Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Hyundai Sonata Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $19,951 - $20,755.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $22,260

Fair Purchase Price $20,307
Fair Market Range ($19,951 - $20,755)

Invoice $21,342
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.6 of 10

10/7.6

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 719 Ratings for the 2011 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

love this car

By on Sunday, May 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, fun to drive, great handling"

Cons: "no power seat controls on passenger side"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have upgraded to this car from a 2005 Civic and what an upgrade it is. what i ended up paying for this car was not much for then the civic, but is worlds better. a bunch of other reviews stated road noise but i would say the road noise is not really an issue. Although i have heard that it could be the tires not the car. only thing i wish it had was power seat controls on the passenger side, since it has nice electronic adjustment for the driver side. And even having a much bigger engine then that Civic i had and it gets about the same MPGs."

20 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Best bang for your buck

By on Monday, December 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun 2 drive, excellent price, warranty, good looks"

Cons: "blind spots, you have to slam the doors to close"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Before I bought this car I research extensively the competition mainly Toyota Camry, Honda accord, Nissan Altima, Kia optima. I check for space (Trunk, headroom, legroom, etc) best MPG non hybrid, best warranty, looks, standard features, price, etc. Two cars came on top The Kia Optima and the Hyunday Sonata; both better equipped than the competition, with better warranties, MPG, and priced considerably lower than similar equipped competitors (around $2000 less!!!). I test drove all o f them and the Hyundai Sonata came on top for his outstanding MPG, feel, beauty, warranty, price comfort and standard features. Car feels solid and fun to drive, very quiet, nice dashboard, blue tooth, blue link. Get the GLS best value for your buck. SE while more powerful has a rough ride and compromises insurance because the speed. Limited can get too expensive which kills one of the reasons you choose Hyundais/Kias the excllent price / value ratio"

18 people out of 18 found this review helpful

2013 Limited Turbo, So Far So Great

By on Tuesday, April 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, performance, quality, fun to drive"

Cons: "rear visibility could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had my 2013 Limited Turbo for about 4 months now and so far I'm very impressed. Fit, finish, performance, and style are all top notch. No issues with the vehicle so far. In my opinion, the 18" wheels really make the car look better, which I understand come on the SE and Turbo models. Gas milage so far is good, averaging around 32-33 on 75% highway, 25% city driving. Getting into the turbo quickly (pun intended) brings a smile to your face, but getting into it too often does bring the milage down fast (a few minutes taking it from 75 mph to 120 took my mpg screen from 32 to 27 rather quickly). Personally, I'm ok with the 2013 taking away the glass roof on the Limited (it now comes with the premium package, which my car doesn't have). Mine has the standard sunroof, which suits me fine. Here in Texas I've talked to several people who have the glass roofs and they say it puts more heat in the car on sunny days. I'm also getting very fond of the keyless entry. You just keep the fob in your pocket and hit the little button on the door handle to lock or unlock the car, and then you just push the button on the dash to start/stop the car. It's also smart enough to know if you've left the fob in the car and won't let you lock yourself out. Before I bought the car, I felt it was kind of a gimmick, but now that I've had it I've become spoiled, not having to take a key out of your pocket is nice. In summary, I think I got a lot of car for the money compared to the competition and would recommend the Sonata to anyone looking for a nice, well optioned vehicle at a very reasonable price."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I love this car!!!

By on Sunday, April 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun toys, beautiful car, great safety features"

Cons: "road noise on highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our fourth Hyundai Sonata. Every year, Hyundai improves their cars. Our last two Sonata's had virtually no problems. THIS car is a sleek beauty with plenty of room. After my first tank of gas I was getting 28 MPG with mixed driving. (city/hi-way) I cannot believe the technology in this car. The base come with Bluetooth. You also get a 3 month trial of Sirius radio and Blue-link. Blue-link is Hyundai's version of On-star,but offers so much more. The safety features are, as always, ahead of the game on a Hyundai vehicle. I'm so please with this car. It offers a great bang for the buck."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Very nice vehicle

By on Thursday, October 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased the 2012 Sonata Limited Turbo. Love everything about it so far. Has a lot of nice options and drives nicely. feels like V6."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Love my Sonata-It is my 2nd one

By on Tuesday, April 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sporty, handles well and spacious"

Cons: "I wish they had moonroofs on the SE models."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my second Sonata. My 2011 had some issue with the brake switch and a few other minor issue. I always get tons of compliments on my car. It handles well, has a lot of "get up and go" to it, and the interior is great! I love all the room, trunk space, cup holders, sport seats and the blue interior lights. The only negative thing so far is that I had to have the Rocker Panel repainted. The paint was flaking off, I was told that mine was not the only one with this issue. Hyundai repainted it and I am happy with the outcome."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Will never own another car

By on Friday, September 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride, comfortable, great value for price"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Absolutely love the Hyundai Sonata. Bought it used and still runs wonderfully. Most comfortable car for the price with many features that come standard compared to other cars that you will have to pay extra for. Get gas mileage around 31 highway and 25 city. I love the luxury of the Sonata and the great customer service I have received at multiple different Hyundai dealerships. I never want to own another car other than Hyundai."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Rough ride and low passenger seat

By on Friday, July 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Nice interior and sleek look"

Cons: "Poor shifting and the passenger seat is not adjust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Our Sonata hybrid has the roughest ride of a hybrid that I have ever had. The gear shifting in the lower gears is awful. We are barely getting more that 25 mpg. Also the passenger seat is so low and is not adjustable."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Overwhelmed by the power, and reliability

By on Monday, April 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, efficient, economical 28 to 30 MP"

Cons: "Slightly stiff on the schock absorbers,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was always liked a big car, big engine, flashy car. I thought I would be humbled by a smaller engine car. My mouth fell open when I stepped on the gas out in the open and saw my speedometer hit 110 with absolute control. The compliments I get when I park my car at a restaurant and there is a line of people waiting to get in gives me goosebumps. It is a flashy apple red with beige leather interior that catches the eyes. I am a retired law enforcement officer and have been a high speed driving instructor, sure would like to take it out on the high speed trac."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've owned.

By on Saturday, June 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "NO COMPROMISES!!"

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Compared the Sonata to the Camry, Accord, Malibu and Fusion and couldn't come up with a reason to do anything but buy the Sonata. After the first year, the car is as good as advertised and better in many respects. On trips, I regularly get 40MPG (not hybrid!) and with the value Hyundai provided, I was able to buy after-market DVD players for the headrests (dealer installed) and the kids love them. I can't think of a single thing I compromised by getting the Sonata."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.