Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Hyundai Sonata Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $22,501 - $23,358.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $25,110

Fair Purchase Price $22,930
Fair Market Range ($22,501 - $23,358)

Invoice $23,788
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.6 of 10

10/7.6

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 666 Ratings for the 2011 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next

Reliable Car with a Great Warranty & Price.

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Never a problem, they Honored Warranty."

Cons: "2015 Sonatas don't have navigation system only."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Would like to buy 2015 Sonata with a Navigation System only and not have to pay for the package which includes the Sunroof which I don't want."

Great Value

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Styling, Comfort, Economy, Speed and Handling"

Cons: "Ride could be better. A bit jittery at times."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very pleased with my Sonata. A great combination of style, comfort and sport. This is the third Hyundai product I have owned and all were very satisfying. I have never had to do anything other than routine maintenance. The only area that needs attention is ride quality. Could be a bit smoother. My Kia Sorento was the worst ride. A great alternative to Toyota, Honda and Nissan."

Definitely worth it!

By on Saturday, November 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "sleek, looks nice, great features"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Aside from the warranty and the service Hyundai provides, I really enjoy the look and feel of this vehicle. It's very comfortable and roomy and has a more luxurious feel to it. The touch screen inside definitely adds a nice touch. The side panels where the airbags are stored has separated a couple of times, but Hyundai fixed that right up! Their warranty and service is unmatched."

Great vehicle

By on Saturday, November 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is very clean and in great running condition. Tires are good and I also have snow tires if wanted."

Great Wife's Car

By on Thursday, November 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Style, Driveability, Great mileage"

Cons: "No pwr passenger seat or memory"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Sharp looking and quick w/ the 274 hp turbo 4-cyl engine. Gas mileage is great 36+ on the hways @75 mph. Am currently working on replacing it w/ 2015 Sonata Limited 2.0T engine. The 2015 has everything the 2011 is missing -- Blindside alert, interactive cruise control, 8" screen, Pwr passenger seat w/memory, panarama roof, etc. Also I just purchased a 2014 Santa Fe Sport 2.0T. Has about everything and great gas mileage too! Love that 2.0T engine! Who needs a hybrid?"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car, great price

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Took a gamble on Hyundai after many Hondas, and was not disappointed. Reliable, safe, enjoyable to drive, and has stood up to a lot of wear, tear, and trips."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very comfortable car to drive in/out of town.

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Like lithium battery warranty."

Cons: "No complaint."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Most adequate compared to gas only cars."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love my car

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Absolutely satisfied"

Great Car with few drawbacks

By on Wednesday, November 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Styling. Gas Mileage. Value."

Cons: "Road Noise. Front Passenger Seat Low."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for 26 months and have put just over 21,000 miles on it. There are a number of great things to mention that include styling, comfort, extreme value for the price. Handling was great. Had zero maintenance issues. No tires, brakes or anything in just over 2 years (as would be expected). I can think of 3 drawbacks that were both corrected in the 2015 model. Road noise is fair (i.e. more than wanted). The noise is better than smaller models but still a bit much. Road feel... Bumps aren't smoothed out very well. Better than some but needs improvement. Last thing is that the front passenger seat is too low with no option of raising it. My wife didn't like riding in the front passenger seat in this car because she felt like she was sitting on the floor. Other than those things, this was a great car. We got about 25-25 MPG in town and about 32 MPG on the freeway. I totaled the car a few days ago (T-Boned a car that ran a red light). Everyone walked away safe. The front of the car crumpled as designed and the airbags all deployed keeping all passengers reasonably safe."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Nice car

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best Features in the class"

Cons: "Noisy driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Nice car"

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

This has been a great car.

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good price and drives nice in town and highway"

Cons: "not all wheel drive which is nice in our area"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been a great car. Never any mechanical issues. drives nice on the highway, go power, but also good gas mileage. Roomy interior, gauges are easy to see. Nice radio and cd player. The only issue we had was that the tires are only rated for 25,000 miles"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Vehicle is most enjoyable; very stylish & eco.

By on Sunday, November 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Ride, performance, comfort inside and handling."

Cons: "Road transfer sound noisy. No mute pad :-("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have been very pleased & fuel milage is as stated @ purchase. Cruising speed (interstate) is 70mph AND performance is best there (best fuel mileage too (36-38mpg). I'm a senior and only operator; car kept maint. updated and kept in garage. Just prefer a smaller car; the Elantra is my preference."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great value

By on Saturday, November 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great mileage, great car."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

55,000 miles. Not a single issue with the car.

By on Tuesday, November 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Just a great all around solid value for the money"

Cons: "back seats not that confortable for long trip"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Drives great. Good mileage: approx. 26-28 miles per gallon. GPS works great. I added auto sun/moon roof...love it. I would buy another Hyundai product."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great highway

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "better gas mileage. I get 34/30 summer/winter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Really a great vehicle. I drive highway 120 miles per day for my job. I'm already at 48,000 miles and have had no major wear and tear on the vehicle. I've had to replace the tires once. There was one part recall but it was nothing that really affected my vehicle. I find it comfortable but my significant other does not."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best of the best sonata gls 2.4

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price,fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The handling is perfect i like sensitive steering wheel make you more professional.The engine 195 hp perfect for a busy freeway everyday and gas mileage 39 to 45 miles/gal just perfect. Not to fast ,not to slow.Good job HYUNDIA.The 2015 sonata pls put it back the horsepower or make it even 200hp w/ the same gas mileage coz it feels boring the 175hp.Im not fun of turbo, maintenance wise.Im looking forward for a 200+hp, same gas mileage 39 to 45."

10 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle for your value

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "See body of review."

Cons: "Drivers seat needs better support"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have no complains about my 2013 Hyundai Sonata that I bought new back then. I've had it for two years exactly and have put over 30,000 miles each year. I've been lucky to only have to do my typical oil changes every 3,000 miles which seems often (monthly) because I love driving the car due to the fairly good gas mileage. I use to own a Dodge Ram 2500 pickup truck that got 11 MPG so this was quite a relief from that. The 2013 Sonata typically gets about 28 MPG on the Highway which I got to say is pretty good since I'm always doing around 80 MPH. It has about 200 HP which is also pretty decent for a 2.5L 4 cyl. I would definitely purchase another Sonata.Pros: Spacious for larger passengers, Trunk space is huge, decent gas mileage (with schedule maintenance's), car is affordable, 100k maintenance package included (Who else offers that in a comparable market?), XM satellite radio, BlueLink (awesome ideas built in.. Unlock you car from your smart phone app... if you want to purchase this car for your teenager then you can track speeds and be notified of locations). Cons: Blue book value of this car depreciates quite a bit. Also the drivers seat needs to be more supportive as this is the seat that is always used. After two years seat is not as comfortable as it use to be."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Dependable, beautiful, compliments all the time

By on Sunday, October 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power when I need it along with decent gas mileage"

Cons: "I wish it got better than 36 MPG but I have power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a very long commute. This car allows me to make that drive comfortable and the car is very dependable. At 38,000 miles now I have had NO problems whatsoever. I love it when people ask me about the car and they complement how beautiful it is."

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Love the MPG..told 36 to 42 I average 41.2

By on Saturday, October 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Great Price."

Cons: "Wheel noise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car runs great. I also love the Blue Link in the vehicle. The value is nice for what you get. The design is sporty."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Hyundai's are still JUNK

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Terrible drive, handling, gas mileage, JUNK

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "The exterior looks updated."

Cons: "Everything else."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I really wanted to believe that Hyundai's were better. The new look manipulates you into thinking it has improved. The car is still JUNK. Does not handle well, the gas mileage is much lower than advertised, the interior scratches easily and leather is soft and leaves imprints. The back seat is hard and head room is low. The car is loud on the highway, the radio sounds bad, the doors are light and the car feels like I'll swerve off the road when a little wind picks up. I come from BMW's and thought I'd save some money, but the Hyundai is overpriced for this JUNK. I sold it and returned to my BMW family. I feel safer and feel I could sell my BMW at a great price when I'm finished."

2 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Best vehicle value I have ever purchased

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, performane and amenitys"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For the money, this car can't be beat. Very comfortable, packed with features. It's surprisingly quick and fun to drive."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

so so vehicle

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,300

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "the only pro is it's a fast car with lots of zing"

Cons: "the whole darn car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"waited a long time to buy a sonata so when it came to buy a new car I went to my local dealer to buy this car. was sold on mileage 25City 40 highway. What a joke I get 19 in the City and on Highway 32 to 35 which I cant complain about it is the city driving mileage when I took it in they said wait until you get 10000 miles on it while here we are with 24300 on it and its the same plus during Winter months I get 14 to 16 miles per gallon Dealer does know what to say its my driving what a joke I was laid up for a month and my son drove the car and he got same mileage as me.The car is very noisy I've had about 6 recalls on it so far steering pulls and again its my driving and hold on to the steering wheel tighter lol. Paid extra for interior package and that scratches easy I could go on and on"

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Moved from Toyota Camry for price and warranty..

By on Saturday, September 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For years, our family were devoted Toyota buyers and found them reliable, comfortable and reasonably priced. My Father recommnended Hyundai for the improvements made over the years, back in 20006. In 2012, I made my first purchase of a 2013 Sonata, with nav package. At closing, I was informed that the 100k warranty didn't transfer, meaning if I were to die, my spouse or kids could not continue it? I learned quickly that the Nav system has not been updated, and the categories are limited which does not allow us to find some places we are attempting to get to. We end up using our smart phone Bizlocater or Mapquest. Last night, I attempted to pick up take out food in an unfamiliar town (babysitting for daughter) and was directed to a home in a subdivision, with an address not close to what I wanted. I asked about software updates at the dealership last year, and a couple weeks ago and there were none. We have taken 2 2,400 mile round trips to Florida and found the back seat to be hard and not comfortable, nor well cushioned on rough roads. As it is usually only the 2 of us using the car, it isn't usally a factor and I haven't had a Camry in 7 or so years, but would consider them again. When adding the nav package, we only wanted the moon roof. I don't use the back up camera and learned to drive without, and carefully move the car (so no one or nothing behind). Would have preferred separate options and if known the GPS system was deficient, would not have bought. I drive alot for work. All in all, the car starts when I need it, gets me where I want to go and looks good. The issues described are the only ones noted after 19 months and I hope it remains so."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Hybrid way to go

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,875

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage"

Cons: "Lower to the ground"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"During my ownership I have saved gas because the battery takes over going over hills then coming down it will switch to EV. It rides very smoothly except maybe in the beginning of first starting to drive. I want to trade it for a Tucson so my husband can get inside better. I am really waiting for the hydrogen Tucson, but right now only people in Southern CA can lease this car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice ride so far.

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun, Affordable, Comfortable, Massive Space"

Cons: "Non-transferable powertrain warranty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehicle for about a year and a half. It has worn very well so far and the body is exceptional condition. No engine or mechanical issues. Still fights like the affordable champ it is. Very recommendable."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 27 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.