Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1994 Jeep Cherokee

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 573 Ratings for the 1984 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next

GREAT VEHICLE

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "RELIABLE,FUN TO DRIVE"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1995 JEEP XJ CHEROKEE. BOUGHT NEW IN NOV 1994, 5SPEED PLAIN JANE. 300,000 MILES. GOES ANY WHERE, ENGINE HAS AWSOME TORQUE.HAS BEEN MY DAILY DRIVER AND WEEKEND WARRIOR FOR OVER TWENTY YEARS. IF YOU CAN FIND ONE FOR SALE,BUY IT."

1 person out of 6 found this review helpful

tough as nails. Engine and drive train rate a 10

By on Sunday, February 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun to drive."

Cons: "not freeway raated!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car has been through my dentist, my niece, my nephew, my daughter and me and still runs like a top. Luxurious it is not but reliable as heck. Still goes and goes. Headliner is a pain, repair on the heater core is a poor access design. But an incredible value still and just won't quit."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

its a tank

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 360,994

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lot of power very good performance reliable"

Cons: "no cup holders and too much gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ive drove this vehicle for 13 years its affordable powerful and yet the best truck jeep has ever built it is sad that they stop making the xj it is a riliable truck and its a beast . it makes ford and chevy look weak. thanks to the amc 4.0 straight 6 i can transport people and pull stuff and its still running like a champ"

Most reliable vehicle I have ever owned

By on Thursday, January 22, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Peppy,turns on a dime.great value for the price"

Cons: "Sport model has sparse interior."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a 1995 Cherokee Sport back in 1998. it had 30,000 miles on it.I have put 3000,00 more thousand on this vehicle.Still has original drive train including universal joints,original shocks and exhaust. original front end gear.I have only replaced wear items like brakes,starter and Alternator. Whenever someone tells me a cherokee is a cheap pice of junk ,I laugh,for I know better."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car i ever owned

By on Saturday, December 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Value"

Cons: "No cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned, easy to maintain and comfortable to drive."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very good for running errands.

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Oil leaks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The jeep has a fixable oil leak. Almost everything under the hood is new. I have all receipts."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

i love this thing

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"it is a sraight drive car and that is rare for the cherroke"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not a gas saver

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
5/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Car has a problem with engine noise and transmission does not shift to overdrive/it looks nice and clean has it for almost 15 years."

9 people out of 19 found this review helpful

many more miles to drive.many wish they owned it.

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 324,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "used 4wheel drive in last ice storm,awsome"

Cons: "no cup holders thats ok"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"everyone should own one.4.0 engines are the best.looking to buy severval modles if possible.I always pray seeking the right car for me.Bought jeep 6 years ago 198000 miles.Any car makes the trip to Alabama or to mountains,deserves to drive until the wheels fall off."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Ten years later

By on Sunday, February 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable, the 'Jeep' thing."

Cons: "Gas mileage, hot chicks don't care."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this in Texas with 115k miles on it. 2wd. It runs great, cruises the highway well for it's age. I'm not an off-roader. Switched to synthetic oil when I bought it and then had the rear main leak fixed. No problem since. All other mechanical issues have been basic and expected. Starter, alternator, water pump, brakes, a little front end work - all are normal for the mileage. Parts are easily available and not expensive. I don't do the work myself but labor has never been outrageous. It's not as pretty as when I bought it but still just as reliable. If you know a little about basic car maintenance it's a breeze. Properly aligned and with decent tires you can set the cruise control on 85. That's the upper limit of the speedometer. Gas mileage is not great. Payments and full coverage insurance on a new car would be prohibitive. I suppose I could buy a used economy car but I've come to know the Jeep too well. A basic sporty utility vehicle! It's pretty much bulletproof."

11 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Had three of them-this is my 3rd one!

By on Friday, November 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything it is meant to do but fun doing it"

Cons: "that i couldn't lift 2 of them any faster"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I will never let go of the love for my Jeeps. My first one was an 88 and I sold it for more then i bought it for. Should not have. Then I missed it so when I needed a car, I simply found another one. The second was an 89 and it had extremely high miles on it. Somewhere around 300000 and its still strong. I have been fixing it up to be a monster and meanwhile I stumbled onto another one, a 96 which is right where i wanted mine to be. It only has 106000 miles on it and it would cost me what I spent on the 96 to bring my 89 up to same point. I could not resist so I got it and now I sadly have to let the 89 go which is the most cleanest one I have ever seen. I have to pay the debt i created when i bought the 3rd. In my neighborhood there is a man who owns three of them also. I guess once you go jeep-you never let go! As for the looks and performance? 10 out of 10! mine all looked good and ran great! Snow was the most fun ever in my lifetime."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

The best Jeeps around

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, runs forever"

Cons: "no cup holders, slow heat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love love love my Jeep. It has plenty of power for every day driving and towing almost anything, albeit terrible gas mileage for both. It has a lot of character and I often hear "cool Jeep!" when people see it. The country version is definitely a must, the leather seats are nice gray (instead of the usual tan or black), the wheels have a different spoke pattern, and it just adds to the cool Jeep-y character. It's built like a tank, which is great for its safety ratings. I personally have been in 2 accidents in mine and it ate both of the other cars, while itself sustaining almost no damage. Everything that has ever needed to be fixed has been easily accessible and the parts readily available, which is definitely a plus for those of us who aren't exactly mechanics. In the country version there are air bags and a loud buzzer reminding you to wear your seat belt. It's held up great and has taken quite a few beatings while barely (if at all) compromising looks or mechanics. They're very easy to modify (mine has a lift, wider tires, new speakers, and a few other things). Definitely good for teenage or older drivers, as they have the total package for character, safety, and ease of maintenance."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

My only new vehicle

By on Friday, November 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Noisy in backseat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle new in May of 1993 and have driven it as my primary transportation all this time. It has consistently gotten 21/22 mpg. I enjoy driving it whether good or bad weather. It's only down side is that it is a bit noisy, especially for a passenger in the back seat. It has plenty of power, corners easily and is quite comfortable."

Beautiful Vehicle

By on Sunday, September 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 238,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Easy to work on. Fun to drive. Goes anywhere."

Cons: "No AC, cup holders, cruise control, or armrests."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

1993 Jeep Cherokee, 238000 miles, ascending a hill.

"I am the seventh owner of my 1993 Jeep Cherokee. I purchased it with 190,000 miles, and those miles had not been easy ones: previous owners had thrashed the car. It had even been in an accident while in the dealer's lot! In the past year, I have added to the miles, so it now stands at 238,000 miles. I have done routine maintenance... oil changes with Rotella T5 every 5,000 miles, coolant every fall, differential fluid every six months, replaced old hoses, and so on. I have done some "elective" work, just as a preventative measure, such as replacing the water pump, thermostat, thermostat housing (it was cracked), fan clutch, alternator, shock absorbers, IAC valve, wires, and plugs. Non-elective work I've had to do was replace the u-joints and ball joints in the front end (they were all original), and the carrier bearings went bad in the rear differential so I replaced that. I also had to replace the master brake cylinder, the front pads, rotors, calipers and brake lines. I have yet to replace the leaf springs, though that is on my list, as my passenger side spring is soggy toast. I can't vouch for previous owners, but I also take the thing off road pretty regularly and, while I try to take it easy out there, things still get jostled enough to break. Despite this, the thing has never left me stranded, and has never let me down. She's not the prettiest, and definitely not the most luxurious (no cup holders, no air conditioning, no power windows... I don't even have an armrest!), but she'll get you where you're going through just about anything. I don't have any plans to get rid of it, and fully intend to get my Jeep, rust and all, to a quarter million miles. Even if I have to get out and push."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1993 Jeep Cherokee, 238000 miles, ascending a hill.

Tough Stuff

By on Saturday, September 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Dependable and a strong runner"

Cons: "Fuel consumption"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 1995 and have driven this vehicle for 7 years now. I traded another vehicle for this one and have put nearly 100K miles on it since I got it. It has room for my family of 5 and decent cargo space in the back plus a luggage rack. I have driven this Jeep through large amounts of snow, bad storms and even a flood and it just keeps going. It's an extremely easy vehicle to work on and the parts are cheap and easy to find. I often have people approaching me asking if I'd be willing to sell it to which I reply...NO! I will drive it until it won't drive any more which is hopefully a long time from now."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love the Jeep Cherokee!!!!

By on Wednesday, September 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "4X4!!!!!"

Cons: "no cup holders, literally."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I'm only getting rid of my 1996 Jeep Cherokee Country because I need a newer car with much better gas mileage. However, even though this was my first car, I LOVE IT! There's a certain pride in owning an off roading vehicle. It's a ton of fun to drive and even though it's not the best road vehicle it still gets the job done. I've done countless 500 mile trips in it and I'm over 6 ft 4 in tall but I've survived every trip! Every time I drive it I fall in love with it over and over again. There are so many cool things you can do to this model jeep but like I said I need a different car with better mileage (thanks to those 500 mile trips :/ ). Off roading opens up a whole new world of driving and I have my Jeep to thank for that. It's not a comfortable vehicle in any way... no cup holders, leaky body/doors/windows, it's quite noisy at high speed, a little small for me, everything's made out of cheap plastic (because it's meant to be replaced after you flood your Jeep in a river or whatever LOL), and it gets TERRIBLE gas mileage. I got like 11 city MAYBE 19 highway if I was good. Usually like 17 why. However... that 4.0 litre I6 HO is a little monster! It will be pulling and wanting more at like 90 mph but you can't give it any more because the speedo stops at 85 and you're already scared for your life! This is probably more a young person's car, mostly because it just isn't comfortable, but it sure is a blast!! :) In the year that I've owned the car I've put tens of thousands of miles on it, welded the door back on, dealt with it overheating in the desert, blasted through the dunes, driven through floods, and pretty much just had an amazing time with my first car. I love my Jeep."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my jeep

By on Thursday, August 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Purchased mine for $800 and its still running"

Cons: "None of my gauges work- eh NBD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had a few fuel delivery issues but other than that suprisingly NO OVERHEATING issues- Rear main seal leak is a give in. DOES NOT SMOKE. I have launched our 16.5" boat at pineview reservoir and into rivers 2 years straight 3+ days a week and never had an issue. It does have hood spacers on it which help with the temp I am sure. 4-wheel drive used 2x living in northern utah that is surprising. Very evenly weighted- Good looking all around amazing vehicle. I would purchase this specific jeep for a child of mine if i had any. Amazing how many people trash talk it and how often they break down- any time i had an issue a little starter fluid and the issue was fixed."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best ever 274,000 miles

By on Wednesday, August 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 274,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "lomg running engine"

Cons: "bad electrical"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my Jeep for over 12 years. yes it started having the overheating issues as I saw earlier, but a new radiator will solve that. i have run this jeep almost dry, as my husband would put it, but it keeps on running! Did have a slow drain on the battery, but put in a battery kill switch to fix it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Suspension is poor

By on Tuesday, August 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "Some Torx bolts,Recall on Rotars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Bought it used for $300.00. People told me it kept over heating and did not know what was wrong. They ran it to hot and put a hair line crack in the block. I put some K W Block sealer in there and it runs great.Under side is rusty but hey I gotta a deal."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good Starter

By on Friday, July 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car...good starter"

Engine is awesome/ wiring and brakes are pitiful

By on Monday, June 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 211,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great engine."

Cons: "Terrible wiring/poor brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this vehicle new in October of 1994. Overall it has been a good vehicle. I can't say enough about the engine it is powerful and even with 211000 miles uses only about a half quart of oil between changes. The wiring harness however is terrible it is very poorly made. The brakes also are a disaster. If you are going to own an old Cherokee I suggest you learn to work on brakes."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

No new 4X4 on the market like it!

By on Saturday, June 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lasts forever, Super torque, Small wheelbase"

Cons: "no cupholder...but I just use a Kleenex Box!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I LOVE my 1996 jeep! I bought it with 86,000 miles on it 7 yrs ago and it still runs great! Yes, with any old car you have to give it a little love now and then...I've replaced the brake master cylinder, fuel sensor, water pump and other things mostly related to temperature and exhaust system. But there are no other 4X4's on the market that have the small wheelbase and high torque (steep hill climbs) and cargo space for my dog/gear. You can go straight up at 5mph, and the seats are comfortable driving around town. I love this Jeep so much I wrote to the company and swore I wouldn't buy another car until mine died or they started making them again! My smog check guy says he's seen one come in with 500,000 miles on it so with a little luck I'll have it for a few years!"

Dependable

By on Saturday, March 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 315,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Lasts forever"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very tough and dependable vehicle."

20 years still strong

By on Friday, November 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,260

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, fun to drive"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"own a 1992 Jeep Cherokee with 176k on the odometer. Routine maintenance..for it being 20 years old had to replace the following within this year: radiator, water pump, oil pan gasket, overhaul brake system, drive belt..runs strong, reliable..however, gas mileage is limited to 21 mpg on hwy going 55-60 mph..follow maintenance schedule and you will have a car for a very long time..i know of people who have way more miles that I have..so reliability speaks for itself..you cannot go wrong with the inline 6 engine..love this jeep."

17 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Incredible Vehicle!

By on Thursday, November 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Awesome to Drive"

Cons: "Could use more cupholders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"These are incredible trucks! I had mine for over 2 years before the frame rusted out. It has very quick acceleration, very responsive steering, and ample cargo capacity. This thing took everything I threw at it. Only had to replace the gas tank during the 2 years. Awesome in the snow, mud, rocks. Favorite car to date!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jeep Cherokee near Honolulu. See local deals