Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Hyundai Sonata Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $20,398 - $21,137.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $22,260

Fair Purchase Price $20,768
Fair Market Range ($20,398 - $21,137)

Invoice $21,342
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.6 of 10

10/7.6

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 702 Ratings for the 2011 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

Very reliable and attractive vehicle for its class

By on Sunday, March 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very reliable and attractive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a 2010 Toyota Camry which was a disaster. The 2013 Hyundai Sonata SE is infinitely above the Toyota. My first Hyundai and overall quite impressed and pleased with it. The SE rides a bit harder than other Sonata's but this appeared in reviews. Handles very well and leg room is good for tall men."

Great Car- Great Price

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of car for the money"

Cons: "Gas mileage could be a bit better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Gas mileage not quite as good as advertised but acceptable"

nice car, we like it

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"we live in a hilly area gas engine runs most of the time , perfect car for a flat area , dealer never told us about this, any grade no matter how small the gas engine starts ,reducing mileage to 32-38, big hills 25-28"

love my car

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "because of the hybid batteries, smaller trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a luxury car with a smooth quiet ride. Beautiful inside and out. Great warranty"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent car. I highly recommend this car

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,350

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Well bult car! Has served us very well."

Cons: "Can't really think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has out performed my expectations. Service has been excellent and performance impressive. My wife drives it most of the time and she has never had a complaint. I am a big man and I can get in and out with ease! Now that we are retired, wife wants to sell it, but I want to keep it as I have maintained service throughout the 4+ years we have had it. We bought it used from Carmax as it was a rental turn in with 18K miles. It performed better than the Nissan Altama we were looking for. Hi higly recommend the Hyundai."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Love driving this car , comfortable for a 6'3'

By on Saturday, March 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love driving this car,comfortable for a 6'3" 275 lb man. Love the response from the 2.0 Turbo and still gets 35 MPG on the Highway. This car is a sleeper,love the looks on the faces of drivers of much more expensive cars as I accelerate and leave them in the dust !"

I will Def buy another one when the time comes.

By on Thursday, March 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value"

Cons: "Do not find any with this vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would never buy another American car after owning this one. I never thought I would own a 4cyl car this car has plenty of power A/C is Excellent. I have never spent a dime on repairs other than normal maint. Highly recommend this vehicle you won't regret it"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car, no problems

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, super reliability"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have gotten up to 37 mpg on the highway"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

I love the car.

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable"

Cons: "design of windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only draw back is design of windows. It is very hard to see out of back and side windows. When going to drive up windows it is hard to reach out."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great vehicle. Have 2 Hyundai's and only need one

By on Monday, March 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price at $16,500"

Cons: "You cannot go wrong"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car. Have done all routine PM, brand new tires, new battery. Waxed and shined every 2 months. Has 10 year 100,000 mile warranty."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice looking and easy to drive.

By on Thursday, March 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, nice looking , easy to drive"

Cons: "Tires need mud flaps or something."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The car is really good and has more than enough gadgets. The only complaint I have is that the snow and slush quickly block the full range of motion of the tires."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love the great gas mileage. Handles well!

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good value. Great warranty. Good on gas mileage."

Cons: "Cupholders could be larger diameter."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Confident driving in all kinds of weather. Comfortable for longer trips. No maintenance issues."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good purchase

By on Monday, March 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great value,nice looks in and out"

Cons: "could use a softer ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"needs a softer ride---otherwiseAOK"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car, never had a wrench turned on it

By on Saturday, February 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "has all the good stuff"

Cons: "with my age & bad back, entering"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great gas milage, got between 32 and 36 on a 7200 mile trip"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great car!

By on Friday, February 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Beautiful car, great to drive"

Cons: "Didn't have a sun roof"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

I think she is so pretty

"This has been my most favorite car I have ever had and most definitely would buy another."

I think she is so pretty

Better than my Volvo

By on Thursday, February 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quick, sexy style, great value"

Cons: "no key shut down fails occasionally"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car's design inside and out and I truly loved my Volvo S20 and thought there wouldn't be another car to top size and feel and drive until I found this car. Love the luxury for the price!!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

serviced regularly,1 owner, garage kept, retired

By on Friday, February 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,900

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful, great price, fun drive,ex. gas mileage,"

Cons: "no back camera,no adj ft pass seat,ph speaker poor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been very pleased w/ my Sonata. Looking to own another one. Well cared for and serviced regularly, cleaned regularlr. Basically my wife and I occupied the car. Very clean inside and out Perfect condition. 8,000 miles on current tires."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Amazing miracle vehicle!!

By on Friday, January 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "see all of the above!"

Cons: "Only that you have to wash the car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned MANY vehicles over my lifetime at various price levels and manufacturers (American and Foreign), this 2012 Sonata is by far the best car I've ever owned (even better than the 2008 Sonata that I once owned!). Handling is amazing, doesn't weigh 5 tons, and pick up is even better than the 6-cylinder Toyota Camry! It is so great on gas mileage that the gauge needle hardly moves (actually brought it to the shop to be sure the gas gauge wasn't faulty, and it wasn't!). It is roomy. Two large men can sit in the front and have to reach over to touch the other's shoulders! I've never seen so many cup holders and places to stash your belongings. A/C has no delay at all. Lots of trunk space. Added plus - if you are under 5'4", you will have a very confortable drive. Between the ability to raise the seat so you can see comfortably see over the steering wheel, other adjustments of the seat allow you to reach the gas and brake pedals easily *without feeling as though you're practically kissing the windshield*! Seat back and head reast are in perfect position for the human body. You may need a lumbar pillow for comfort, but that's it. Oh, tightness on U-turns is great - no stopping, backing up, put it back in Drive,hit gas, then go. Last and most definitely not least, the stereo is has great sound quality and will rock your whole neighborhood without even putting it at max level. It's killing me to part with this car, but I'm being transferred to Europe for job, it would be too expensive to ship."

21 people out of 34 found this review helpful

Outstanding value, excellent mileage

By on Thursday, January 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price"

Cons: "none yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The car is very comfortable for four people to take on a road trip. It gets 31 miles to the gallon around town and 34-36 mpg on trips. I would buy this car again."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

cut corners compared tomost japanese cars.

By on Monday, January 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"have to lower seat so as not to hit my head when I am getting out. Very limited manual adjustment on passenger seat. Huge blind spot on each side around mirrors. Cloth on inside sides on leather seats. No backup camera and visibility poor. Lots of body twist due to panoramic roof to the point of making sounds when I turn into my driveway."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

great car

By on Friday, January 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,300

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Cons: "cold weather milage bad"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"excellent milage on highway 40+mpg not bad in city during cold weather."

13 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Awesome Hybrid Sedan

By on Thursday, January 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is not a small car. This Sonata is spacious and has a lot of storage space. Strangers stop me to ask about my car. The mileage is not what was advertised but it is great for this heavy a car. Average 32 in town and 40 or better on highway. I do not plan to sell this car. I accessed this site to evaluate the value of my car. In my opinion, the value listed, at least for my individual car, is low. This car rocks. Only complaint is that I did not get a spare tire and the dealer did not point this out."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A great car for a great price

By on Tuesday, January 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price, features, stylish"

Cons: "noisy ride, interior color is too light"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a 2011 Hyundai Sonata used in 2011. I always said that the only way I would buy another car is if it was a Hyundai Sonata. I did buy a brand new Sonata in 2014. This car has been everything I wanted and more. The radio is touch screen and has all the options. The side mirrors have markers on them. The driver seat is power. The driver and passenger seats are heated. There are so many extras, I could go on and on. I get 40+ mpg on the highway. The only way I will buy another car is if I get my third Sonata :)"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

somewhat dissapointed

By on Wednesday, January 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good looks"

Cons: "noisy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"i've had this car for two years.do not like electronic steering,very hard to make the car track straight without a lot of corrections.the tires are howling after 10,000 miles. sounds like a semi.has a lot of road noise in the rear of the car."

5 people out of 13 found this review helpful

The MPG on the highway is great !!! I had it at 40

By on Saturday, January 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"40 mpg at 70 and even have pics ... A very reliable car, that is why I am selling it to my daughter at a discounted rate... Yeah I know !!!"

7 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.