Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1996 Infiniti G

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 74 Ratings for the 1991 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next

Never got stuck with this car --very dependable--

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price dependable"

Cons: "no cup holders only in glove box"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very good car --handles well in snow and starts right up -"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Never got stuck with this car --very dependable--

By on Sunday, April 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price dependable"

Cons: "no cup holders only in glove box"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very good car --handles well in snow and starts right up -"

Car is in good condition

By on Monday, May 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,586

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "i love the car"

Cons: "no cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Car needs a converter and front bumper"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Strong little engine, perfect point a to b car"

Cons: "Not super comfy, no thrills vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Like any Honda,Nissan or Toyota, this thing almost runs better as it gets older."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Superb all-around package

By on Wednesday, November 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable, attractive"

Cons: "Low power-to-weight ratio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Mine is a 1995 G20t with a 5-speed manual. I'm the second owner. Bought it with about 45K miles on it and have been driving it for 12 years. Over these many years the problems have been relatively minor and occasional: power steering pump, valve cover gaskets, CV boot, a motor mount, a brake caliper,. Recently , I replaced the clutch. It's never let me down on the open road. Comfortable, quiet and relatively roomy for a car in this class, it has supportive bucket seats up front. All around visibility is excellent. Fit and finish are tops. My only reservation is that he car is somewhat underpowered. The 2 liter, DOHC engine is excellent (I get about 28 mpg around town), but the car is a bit heavy and that takes a toll on performance."

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, October 28, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, October 04, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Love this car

By on Wednesday, August 25, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've had this car since 1997 (2nd owner) and I still get 32MPG (on a manual trans). This is a great car with plenty of power and creature comforts. For the price, you would be hard pressed to get a luxury brand of this caliber."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ever!

By on Saturday, July 24, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Of all the vehicles I have owned, and their have been many, this is by far the best value, most reliable and simply the most fun to drive I have ever had. Rock solid in every way. If you can find a used G 20, buy it immediately."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Solid - performer w/good gas mileage

By on Monday, July 05, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"A little bit of a dog when it comes to acceleration - but what do you expect for a 2 liter w/manual. Has decent amenities. We bought it with about 100k miles on it almost 3 years ago and have put 30k more miles on it with no issues or repairs other than routine maintenance. A real good second car for commuting to work. Get about 30 mpg."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, May 25, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, May 02, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Last of the petrol cars

By on Monday, March 15, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've loved my car since I bought it at 3 years of age. It's a 1992 pearl white w/ manual trans, tan cloth interior, & moonroof. Added underdrive pullies & always use mobil 1 engine oil. 32MPG average, 42MPG highway. Being a car guy that I am. It's been a great car that never bores me & never needs fixing. I will probably keep it forever! The only new cars I like are the 100% electric drive cars. A Nissan leaf for the city & the G20 for the highway, brilliant."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Monday, January 11, 2010

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Best Car Ever

By on Wednesday, September 16, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"best most reliable car"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good solid affordable transportation

By on Wednesday, September 02, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've owned 4 infiniti's, 3 of them g20's. It simply is a marvelous piece of honest to god engineering and ghood thinking. The only thing it lacks is cup holders and a folding rear seat."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, August 08, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"my first car and loved it until the day i sold it. took me in style from east to west coast without moaning. very reliable until its old age, but always stylish, clean look. Unique too."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car i've owned

By on Thursday, June 18, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the perfect car for me. It looks good, and the g20t is very comfortable with its leather seats. The back seats fold down so it's good for carrying stuff too, and if you get the manual, it's not too slow either. Also mechanically it is a very sound car and repairs are fairly cheap and easy."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, June 07, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Our family drove this car for over 167K miles before we sold it. No major issues, went thru me & 2 teenagers! Very reliable and a great car. Only knock - no cupholder!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, May 23, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car- reliable and feels safe. Never had any troubles with it and each time I went to the mechanic they always commented that it would run 300K+ miles easily."

Best car ever

By on Saturday, April 18, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Original owner. Amazingly reliable. 133K miles and nothing major. Starter and motor mounts."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable Vehicle

By on Friday, April 10, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car has given me almost 200K miles without any major problems. Other than changing the oil, tires and brakes I have had almost no problems. I would recommend the manual transmission if I had to buy another one, but overall this is a great vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very reliable vehicle

By on Sunday, March 29, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Very dependable. Drives and runs like new. Bought it 6 years ago with 62K on it. Now has 133K. 30MPG. Changed radiator 3 years ago. No other problems."

Great car!

By on Sunday, March 29, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought mine with around 100K on it for $2200 and now have about 120K, Had to fix a few items that prev owner neglected but after that, it has been bullet proof. I put flipdown cuoholders in it and a sunroof deflector, this will take you anywhere. Tach gauge goes crazy(common), otherwise no issues. Fun to drive and handles great. More interesting to own than a Corolla or Civic!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car, Great value

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I am the second owner on my G20. It was 2 yrs old and had 20K miles when I bought it. I have owned and driven it for 11 years now and absolutely love it!!! I bought a new car a couple years ago, but at 13 yrs old and 135K miles the G20 is still my favorite car to drive. Althought it is not the most powerful car, it is still not a slug and the handling, responsiveness and general great driving feeling more than make up for lackluster acceleration. I have had several friends comment on what a great 'balance' the car has when driving it. Mine is a rare model with Manual transmission and CLOTH interior. I often haul my 60 lb dog to and from the lake in the car and the (beige) cloth cleans up very well. Nearly everyone who rides in, drives, or just sees the vehicle comments on how they can't believe it is 13 years old. The most major repair I have had to do is Brakes and rotors. It has stood up well to the hot summers and cold winters here in Nebraska. I average between 27-29mpg, and I have a really heavy foot. Infiniti's motto used to be, "Drive one and you'll understand". That is certainly true with the G20. In fact, I have found it to be true for every Infiniti I have ever driven."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Infiniti G near Honolulu. See local deals