Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2012 Hyundai Veloster

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.4
Out of 10

Based on 66 Ratings for the 2012 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.6/10
    Quality
    7.3/10
  • Reliability
    7.9/10
    Performance
    7.2/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 12 13 14 | Next

Fun to drive and very economical...options pricey

By on Sunday, May 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,300

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun and an attention getter"

Cons: "Short on legs, but you know that going in."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Ran from Erie to Columbus with the air on...held around 72 mph. (except for construction) averaged 40.2 mpg. Also have a 04 Elantra with 106 thousand miles on it. Front brakes and plugs jn eight years."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Stylish, efficient, handles well and vey techy

By on Monday, May 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,300

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "sporty versatile and economical"

Cons: "visibility and low profile tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have the found my fully loaded Veloster fun to drive and fuel efficient. I am getting about 33 MPG overall and nearly 40 on the highway. I just finished a 1200 mile drive and averaged 39 mpg at ~75 mph average speed. I had no problem passing even going from 70 to 90 to acomplish the task with ease. My fully loaded V has the technology to find restaurants on the fly, while ziping in and out of traffic with ease. My plan is to give it the boys in a couple of years as a safe not to crazy sport coupe that I can track through the blue link."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

too much compromise

By on Wednesday, May 02, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,200

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "looks fantastic, great sunroof, catback exhaust"

Cons: "gear changes, check engine light always on"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"theres alot to love about the veloster. the styling is great and the interior is very nice and spacious but beyond that the veloster is nowhere near as good as its competitors. it is hopelessly underpowered but you trade power for fuel economy, only problem is you never get the fuel econmy they claim it can get. they say you can get up to 38-40 mpgs but no matter how you drive you won't get past 34 highway at best. whats worse than that is with the automatic the changes are brutal. in rush hour standstill traffic this car is very difficult to control and is very unpredictable. when changing into 2nd it lurches you forward and its extremely difficult to control in traffic jams. you can't ever feel like you can trust this car not to end up hitting whoever is in front of you. to live with it doesn't get much better. hyundai felt the need to make the check engine light come on for oil changes which is very annoying because you take it to them to change it which takes long enough, then they have to reset the car's computer to turn it off and make you wait another 45 minutes making an all day project out of something you should be able to do yourself in 15 minutes. also they say the gas cap sensor is very sensitive. i say the thing is just broken and your check engine light will always be on. the worst thing about buying this car is the unending list of compromises. hyundai did so many things the wrong way to make it just barely cheaper than its competitors and it completely ruins what looked like a promising car. you are compromising alot to own this car over one of its more expensive but better competitors and in the end you will find that its just worth it to pay a little bit more for the speed, comfort, and reliability of cars like the mini cooper, scion tC, or the cr-z. bottom line this car is fantastic to look at but terrible to drive. once the newness fades and you become accustomned to how it looks you will realize that you compromised too much and just overpayed big time for a hyundai accent with a better looking face and a faulty check engine light."

11 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Save Yourself Headaches!

By on Tuesday, May 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,600

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Looks and Cargo area"

Cons: "Reliability and Service"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Bought this 2 months ago. Got 40-45 mpg's hwy the first 2 weeks. When suddenly the mpg's dropped to 32-35 mpg hwy and a watery/oily substance started leaking out of the tailpipes at the back of the vehicle. The leak is so bad it falls on my driveway and cakes/stains the tailpipes. After taking it in twice now, The dealer and Hyundai say this is a known/normal phenomenon to this vehicle. They have no current plans to work on this issue. It has also locked me in my car twice once the keys were removed from the ignition and the alarms were going off. So much for 10 yrs/100,000 miles..... If they say there is no problem or they can't find it; then they don't have to fix it! Please don't save your time and money!"

12 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Nice Car, Under Powered

By on Tuesday, May 01, 2012

I don't own this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "looks great inside and out, unique styling"

Cons: "lacking power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I have looked at this car several times and finally set up a test drive. I was in a fully loaded Veloster, yellow w/ yellow accents on the wheels and it was beautiful. As soon as I sat in the car I was impressed with the seating and options on the car. The price fully loaded was around 23K as opposed to close to 29k for an equally equipped Ford Focus. I liked everything about the car until I drove it. It was not bad to drive but it is severely under powered for it's weight. The engine is peppy a stand still but the little 1.6 liter engine will leave you frustrated 2 seconds after you're moving. Good news is the 2013 model will have a turbo option w/ about 200hp compared to the 138hp currently in the car. Bad news is, the turbo isn't free so the price mark up will about $2k. I liked the car but settled with a Kia Forte SX which I love, has all the options that the Veloster had (w/black leather seating stitched in red- the Veloster had cloth seats only), has the same warranty as the Veloster, but the Forte puts out about 175hp. My suggestion is: if you really want a Veloster, which is a nice car, wait for the turbo."

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 12 13 14 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Veloster near Honolulu. See local deals