Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2009 Hyundai Tucson

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 341 Ratings for the 2005 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next

This car never dies

By on Sunday, February 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Practical, reliable."

Cons: "2005 has 17-21 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We're going on 150,000 and despite two rear-endings, a side-swipe and a crash due to someone running a stop sign... this car will not die and (after the body was fixed) has cost us nothing but tires, oil changes, wheel bearings (normal wear and tear), one belt (normal wear and tear) and brakes (normal wear and tear). If I were to make a note to the designers I would say please make it a bit wider (stuff three 13 yr old boys in the backseat that's your ideal width), a bit bigger trunk area (now stuff three hockey bags back there) and better gas mileage (keep up with demand). Necessary (options): heated seats and DVD player. This car has been ideal for the money we paid. When it finally does die (we're guessing another 100K miles) or we want better gas mileage (new tuscons have 31mpg) we'll buy another."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Love my Tucson

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Have had my '06 Tucson Limited V6 for 2.5 years and I absolutely love it. Had some door dings repaired and got a Kia Sportage as a rental for a few days. Made me love my Tucson even MORE. The engine power is great and the gas mileage is great; better than others that I've read in reviews. I get 21 and 24 mpg with 26K miles, but I have added fuel injector cleaner and I'm not a heavy accelerator; that may be helping. I haven't had a single mechanical problem at all. No air noise, CD player is great, great hauling ability--just like having a small truck!! My only disappointment is the leather--it is too stiff and the perforations in it collect crumbs when I eat in my car!! Checked on getting a new car and couldn't find the value with the amenities anywhere. All in all...great car and would definitely recommend it to friends."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I just bought a Tuscon Limited and so far I love it. Got Alpine Frost color and everyone thinks it is beautiful. The AC works great. In 100 degree weather, it only takes about a minute for the car to get cool. Outstanding value."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

All around great value

By on Tuesday, August 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "ride"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"At 77000 miles other than an air bag sensor recall this vehicle has been treated to only periodic maintenance. Replacement of oil filters, Tires and just recently brake pads."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Most enjoyable car I've ever owned - and reliable

By on Saturday, October 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Cheaper than comparable vehicles to buy."

Cons: "None to mention"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've had nearly no expenses outside normal scheduled maintenance and tire/battery replacement. This vehicle is enjoyable to drive, versitile for pleasure or utility use, and economical to operate. Overall, a real winner!!!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Good Value Right Car 4 me

By on Sunday, June 28, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had my 2007 Tucson since February 2008 and I use it mainly for a daily car and light off road. I got the manual 2wd and I couldn't be happier. Gas milage calmed after the 1200 mile break in and I get consistent 24-25 in town, but it is directly related to how I drive. You really can dial that in with a stick and if you rev it, you can see it in the gas bill. It isn't a sports car, so you shouldn't drive it like one. !st gear can get you out of what you need to and is a good granny gear too for off road. It handles the dirt roads of nevada well and having driven them in 4 bys the short wheel base and front wheel drive manual does me well. I ain't rock crwling so as long as you drive with your head attached, you can get to where you need to. ABS and ESC help on the slick and keep you where you need to be, rubber to road. Lots of room and adjustable to what I need. Great vehicle and great company. Honest value."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"This vehicle is graet if you have small children. It has the back seats that recline so on long trips you can lay the seats back and snooze. my car gets about 31 mpgs and that is both city and highway. there is only one complaint and that is the motor size it is a little small to be moving a mid- size SUV."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

UUMMM not sure anymore!!

By on Saturday, September 27, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

"I loved this car at first, bought the 2006. The first problem I had was with the cd player. CD's got stuck and had to bring it in for repair. The second problem was that the car would not start after turning on the ignition ( that happened twice) and just yesterday, while driving the car, it felt like it was going to cut off!!! WHAT?????????? come on now. 3rd, the light for check engine continues to come on. 4Th very poor on gas mileage. With gas prices the way they are, I might have to trade it in for something that gives more mpg."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Hard to find better than the Tucson

By on Sunday, March 02, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I leased the brand new '05 V6 GLS model 3 years ago, traded my Toyota 4Runner. Tucson's a more comfortable, smoother ride. Great seats, I feel refreshed after long drives. Been up and down both US coasts and many trips in between, various terrains. Completely reliable! Routine maintenance at dealerships in 4 states, no problems. Bought tires at 39k. That's it. Lease is almost up and I've been heavily car shopping, researching, test driving. I can't find anything to beat my Tucson! I want pre-owned. Rav4 seats are awful, louder road noise, no std side and rear airbags, plus Rav and the CRV are pricey. If you're looking for very good reliability ratings, recommended by professional reviewers, safety, adequate space, comfortable interior and design, decent price and gas mileage (the 4cyl), compared to all the rest of the makes out there, Tucson wins. Decided to buy it after the lease. Just wish the V6 gas mileage was better (16-23). Typical for V6 SUV's. Other than that, my research has resold me on my Tucson. Go for it."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have over 50,000 miles on my Tucson. Best value around. Had a minor low idle computer problem the local Hyundai guys weren't able to fix (local mechanic fixed us up ASAP under warranty), so I'm not real confident in the abilities of the dealers' service staffs. Weather stripping around the windshield was loose when purchased. Otherwise no problems with the vehicle. 4WD and ESP/traction control are outstanding. Best looking small SUV on the road."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Lovable,lovable,lovable

By on Friday, July 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought my 05 Tucson in 06 with 19000 miles on it. Now have 33000. It has seen two trips to Florida from Texas. Would not trade it for any US made car. I get 27 miles to the gallon on hiway...Great comfort, love the cruise, I'm 6 ft. and the wife is under 5 ft. both of us are comfortable behind the wheel. Acceleration is super. Have no complaints with the car. Very good at towing a trailer."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love it, love it, love it!

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Being a small woman, I was delighted to find a vehicle that fits my frame and my needs. This Tucson has a real sporty look and feel to it. What I really like is the fact that this car has some real get-up-and-go. I go across the Altamont pass into the SF Bay Area a lot and the Altamont can be a real bummer if your car lags on the hills. Even with the AC going, this car leaves most everyone else in the dust. I did have an 04, Santa Fe that I traded in for the Tucson. Loved that, too. If Hyundai keeps giving me such quality at such good prices, I'll never again own anything BUT a Hyundai."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Underpowered

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Although there are many plusses to the vehicle, the bottom line is that a 2.0 litre engine is not sufficient to power this car. It struggles up hills, and strains at highway speeds. The high RPM's keep milage poor dispite the small size. Mine gets about 20 mixing highway and some city. It has decent interior space, and even the 2 WD does very well in snow."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Biggest Disappointment Ever

By on Tuesday, December 09, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"I bought this car in 3/08 and have had it back to the dealership 6 times - 2 times I had to have it towed due to not starting at all and having the car stop in the middle of the road while I was driving. I almost was killed. Multiple problems with the stability control system, system check light on, vapor leak at gas cap(not my fault). The service people are giving me the run around each time I go in by saying they can't find anything wrong with it. I am now stuck with a car I can't trust and a loan I can't afford to pay off early to buy another car. The car is comfortable and looks sporty, drives nice when it starts. Is it too much to expect that a new car should have no problems at least for a couple of years? DO NOT BUY THIS CAR! PS - poor gas mileage for a small SUV"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

2006 Tucson

By on Tuesday, September 25, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought the vehicle right off the boat from the manufacturer, my wife worked for the corporate office. Great vehicle, not a single problem. Comfortable, plenty of room and love the heated seats on cold winter mornings. I have the V6 engine, and the mileage started out around the low 18's, but has since started to climb up to 19.2mpg. I think that the mileage could be a bit better, some is probably due to my driving habits, but not all. My wife has the Santa Fe, as I am 6' my head bumps the ceiling in her car, but in the Tucson I have plenty of headroom. I've always owned trucks, and I was surprised how much stuff I'm able to pack into the Tucson and the Santa Fe. Overall, I'm very satisfied with this vehicle."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Would recommend to anyone

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great SUV. Stylish, great features, excellent safty rating, roomy, reliable, and good on gas. What more can one ask for in a SUV. My family nd friends love it and wish they would have invested in a Tucson. Their payments are close to 500/mo and my are only 300/mo. (for a 2006). I still have the remaining warrenty which is 5yr/60,000miles. I bought it slighlty used (10K miles). Love it!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Extreamly reliabale, economical, roomy, stylish

By on Saturday, July 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "best value small suv, economical reliable,roomy"

Cons: "non"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehicle for 6 years now . Bought it when it had 12k miles. so far I had zero problems with it. Everything works like new, the car looks like new. No wear inside , even my wife drives my babies in it and she is very messy. It has a manual transmission and the clutch still shifts ok. Breaks are really good, abs on all wheels. Plenty of room in front and the rear seat. Rear seats fold down easy, I hauled a ton of stuff. Suspension is very good and has not" moved" the wrong way. The engine sounds like a bumble bee and has plenty of power with the 2.0 L ,5 speed manual. Very economical, runs with regular gas. I would not sub it for a V6 engine. You can not even change the spark plugs on a V6 unless you take down the collectors. Only desirable thing : It could have a 6th gear. The check engine light has not come on once. The only time was at 15k miles when it was due for a service check from the dealer. I turned it off and it never came back."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

i love this vehicle

By on Saturday, January 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive especially in the snow"

Cons: "gas mileage and some road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only compliant is gas mileage. I have kept the preventive maintance up on it and it hasn't failed me. I have the 4 wheel drive and has not had any issues in the snow. I would buy another one if I needed it!!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Loved this car

By on Wednesday, September 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Value, value, value."

Cons: "The auto shifting on the highway could be smoother"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my vehicle for 6 years and plan on trading it in for another one. You just can't beat the value for the money, especially when you consider how great the resale value is. You also can't beat the warranty. I've had minimal issues with this vehicle; only standard, minor repairs. I'd keep it a while longer but I want to start over with a new warranty, so I plan on trading it in for the 2013 model."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

No Problems AT ALL

By on Saturday, May 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,525

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Extremely reliable"

Cons: "MPG, market value for trade in."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this SUV since August 2008, it is now May 2012 and I have never had to repair a single thing on this car. I bought my Hyundai with 29,000 miles on it so I have put only 32000 and some change in miles on it myself and we are just at the point of having to buy new tires etc. I am trading it in now for a van because it is a bit small for familes with more than one child but I wish I could keep it forever. I have noticed that this brand is underrated when it comes to trade in value. I drive mostly within a 30 mile area. Grocery store, park, errands so the MPG don't really bother me since I fill up only once a month but if I was commuting everyday the gas mileage would hurt a lot. $52 to fill up and 21 MPG roughly "city"."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car for the money

By on Friday, April 22, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned and driven my 06 Tucson for four years. I have not had one single problem with it in that whole time. I did regular maintainence on it, bought new tires, changed wiper blades, headlights (talk about easy!!) and the usual filters and fluids. It has been the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. The only negative thing I can say is that it has more road noise than other cars I have driven, but it more than makes up for that with the great reliability and convenient configurable space. I am buying a new one."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Realiable - YES

By on Thursday, November 12, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Owned it since 12/2005, currently have 151,xxx miles very reliable runs great. Only complaints are that mpg are less than advertised and a "phantom" problem with the air conditioning that no one came seem to diagnose or fix. I read someone else seems to of had same problem where the A/C line would start to "freeze" up after running for about an hour and very little cold air would blow out. Plenty of freon and nothing blocking the drip line - what looks like "white smoke" and sometimes ice chips will also blow into cab from vents if turned up to high after A/C line is frozen. Other then the A/C car has been perfect."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good value for money.

By on Monday, December 15, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I wanted a compact SUV for a reasonable price. Its a GLS, 2 litre engine. This might not be the suv for those who need power but it serves its purspose for me. If you need great pickup, you could use manual shiftronics gear system where you can control the gear you are in. The feature I like is that you can fold all the seats to fit in any huge packages you want to move. mpg - btn 20-24 I like the rear wiper, the mp3 player with decent music. Reliable car and I havent clocked 21000 miles so far with no problems. (used since 2007) Cons - a little cabin noise at higher rpms. shocks are not that great. Snow - Dint get stuck in snow yet :)"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

rugged & comfortable

By on Sunday, February 03, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Extremely well made and a comfortable drive; feel very safe during this nasty Vermont winter, it eats up the worst roads without flinching....we took it out for a tortuous test drive in a field with ice and snow and just tore it up in 4WD. You can't beat the pricing for all the options you get. Because of the gas mileage, we only use the Tucson to commute during bad weather and now we look forward to snowy days because it's such a nice, safe ride."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

bought new, still runs like new, great purchase.

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great value great for long trips would buy again."

Cons: "22 mpg avg - oil ind has taken fun out of driving."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought this car for to and from work (70 miles round trip). outside of normal wear and tear items this vehicle did not need much. comfortable with a lot of usable space in front. easy to reach behind to put stuff in back seat or on flat floor. fold flat rear holds everything i ever needed. awesome dring position. would buy a similar vehicle today if one were available that gets 30 mpg. p.s. when built this good you almost don't need the five year warranty but i'll take it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Tucson near Honolulu. See local deals