Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Hyundai Sonata Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $20,269 - $20,982.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $22,260

Fair Purchase Price $20,626
Fair Market Range ($20,269 - $20,982)

Invoice $21,342
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.6 of 10

10/7.6

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 685 Ratings for the 2011 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 137 | Next

This was our first Sonata

By on Friday, December 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"And we love this car we only have one thing we would like to see added power passenger seat (fix with 2015) We hoped to get better mileage only averaged 28 to 31 MPG."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

For the Price this is the best car I've ever owned

By on Sunday, December 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Sonata handled as well as the BMWs or the Mercedes i've driven or owned in the past. Sound system is excellent, I've done nothing but keep the maintenance up on this vechile. It gets approximately 31 miles per gallon on the road which was awesome. Trunk room is great and with the back seats folding forward that helped if i did need extra room. I would not hesitate to recommend this vehicle to a family member or friend which i did. With the extras i put on the Sonata it gets a lot of thumbs up when I'm driving it! I'm selling it come Jan. because I've just retired and now need a truck. It has been the best purchase I've ever made."

10 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Outstanding value for the money.

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, great looking, reliable, fun"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you don't need all the bells and whistles in a used car, then the 2012 Sonata GLS if perfect. No nav system, no push button start, but so what. The car is beautiful, handles well, and gets excellent mpg. Having bought it as a certified pre-owned, my warranty coverage is excellent. Really pleased with this car!"

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Good mileage, but hard noisy ride on Limited

By on Saturday, December 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Transmission, Brakes, Looks, City handling"

Cons: "Shocks, Noisy engine and ride, Steering."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bought '13 Limited for a quiet comfortable ride, 100 K miles CPO from a dealer. But after a few days of driving we are disappointed, and noticed a number of issues. a) The steering is tight, and has some resistance to moving it. So tackling windy mountain roads is hard on shoulders and arms. b) The steering cannot be made to go straight in highways, it wanders. It finally got fixed by switching from the "GLS" to the "Sport" mode. c) Very rough ride on certain tars. The car has monotube shock absorbers which makes the ride feel very hard and bumpy, not good for long drives . To make matters worse, the seat cushions are hard too. d) Engine has a timing chain, making it very clunky and noisy like a diesel jeep. e) The engine produces power, but not until it is rev-ed to a very noisy 5000+ RPM. Also, the torque noticeably lags putting feet on accelerator. f) The interior of the car is not noise insulated, causing a lot of wind roar and tyre clap. This steals the comfort out of both the ride and the music. Overall, expected better from a Limited model. There are some good things too. It looks majestic, and the brakes and transmission are among the best of many full-sized sedans I have driven. City mileage is OKAY. So this car is good for short rides in a city, but NOT for highways or the hills."

14 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Decent car

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "5 star performance"

Cons: "Low trade-in/resale value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Drove the base model Sonata then drove the 2.0 Turbo. For the extra money the Turbo is hands down the best. Fuel mileage is in the low 30's highway, and the car handles & rides very well. Very roomy interior and the trunk is huge. Fit, finish and overall quality is good and other than one minor factory recall, I just have the normal routine maintenance (oil/filter/tire rotation) done at the dealership. One downfall is the poor resale/trade value when I was thinking of purchasing the re-designed 2015 Sonata so I will be driving my 2013 Sonata for a few more years."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 137 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.