Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Hyundai Sonata Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $20,425 - $21,124.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $22,260

Fair Purchase Price $20,775
Fair Market Range ($20,425 - $21,124)

Invoice $21,342
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.6 of 10

10/7.6

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 565 Ratings for the 2011 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next

Intermittent Problems with Dead Battery - Lemon

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage"

Cons: "Hyundai does not give a toss for customer service."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have a 2013 Sonata Turbo with 6k miles. One week after I purchase vehicle battery was completely dead so had to get jump started. Took it to dealership they said they would replace battery. (Found out later this was never done). Six months later woke up battery completely dead. This time it was towed to dealership and they could not find the problem. 2 months later same problem towed into dealership and again could not locate problem. Then only last week (in April 2014) we were driving back from Florida when we got stranded in GA exactly same problem. This time it was towed to a local Hyundai and they also could not locate problem. We are very careful and DO NOT leave anything on that could cause battery to drain. Something is causing battery to drain and be completely dead so much so that the tow truck drivers could not get it to charge. I have got a lemon. Does Hyundai care no!!. I am in a battle to get things resolved and no one will help not the dealership who just want me to trade it in and for me to buy a new one or Hyundai HQ who say they will get back to me but never have. Well now I have no choice but to go to see and attorney under the lemon law. Maybe then someone will pay attention."

too much road noise

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "yes... great price value and fun to drive"

Cons: "again... road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"other than the road noise, no complaints the way we use this car. would buy again and hope the road noise issue would be less."

I love my Sonata

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great style, fun to drive, good gas mileage"

Cons: "Just a tad bit sluggish."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car 2 yrs. ago and I love it. The exterior styling is what first caught my eye and once I sat in it I had to own it."

I love my Sonata

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great style, fun to drive, good gas mileage"

Cons: "Just a tad bit sluggish."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car 2 yrs. ago and I love it. The exterior styling is what first caught my eye and once I sat in it I had to own it."

Pretty Awesome Vehicle..

By on Saturday, April 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "What you get for the price"

Cons: "Can't find any yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Nice Lines

"This is my 4th Hyundai but my 1st Sonata. I got the 2.0T loaded and really enjoy it, this car has, by far, more horsepower, 274hp, than any other car in its class (Fusion, Malibu, Cooper S, 328i, Pasat, GTI just to name a few), including the V6 Camry and the V6 Altima. The twin scroll turbo kicks in like a champ and the car really flies. The blind spot monitor is pretty cool as well, all for well under 30K, you just can't beat it, I recommend it highly to all..."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Nice Lines

VERY zippy, great gas mileage:39mpg highway

By on Thursday, April 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Economical, reliable"

Cons: "Road noise, no compass, cheap sounding horn."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable,low maintenance,good value. I would buy another Sonata."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent vehicle!

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Spectacular performance, stunning exterior design."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the first import I've purchased, and what a great decision! The car's exterior design is marvelous: people have actually mistaken it for a much pricier vehicle (Lexus)! Also, the exterior design makes the car definitely stand out from the crowd. The interior design is done very nicely as well. I purchased the 2.0L Turbo, and the performance is awesome!"

Better than our Audi, or Volvo! Would get another.

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price/value, quality, power, speed, lux features"

Cons: "we don't have a second one yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got Limited 2.0T, very powerful, handles well, gets over 30 mpg on average. Beautiful car inside and out, large trunk, great and quality finishes and paint. Many people ask what kind of car it is because it looks so distinctive and beautiful."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Excellent Car to Drive, very comfortable

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable Drive, Low NVH, reliability"

Cons: "Traditional Looks,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent Car to Drive, very comfortable, powerful and reliable engine. I am very happy with the car's performance and would highly recommend this to anybody who is in market for a Sedan. value for Money it is and exceeds expectation in terms of quality"

Great Car!!

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ride-MPG - all options-Panoramic sunroof."

Cons: "Have to take very easy to get MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you drive it right you can get better than the EPA ratings I got 39.8 first tank mixed driving and 41.5 second tank also mixed driving. Very smooth ride and great fit and finish."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I LOVE THIS CAR!!!

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,750

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything you want in a car without the price"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I switched from a 2004 Mazda RX8 to a 2013 Sonata PZEV and it was the best decision ever. Easy on gas. Bargain for the $$$. Stylish to boot. It's like having a fancy dinner for the price of a happy meal."

Excellent car

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Price, drive, look"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"8 of 10 on comfort only because it is not a large car. Really holds the road and looks great."

Love it

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great value, comfortable, fun to drive,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ive been very happy with this car and love it. Would definately purchase another one."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Absolutely Love this Car, you have to Drive one...

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very powerful engine, good fuel milage."

Cons: "None, love this car:)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My Work Car:)

"I bought this car in 2011 after a deer totaled my 05 Grand Prix, I was on my way to buy another used one, when I passed a local Hyundai dealer, and saw a Black 2012 Sonata SE 2T on the lot, wow what a stunning looking car, so I turned around to go drive it, the salesman said I'll let you drive it, but you will want to buy it when you get back, he was right, I only went one block turned around and bought it. After 10,000 miles I changed out the junk stock tires, for Michelins, what a difference, improved ride by 50% and improved road noise by 70%. I have had no problems with this car, also had the windows tinted. I have had more people complement me on the good looks of this car. Fuel mileage on bp fuel averages 30 mpg. (If you stay off the boost) Just installed new Pirelli tires, I like them even better than the Michelins. Just test drove the new 2014 Ford fusion Titanium, eco boost, no comparison, the Sonata smoked the ecoboost, in power, handling and fun factor. Sonata’s the best:)"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

My Work Car:)

not the best, not the worst

By on Wednesday, February 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "suspension, mpg, cheapness of material"

Cons: "handling,look,warranty, price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Was driving a 2009 Accord and transitioned into 2013 Sonota GLS with Preferred package. Thinking of giving this new Sonota to my wife or daughter and reclaiming the Accord! cons: very rough ride, you feel every bump in the road- suspension is somewhat lacking ( THIS IS THE BIGGEST COMPLAINT!!!!!! ) cheap interior materials - the seats especially poor gas mileage- averaging about 25 mpg mixed city/highway pro's car looks great- inside display in a cool blue, outside is very sporty great warranty very good acceleration from stop car handles well"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Thisn is the best value/dollar--hands down

By on Wednesday, February 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Great warrant, great ride, great valuie"

Cons: "none that i can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just drove from St Petersburg to Dallas and back. What can I say? The car had 54000 miles at the start of the trip. I left with a full tank of gas and decided to make a rest stop when I would need to refuel. Well, 6 and 1/2 hours later, I stopped to fill up. Needless to say, I really "had to go" by the time I stopped. So, I decided to make a pit stop the next time I had to stop for gas. 7 hours later and my bladder is about to burst before having to stop to refuel. The second leg of the trip was about 520 miles! This car was not brand new, but the gas mileage was incredible. Oh, I forgot to mention I average 78 miles per hour for the entire trip, so, I was not intentionally trying to be frugal. The car is very quiet, and I never felt fatigued during the trip. My original intent was to overnight it in Louisiana, but the car compelled me to keep on going. I made it to Irving, Texas, in about 16 hours. I love this car and my next one will be a brand new Sonata. By the way, my wife loves then Sonata, as well, and leased one for three years. Her car is even more amazing!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Low gas milage for Turbo engine

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Power (with Turbo Engine)"

Cons: "Low gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Exceptinal power with Turbo engine but low gas milage. Navigation and other feachers are confusing. Cheap material used for interior."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

AWESOME!!! AWESOME!!!

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Just can't say enough about loving it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this vehicle. I visit my daugher every couple of months and can get to her location on just under 3/4 of a tank of gas. No need to stop for fill ups, which is phenomenal. I love taking people with me when I'm going around town. They are surprised when the car doesn't appear to be running and then off we go. I love the look of the car and the compliments from friends and total strangers. It has a high-end appearance without a high-end price."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I can't believe the fantastic value of this car

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price fun to drive and I alway feel safe"

Cons: "Needs adjustable Passenger Power Seat, too low"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The ride of this car is unbelievable. It drives like a sport sedan and straightens out the curves. I always feel like I am in control of the road. The amenities are great. I opted for the ultima package on my 2012 Hybrid Sonata and the Nav system always gets me to my destination. I really enjoy the panorama roof as well. I'm averaging about 500 miles per fill up on an estimated 16 gallon tank. I drive a lot, but still only fill up once every 2 weeks."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car for the price. Value Can't be beaten!!!

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Values, Price, Gas Mialeage, Technology, Convinien"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is absolutely amazing! I love this car and I think the value of it for the price just can't be beat. Luxury, Affordability, Convenience, Power, Excitement,Gas Mileage, Features, the list can honestly go on forever with me! I currently lease this car to try it out but my next one will be a definite buy! You can't go wrong with this car!"

Affordable Luxury

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "killer interior design, turbo power/mpg, affordabl"

Cons: "cold idle is loud, computer mpg way optimistic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Picked up a 2.0Turbo Limited with all options, 10,000 miles for $11k under sticker! Cherry red and tan leather. This is an awesome car in about every way. Big, roomy, luxury. Sleek and sexy, powerful, smooth, reliable (so far, nearing 30,000 miles). Pet peaves - cold engine starts the idle is rough and noisy but that only lasts for about 10-15 sec. The ride is a little louder than others, such as Camry, and its not the smoothest on bumps. Also, I'm an engineer and it really bugs me that the computer over estimates mpg by nearly 3 mpg on avg. That's fraud in my opinion leading people to believe they are getting better mileage than they really are. I know there are better algorithms that could do a better job estimating. Reality is overall getting 28-29 mpg although it really depends on mow you drive it. Stay off the turbo and get 30+. But when you need that turbo its definitely there! Overall I love this car! Feels like driving an Infiniti M35 for the price of Honda Civic!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great bang for the buck

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,250

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value, great warranty, great reviews"

Cons: "limited rear view, OEM tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has had good to excellent reviews in various consumer publications, and I can see why. It gets good gas mileage, the engine more than adequately powers the vehicle (especially with "Eco Mode" turned off), the interior and exterior designs are tasteful, and there are plenty of bells and whistles included that normally aren't included except on higher priced cars or models of cars within class that cost much more. Others have mentioned wandering and other steering problems, but I've found that, with the new possibility of adjustability of the steering, the car tracks and holds the road just fine. Minuses for me include a very limited rear-view which makes backing up and parking a bit difficult (even with the inside rear-view camera display), and, what I consider to be, totally unacceptable Hankook tires for wet and snowy conditions such as we've been experiencing in the Chicago area recently. Within 300 miles of taking delivery of the car, I purchased and installed Continental Pure Contact Eco tires, and they make a world of difference in terms of increased traction and decreased interior road noise."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A lot of bang for the buck

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent price & features found on costlier cars"

Cons: "Comparatively lousy tires and limited rear view"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After extensive research, I purchased this car in 1/14. Other cars in its class simply did not have the features or the warranty of this car. I have the 2.4 and I've found the car to have plenty get up and go and to be rock-solid. With the "Eco mode" off, it accelerates and commands the road even better. It is comfortable inside and well-appointed. Like others, I have a gripe about the limited rear view while, for example, backing up (even with the rear camera) and the adherence of the tires in wet and snowy conditions. One of the first things I did after taking delivery was to ditch the Kumhos and pick up a set of Continental Pure Contact Ecos. I think they've been much, much better in the recent Chicago wet and snow, and I believe road noise is significantly reduced with them as well. Being a do-it-your-selfer, I'm a little worried about the reports that I've come across in terms of dealerships/Hyundai denying warranty work because, "Although you have receipts for the routine maintenance parts, that doesn't mean that they were installed or installed correctly". It seems like, to be on the safe side, I'll have to take the car to the dealership for a simple oil and filter change or a mechanic from whom I can get a detailed receipt. Kind of silly and unnecessary, if you ask me."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellant Car!

By on Friday, February 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I did not want to like this car when my wife brought it home however it is a great car. Drove off the dealer lot new and has not been back for any reason. Great gas mileage plenty of pep. overall I have no complaints."

very happy would buy another in a heart beat

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dealer gave a g r e a t deal"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"22 k miles not a single problem. even the tires look new. great mileage, fit and finish well above par"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.