Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2005 Infiniti G

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 865 Ratings for the 2003 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 173 | Next

Luxury MotorSports on a Budget

By on Thursday, July 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Excellent Acceleration/Premium Interior/Great Look"

Cons: "15-20MPG/Backseat a Little Small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

G35 Coupe 06, Mods: Halo LED Angel Eyes Headlights/TSW Racing Wheels/In-take K&N Hi-Flow/Z-Tube/Plenum Spacer

"I am a proud owner of a G35 2006 Coupe. If you're not an Infiniti G fan already, or you're looking to trade up from your Corolla S, and can afford it, the G35/G37 is basically a BMW M3 on a budget and larger body 350Z Nissan. Perfect balance between luxury and sports. Regarding the Coupe. Interior: It's an Infiniti so you can expect real leather interior, clock on the center controls, power everything and durability. It's not as nice as a true Audi or BMW but it gets close and totally MUCH better quality material than the 350Z. But the biggest win is that it has a back seat, which the Nissan Z lacks, although it's not a large backseat on the Coupe it's big enough to take couple friends for short rides (not roadtrips) or to use as extra trunk space, ideally perfect in every way for two people ofcourse. This larger interior makes it slightly heavier than the Z hence a tiny bit slower, but unless you're going to be drag racing every weekend you wont notice hardly any difference between everyday driving with the G35 to the 350Z. The G wins hands down in comfort & utility, but not on a track time. The premium Bose Sound system is also amazing. Engine Powertrain: The really important stuff! Under the hood the G35 is a 350Z minus a few tiny differences. Both cars share the same VQDE mid-ship engine platform, they are 3.5L V6 top performers (awarded best engine for 10yrs) despite a few minor differences on the intake and exhaust systems both cars are twins in essence. With a few bolt-on mods to the G35 you'll be faster than most V8s out there, and competition to stock Mustang GTs and you'll blow every other "equivelant" V6 out of the water.(Of the same year) Your independent suspension will also make you faster than the competition around turns and the minimal body roll/telescopic steering makes the G35 handle like a dream. Red-line is 7k rpms and the exhaust note is beautiful just how it comes from the factory, not overly loud but just right. It purs quietly like a cat when on idle, but ROARS like a lion when pushed to the limit. When it comes down to the nitty gritty the G35 is prob the best performing car for the money you put down, nothing of the same price will beat you. I've hit 155 without GPU computer mods, trust me when I say she's fast enough, and off-the-line she's no slow poke either, she's a solid 6.0 seconds flat 0-60 sprints and 15 sec quater miles basically on every street road (with good tires/Potenza RE-11). These are REAL STREET NUMBERS I personally tested multiple times, not magazine pro-driver/track times, so you know what to expect in the REAL WORLD. Summery Outcome: If you're looking for a perfect balance between sports/luxury/comfort/utility and dash of speed/acceleration the G35 gives it all! For the same price you'll be REALLY HARD PRESSED to find a better performer and you carry the stamp of Infiniti which gives you an edge on every turbo'ed Neon or Civic. This is by far the funnest car to drive I've ever owned and after getting used to it, nothing's quite the same anymore, you can only move up from here because it spoils you to everything else. Daily commutes are a joy inside the G. DOWNSIDE: The only shortcommings of the G35 is that you wish you had more! More speed, More Luxury, More Power, etc.. The G35 is not a racer/track car (although it almost is) but it can hang with the big dogs, if you want true sports emphasis get the 350Z, but you'll loose the luxury and utility of the G35. Also the G is Rear-Wheel Drive, not All-Wheel drive, so unless you got real nice tires you may spin when opening the full throtle from full stop or on turns. At least it's NOT a lame Front-Wheel Drive. FINAL NOTE: The best way to describe the G Coupe is to say it's the M3's coupe little brother, not quite as much luxury, not quite as much muscle but literally HALF the Price tag. The G35 is an athele (350Z) with a business suit on, poised/refiened/luxurious and ready to sprint if called upon."

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

G35 Coupe 06, Mods: Halo LED Angel Eyes Headlights/TSW Racing Wheels/In-take K&N Hi-Flow/Z-Tube/Plenum Spacer

In love with my car!

By on Saturday, August 08, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my G35 in July 2008 with 24 miles on it. Now has about 16K. I am totally in love with this car! She is fast, hot, fast, mine, fast and did I mention, fast?! Got premium, nav, and sport packages and have just added a factory spoiler for Francesca's birthday (that is her name). This was my first automatic after 20 years of driving stick and I still wanted to be able to have some control. When people are going too slow, I just tap my paddle shifters or bump the shifter and off I go! It is deceptive how smooth this car is at 80. You don't even realize it because the ride is so great. Fit and finish inside are terrific, gas mileage is acceptable (I have a lead foot, so I usually get about 18 in the city), and I have had no mechanical issues. Sound system is great and I love the I-Pod interface and ability to download my CDs to my car's hard drive. This is my 3rd Nissan product in a row. Keep your boring and overpriced Lexus, overpriced and finicky Beamers. Infiniti puts out a quality car that is more affordable and a terrific balance of sport and luxury. If I had a complaint, it would be the OEM tires are quick to wear and loud as they age. However, I knew going in that Bridgestone tires stink and that I would be replacing them sooner rather than later."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

2008 G35X Sport

By on Friday, April 03, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"How about a pratical review for the everyday driver: I bought my Infiniti 10 months ago and I am really pleased with the car. The 0-60 is nice, but the 80-xxx is better! Only gripe is delay between footplant and power boost, but manual downshift can quickly resolve. I drive 40 highway miles to and from work every day and I live in the city - overall average MPG is about 19. Gotta love all the music options as I am a big fan: am/fm, satellite radio, 6 disk cd changer, internal hard drive, iPod hookup, flash drive. No matter where the music comes from it comes in loud and clear with the fantastic Bose speaker system! I got to drive quite a bit in Midwest winter and the X did the trick. The only time I slid out was eiter intentional (parking lot drifts!!) or just because of my stone foot from stop. Smart key with proximity lock/unlock and push button start means the keys don't ever have to leave my pocket. Also, when I leave the key in my golf bag and shut them in the trunk, the trunk will automatically open reminding me what an idiot I was for attempting to lock my key in the trunk. Humbling to admit, but this has saved me more the once. Rear camera is perfect for street parking and is extremely reliable. Gotta mention the free valet service when maintenance is required. I work a lot so it is nice to have a driver deliver a car to my work, take mine in and have it back usually before the work day is done. All free of charge (minus the tip of course). A lot to mention, but all worth while and hopefully helpfull. Such a fun and pratical car and every time I walk toward it for another drive I still get excited!!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Excellent Sports Car

By on Sunday, March 15, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought a 2008 G35 Sport last year. I was considering an Audi A4/A6 or BMW 328/330 but after test driving all three I firmly decided on the Infiniti. While I am thrilled every time I get behind the wheel, I am here to be critical for the consumers. The only negative aspect about the car would be the handling during inclement weather. While no rear wheel drive sports car is created for driving in snow and ice, I've literally almost crashed 3 or 4 times in only an inch or two of snow. During the past winter of 2008, I've gotten stuck 3 times and had to be towed twice. Winter tires make a considerable difference but I have to rate it a 1 out of 5 during the winter season. Every other feature/detail of the vehicle has exceeded my expectations, most notably in the performance department. The acceleration, firm suspension, smooth and comforting ride and sleek design are just a few examples of Infiniti's appeal and excellence. The interior design and superior technology really sets the G35 apart from the German competitors, as well as the attractive pricing. This is an exceptional choice for an entry level sports car and I would highly recommend it others despite the lack of handling in the snow/ice. Overall I am extremely satisfied with the vehicle and would rate it a solid 9 out of 10."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

You Can't Go Wrong For The Money!

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned my 6MT sedan for four years and couldnt be happier with my decision over the BMW 3. I have had zero mechanical issues with the car. The Bose stereo is great. With the sport tuned suspension and the summer tires this car handles very well and the engine is magnificent. It seems to do what you ask effortlessly. The styling is average. It looks better from the side and the rear than it does from the front. The front is kind of bland looking. I am a bigger guy at 6'4" and the wrong side of 200lbs. but I find the car very comfortable. The road noise is a little higher than I would prefer. The only gripes I have are with the interior and the headlights. The door panels and rear view mirror are cheap and both have rattled since the day I got the car (especailly with the BOSE pumping). The headlights started to oxidize within a year of getting the car and the delear gave me some polish and told me that it was part of the routine maintenance which I think is rediculous. When the lights are polished the xenon lamps are great. The steering wheel controls are not illuminated which is very annoying at night. Overall, its the best car I have ever owned or spent any significant time in. I would buy another one in a second but I have no reason to give up the perfect example in my garage! If you are after a mechanically superb car this is the one (my buddies with 3 series concur)."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 173 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Infiniti G near Honolulu. See local deals