Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2012 Hyundai Veloster

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 71 Ratings for the 2012 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.7/10
    Quality
    7.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    7.4/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next

fun to drive

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "excellent gas mileage, priced right, fun to drive"

Cons: "no front passenger adjustable seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"fun to drive...YES. This car is sporty, zippy and great on gas. We get lots of looks when we pass. It's not overly ginger-bread with options. Just fun, easy to park. We get 35 to 38 mpg. depending on hills or traffic. The a/c and heater are tops and very comfortable. We wish the front passenger seat could be adjusted to raise higher since the sun visors don't really help. Other than that, no complaints."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Speed, Style, and Value

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Size, Fuel Efficiency, Style, Cargo, Speed, Radio,"

Cons: "Front bumber is a little low, BlueLink is sketchy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a 2013 Veloster Turbo Matte Black in November. Nearly every day I tell this car that I love it. It's easy to park, fast, nimble and comfortable and an absolute head-turner. The team at Fairfax Hyundai went above and beyond to make sure I was blissful, and still am. Tech Package- I love my back-up camera, great view, even in the rain. Panoramic sunroof is huge. Cons: The Bluelink is inconsistent and difficult to use (and I'm in the technology field). GPS is not user friendly."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Economic w/ loads of options

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Cheap to own, fun to drive, MPG-MPG-MPG!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had my Veloster for 2 weeks now and I love it. Great gas mileage (33 city/45+ hwy). Easy and fun to drive."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

would not buy again

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "no pleasure at all to drive"

Cons: "no comment"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I find the veloster to ride rough on any rood conditions due to the low profile tires.gas milage is not good and entering and exiting is kind of hard ,to short and low over head.also there is no spare tire that comes with the vehicle.bad move."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The worst car I've ever owned

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "looks alright"

Cons: "Unreliable, terrible driving dynamics, bad quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"In 30,000 miles I have had the following work done: Five new head units, Three new clutches, Two new rear brake assemblies, Two new steering wheels, Two new shift knobs, One new rear subframe, and One new transmission. The car is a squeaking, rattling mess. The driving dynamics are horrible - the back of the car kicks out if the road isn't smooth as glass, and the steering is numb and unresponsive. The brakes are mushy and the fluid boils easily. The dealerships are incompetent and routinely damage the car when it's in for service, which it often is. I have nothing good to say about this awful, awful car."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Dissappointing !

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Styling"

Cons: "It does not deliver on many counts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"It constantly has issues once you use turn by turn. After 2 months, it still thinks I want to continue my route !! The seats are thin and cheesy. The engine and gearbox are dogs ! Too slow and not enough power, the MPG is descent but at the expense of the long waits when you have to go thru the gearbox. I'm done !For the traffic feature ? That is terrible ! I now use my iPhone The suspension is very basic, meaning going over bad surfaces, you rattle your teeth and you feel that the tires lifted off the road a little bit. Blue Link is not very good. After a while I hated to use it. Because it is so inadequate"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

100 percent satisfied

By on Monday, January 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Image, economy, performance"

Cons: "No power seat or auto climate control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

White Lightning

"Great little car, sporty handling, economical to drive, over 30 mpg on regular gas. Has all the latest electronic toys and the glass top is very attractive. Every where I go, I get compliments on the looks. The third door and hatch makes it very convenient to access the rear space. The only thing left to make this the perfect sporty coupe is to put the 2.0L turbo under the hood."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

White Lightning

Best design in years

By on Wednesday, January 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great on gas, fun to drive, excellent features"

Cons: "voice recognition not so great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car 6 months ago. It was really hard to find! I was looking for a white ultimate package. Which took a few months to find. Ever since I've had the car I have had many compliments on the car. I haven't had any problems with the car. It's fun to drive, I love when the turbo kicks in and I am planning to do some minor modifications to improve the handling. This is my first turbo car and I am glad I went with Hyundai. I decided to do this because of the great warranty, and this is one of their best designed vehicles I've seen in years."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Car is perfect!

By on Wednesday, November 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Style, dual-clutch trans, gas mileage, 3-doors"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"15,000 miles/One year old. No problems - not one. One reviewer has rattles, mine is tight, no rattles, squeaks, etc. The dual-clutch is a manual auto-shift trans. It is not a normal slush-box, it feels different, i love it. Rain when opening the hatch? No problems with that. No blown speakers (stop turning the volume to 200 and they wont blow, it's not a Led Zepplin concert). Also, easily get 40mpg on freeways using the eco-button, AND the car is not slow. No problems merging on freeways, etc. It is not a drag-racer, it's a daily-driver geared toward fuel economy. Maybe I just got lucky and got a real good one, but in summary, this car has been perfect. I have no regrets and LOVE THIS CAR. 2013 Ironman Silver."

15 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Tuesday, November 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fuel efficient, fun, mean look"

Cons: "small rear head room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I have ever owned. The style package is perfect and it brought everything I wanted in the car. the transmission is smooth and its a fun car."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 8 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Veloster near Honolulu. See local deals