Go

1997 Jaguar XJ Series

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 35 Ratings for the 1995 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

Distinctively English

By on Tuesday, December 29, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Other than depreciation, it's a vehicle you can keep for a long time. Good performance, comfort, mpg, distinctive style and easy to care for. Always love its old/distinctive look. Wish its old look stays, just to be different from all the other cars. Super comfort for long haul. After initial a/c and front brake rotor repair under warranty, it's been trouble free at 45K miles."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Wonderful & Useful

By on Wednesday, August 04, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The gas mileage for this car is unbelievable for it's size, luxury and class. We average 29.8 highway driving over 10,000 and city driving 22+ depending on how "hot foot" we get through traffic...hehehehe..and this car can really move! It is fast, sure footed and interior quiet and quality IS second to none! Don't bother paying for another brand's supposed "higher" value and buy the the real deal...get the Jag. you will not regret it..this is our second and not our last!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

10! Fantastic car, 106,000 miles

By on Friday, August 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value for a luxury car"

Cons: "a bit pricy for the gas but not too bad"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this beauty for the last 2 years and I love it. Gas mileage is not great with the premium fuel to boot but the car is so beautiful, drives like a dream and has plenty of room in the back for my big family. My 6'8" father fits in the back seat as well as the front, a first for him. The Vanden Plas extras are noticeable with the fine interior and the lovely lines. We all love the little "grey poupon" pull out trays in the backseat attached to the back side of the driver and passenger seats. I love this car, compliments every day!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

my car is great and very reliable never had a prob

By on Saturday, September 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "very nice to drive no issues"

Cons: "yes it has holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very good reliable take it anywhere the car has new tires it needs a paint job the color is fading from the sun"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A really beautiful and classic car!

By on Tuesday, November 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Lacks all the tech of modern cars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car still turns heads. It's fun to drive (especially with the top down on a sunny day or warm evening). Upkeep belies the Jag reputation but, after 20 years and 125K miles there are things that have needed repair. AC, Small electrical repairs, nothing major. Time for a new ragtop which isn't cheap. Still, if you can find one that's been loved and kept up, this is a car you can always be proud to show up with and have fun driving. One thing, it isn't really designed for taller drivers."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Jaguar XJ Series near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement