Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
Go

1994 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 569 Ratings for the 1984 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 114 | Next

Tough Stuff

By on Saturday, September 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Dependable and a strong runner"

Cons: "Fuel consumption"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 1995 and have driven this vehicle for 7 years now. I traded another vehicle for this one and have put nearly 100K miles on it since I got it. It has room for my family of 5 and decent cargo space in the back plus a luggage rack. I have driven this Jeep through large amounts of snow, bad storms and even a flood and it just keeps going. It's an extremely easy vehicle to work on and the parts are cheap and easy to find. I often have people approaching me asking if I'd be willing to sell it to which I reply...NO! I will drive it until it won't drive any more which is hopefully a long time from now."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love the Jeep Cherokee!!!!

By on Wednesday, September 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "4X4!!!!!"

Cons: "no cup holders, literally."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I'm only getting rid of my 1996 Jeep Cherokee Country because I need a newer car with much better gas mileage. However, even though this was my first car, I LOVE IT! There's a certain pride in owning an off roading vehicle. It's a ton of fun to drive and even though it's not the best road vehicle it still gets the job done. I've done countless 500 mile trips in it and I'm over 6 ft 4 in tall but I've survived every trip! Every time I drive it I fall in love with it over and over again. There are so many cool things you can do to this model jeep but like I said I need a different car with better mileage (thanks to those 500 mile trips :/ ). Off roading opens up a whole new world of driving and I have my Jeep to thank for that. It's not a comfortable vehicle in any way... no cup holders, leaky body/doors/windows, it's quite noisy at high speed, a little small for me, everything's made out of cheap plastic (because it's meant to be replaced after you flood your Jeep in a river or whatever LOL), and it gets TERRIBLE gas mileage. I got like 11 city MAYBE 19 highway if I was good. Usually like 17 why. However... that 4.0 litre I6 HO is a little monster! It will be pulling and wanting more at like 90 mph but you can't give it any more because the speedo stops at 85 and you're already scared for your life! This is probably more a young person's car, mostly because it just isn't comfortable, but it sure is a blast!! :) In the year that I've owned the car I've put tens of thousands of miles on it, welded the door back on, dealt with it overheating in the desert, blasted through the dunes, driven through floods, and pretty much just had an amazing time with my first car. I love my Jeep."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my jeep

By on Thursday, August 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Purchased mine for $800 and its still running"

Cons: "None of my gauges work- eh NBD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had a few fuel delivery issues but other than that suprisingly NO OVERHEATING issues- Rear main seal leak is a give in. DOES NOT SMOKE. I have launched our 16.5" boat at pineview reservoir and into rivers 2 years straight 3+ days a week and never had an issue. It does have hood spacers on it which help with the temp I am sure. 4-wheel drive used 2x living in northern utah that is surprising. Very evenly weighted- Good looking all around amazing vehicle. I would purchase this specific jeep for a child of mine if i had any. Amazing how many people trash talk it and how often they break down- any time i had an issue a little starter fluid and the issue was fixed."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best ever 274,000 miles

By on Wednesday, August 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 274,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "lomg running engine"

Cons: "bad electrical"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my Jeep for over 12 years. yes it started having the overheating issues as I saw earlier, but a new radiator will solve that. i have run this jeep almost dry, as my husband would put it, but it keeps on running! Did have a slow drain on the battery, but put in a battery kill switch to fix it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Suspension is poor

By on Tuesday, August 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "Some Torx bolts,Recall on Rotars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought it used for $300.00. People told me it kept over heating and did not know what was wrong. They ran it to hot and put a hair line crack in the block. I put some K W Block sealer in there and it runs great.Under side is rusty but hey I gotta a deal."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 114 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals