Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1998 Hyundai Tiburon

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 95 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    7.8/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next

Good Sports Car

By on Saturday, March 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great in the wind, big trunk"

Cons: "not good in snow or ice, back not meant for tall"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"It is a great sports car for someone who doesn't need to worry about driving in the snow. It is low profile so it is hard to get through high snow and has no traction on icy roads. It often hydroplaned in rain more than any other car I have driven. It is a great little car for someone who doesn't need to carry around lots of people, especially if they are tall, or bigger. there are back seats that fit kids, but with the way the roof slants there is no head room for grown up to sit.The car has great get up and go, even with the air on full blast it just putters along."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best car I ever bought

By on Thursday, March 12, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned this car since November of 2001. Only problem I have ever had from it was replaced all wheel bearings(common problem with this model), a bad thermostat, and two window regulators(also another common problem). No engine problems, No transmission problems, I bought it when it was two years old w/ 25,000 miles on it, it now has 165,000+ and I don't plan on getting rid of it anytime soon. GREAT BUY."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fast little car and very fun to drive!

By on Thursday, November 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Extremely fun to drive! Love driving this car!"

Cons: "Not for tall people (over 6 feet)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This car has stunning control from accelerating fast, to sudden braking, to leaning into turns. I have enjoyed owning this car!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fun, wring it's neck, little car!

By on Friday, June 11, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"This car has been amazing to me. Great with tight turns, power is fine for its price, and looks sharp. I was a little bit off about the design of the vehicle at first, however i got used to it and learned to love it. If you're looking for a small, affordable, great on gas sports car... the Tiburon is for you."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

for the cost i have not been able to find a better

By on Friday, November 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "all around good car for the money"

Cons: "cup holder location not so good"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought this car used from a guy moving somewhere over seas i got it very cheap. i have owned this car for a year and have had no problems at all starts everyday runs great and if u wanna drive it hard its actually kinda sporty. i would recommend this car to anyone wanting a cheap reliable fun sporty car. also i forgot i average 33 mpg highway."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Tiburon near Honolulu. See local deals