Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Hyundai Veloster Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $21,544 - $22,063.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $23,110

Fair Purchase Price $21,804
Fair Market Range ($21,544 - $22,063)

Invoice $22,035
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.3
Out of 10

Based on 63 Ratings for the 2012 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.5/10
    Quality
    7.2/10
  • Reliability
    7.8/10
    Performance
    7.2/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 11 12 13 | Next

Save Yourself Headaches!

By on Tuesday, May 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,600

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Looks and Cargo area"

Cons: "Reliability and Service"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought this 2 months ago. Got 40-45 mpg's hwy the first 2 weeks. When suddenly the mpg's dropped to 32-35 mpg hwy and a watery/oily substance started leaking out of the tailpipes at the back of the vehicle. The leak is so bad it falls on my driveway and cakes/stains the tailpipes. After taking it in twice now, The dealer and Hyundai say this is a known/normal phenomenon to this vehicle. They have no current plans to work on this issue. It has also locked me in my car twice once the keys were removed from the ignition and the alarms were going off. So much for 10 yrs/100,000 miles..... If they say there is no problem or they can't find it; then they don't have to fix it! Please don't save your time and money!"

12 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Nice Car, Under Powered

By on Tuesday, May 01, 2012

I don't own this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "looks great inside and out, unique styling"

Cons: "lacking power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I have looked at this car several times and finally set up a test drive. I was in a fully loaded Veloster, yellow w/ yellow accents on the wheels and it was beautiful. As soon as I sat in the car I was impressed with the seating and options on the car. The price fully loaded was around 23K as opposed to close to 29k for an equally equipped Ford Focus. I liked everything about the car until I drove it. It was not bad to drive but it is severely under powered for it's weight. The engine is peppy a stand still but the little 1.6 liter engine will leave you frustrated 2 seconds after you're moving. Good news is the 2013 model will have a turbo option w/ about 200hp compared to the 138hp currently in the car. Bad news is, the turbo isn't free so the price mark up will about $2k. I liked the car but settled with a Kia Forte SX which I love, has all the options that the Veloster had (w/black leather seating stitched in red- the Veloster had cloth seats only), has the same warranty as the Veloster, but the Forte puts out about 175hp. My suggestion is: if you really want a Veloster, which is a nice car, wait for the turbo."

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

not what it appears

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "style, nice interior for the class, unique,"

Cons: "underpowered, mpg not 40 closer to 35"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"The cars style is awesome and the interior is very nice We bought the car for the 40 mpg and no matter how you drive it, you will not get it. The engine is the 1.6 out of the Accent. The 138 hp struggles to pull the 2600lb car especially between 1st and 2nd with numerous downshifts to pass most of the time all the way down to 4th on a 2 lane and even then,its a struggle. Please make sure when you test drive it, don't just test drive around the dealership like we did. Take it out on the interstate. This might open your eyes to the true nature of this car. Dont get blown away by tech goodies as the Bluelink telematics still has alot of bugs to it and Hyundai says its a work in progress. I will be going back to a Toyota next time"

37 people out of 49 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 11 12 13 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details