (Approx. 13.5 combined avg.)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has been very reliable and is great off-road. It serves off-road duties as well as daily driver duties and has left me stranded zero times. It is comfortable, capable, reliable, and the interior is great considering it is a 90's Chrysler product. I bought it because it was cheap, and practical for my needs, and was thoroughly impressed!"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 57 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details