Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1997 Isuzu Rodeo

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 155 Ratings for the 1991 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next

Good utility vehicle

By on Friday, September 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"All vehicles have their little issues... This SUV is not an exception, but it's common issues are very minor. With this year Rodeo, the most common issues include fuel sender unit failure (around $100 to have replaced; $20 for the part if you can swap it out yourself), and EGR issues (usually just need to clean the system out well, and it's very easy to do, but worst case, a new EGR valve is under $200 and resides on top of the engine- SUPER easy replacement). The EGR issues can usually be avoided by running 89 octane or better fuel and keeping the oil changed regularly. Also keep an eye on your PCV valve, and if it gets gunked up, replace it (a $10 part). Use of fuel system and air intake system cleaners also helps a great deal to keep the EGR system working smoothly. It is normal for this vehicle to consume oil (Isuzu claims consumption of 1 qt every 1000 miles is within spec), but this can be dramatically reduced by running a high-detergent oil such as Chevron Delo 400 or Shell Rotella 15/40 (I recommend the Delo 400, as it has a lower Parafin content). This SUV gets pretty good gas mileage for a 3.2L v6 with 190 hp, and plenty of torque for towing. Interior is quite spacious, and a well-designed dash and console. The ground clearance is awesome, and it handles pretty good too. After tuning her up a bit, the performance is really impressive for a vehicle of this weight (4170 lbs). I opted for the manual transmission because when you buy a used car with an automatic (especially Fords), you are really asking for trouble. Most people don't drive them or care for them properly, and I simply try to avoid AT's altogether after spending $3000 to rebuild the one in my old Toyota P/U. Other less common issues include wheel bearing problems (get them repacked when you replace your tires, or about every 20-30k miles and you will be trouble free here) and noisy AC units (mine works quiet and cold, though). All and all, this is a reliable rig with good performance and not a lot of issues. I would recommend this year make and model to anyone who is looking for a well-rounded utility vehicle under $5000. Thanks for reading, and good luck finding your new vehicle!"

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Isuzu Quality

By on Wednesday, October 03, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"I have a 1997 Rodeo that has been a great vehicle. Had some minor trouble like alternator problems, but nothing major. Mine has 140,000 and still runs good. The only negative thing I can say about it is that the motor makes a constant clicking noise and mechanics say it's very common with these vehicles. They don't really know what it is but it doesn't hurt performance or the motor. The other thing is that it uses oil, but I have no idea where. It doesn't leak any and it doesn't smoke any so I have no idea where it goes."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great vehicle!

By on Sunday, April 13, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Thus far, this has ben a great vehicle. Went from a 1988 Pathfinder that I put 200,000K on so I had high expectations. Have not been dissapointed at all. The one issue as has been mentioned by others is the clicking sound from the engine. One mechanic said it is the rocker bars and the engine would eventually need replaced. Took it to another guy and he said that was crazy- common problem for these vehicles. started running 5w30 in it and helped alot. Others have suggested running high detergent oil, like 15w40. Sluggish performance on mountain passes, etc. but still manages fine. Rear seat latch broke, but other than that, a great vehicle all around. Will likely keep for many years if the durability keeps up."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

14 years strong

By on Tuesday, November 23, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Comfortable ride. No mechanical problems. Great value for an SUV of this quality. Interior is still intact. Only negative is the lack of soda holder."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Rodeo is the way to go

By on Thursday, October 02, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I just have to review this vehicle, I have owned my '91 since it had 27 miles om it. I drove it off the showroom floor and never looked back. This truck now has 205,000 miles on it and I use it as a daily driver. I just made a 1,000 mile road trip to Florida(with the dog and loaded with goodies for the week). I had the spark plugs and wires changed and the differential changed prior to leaving(value casket too) and avergae an amazing 21.7 miles a gallon. If you have been paying attention to the gas shortage in the south, I really needed good fuel economy. My only complaint about this truck(and the newer ones too) is the driver's footbox. On longer trips when you use the gas pedal for extended times, you can get a nasty little cramp in you right upper thigh and buttocks. There just isn't a comfortable position to get into. But other than that nothing. After 200,000 miles I have had to replace the brakes, rotors, clutch, tires and a value cover casket. And that is it. I have done regular oil changes and I'm not a hot rod driver(but the wife is). I plan it keep this truck if for nothing else, Buddy Roe(the dog) like to go for rides in it. That way he has his own window."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Isuzu Rodeo near Honolulu. See local deals