Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Hyundai Sonata Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $20,338 - $20,971.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $22,260

Fair Purchase Price $20,655
Fair Market Range ($20,338 - $20,971)

Invoice $21,342
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.6 of 10

10/7.6

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 637 Ratings for the 2011 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next

Noooo Hyundai

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good MPG, Strong 4 Cylinder Engine, Superb Stereo"

Cons: "Rattles, Unreliable, A Ton Of Recalls, Cheap Parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"We have a 2011 Hyundai Sonata that was purchased in 2013. At the time of purchase the car had 57,000 miles on it and now it has 79,000 on the odometer. The car looks great, but we have had the following problems: *Dome Light- The dome light is supposed to come on when the car door is open. The light wouldn't come, therefore the dealer had to replace a switch. COVERED UNDER THE 60,000 MILE WARRANTY *Steering Wheel Paint- The paint is peeling and others are experiencing this problem as well. *Tire Sensor- One of the tire sensors went bad and had to have that replaced. The constant light on in the instrument panel is a headache. *Front Fender- The fender cover is easy to crack. We have two cracks because the plastic is so cheap and flimsy. Don't hit anything because it will ruin it. TOUCH IT AND SEE FOR YOURSELF *Fuel Pump- The fuel pump went out at 73,000. I was backing out the driveway and it just cut off. We had it towed to the dealer and they replaced the fuel pump. COVERED UNDER EXTENDED WARRANTY ($600.00 repair) *Steering Rattle Over Bumps- The steering wheel is now rattling over bumps. They say the part is $9.00, but the labor will cost an additional $200.00. (NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY) *Gear Selector Issue- Sometimes the car doesn't show the selected gear in the gear box. When this happens, the car usually jerks really hard and acts as though it doesn't want to accelerate. We also had other problems where the gear shift didnt want to shift out of PARK. This was fixed under a recall. This car has had several recalls including a recall with the brake system. The radio makes a weird noise at times when the car is started and I don't know what is causing this issue. I also hear a bumping noise that is coming from the back, so this could be something with the suspension. I live in Texas and the AC doesn't start to cool until the car is driven for a few minutes. I thought Hyundai's were reliable, but we have had so many problems with this car. The warranty expires at 100,000 and it will go back to the DEALERSHIP. NO MORE HYUNDAI FOR ME!!!!"

prettyy good value

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a very good car. the controls are in the right places and perform well. The driving is very good. a few comments: 1- the fuel pump failed at 50K. fully covered under warranty 2 - the mpg is not quite as good as the EPA rating. I rarely get 34 on the highway (admitted I drive a little faster than the speed limit) 3 - the door unlock buttons on the exterior front doors are annoying. one push for one door. two pushes for all doors but only if in a very short time. I never get it right the first attempt."

Tremendous value, but a couple of quirks

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,800

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great value"

Cons: "Some quirks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Overall, I am very pleased with the car, and you get a lot for the money. 2 things have bugged me. First, sometimes the engine randomly makes fairly loud clicking or fluttering sound for a few seconds on start-up. The service technician told me it was normal (of course), but he did know immediately what I was talking about and did have a logical explanation (that I cannot remember enough to repeat here). Second, the car has a reading for average fuel economy. However, it automatically resets every time you get gas, so you cannot get a reading over a meaningful length of time. Oddly, you can also manually reset the reading at any time. Why would you do that if it's going to reset at your next fill up anyway? This may be one of the stupidest and most useless pieces of electronics I have ever seen in a car. Anyway, I do like the rest of the car."

Excellent Vehicle

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price, lots of space"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Plenty of space, Excellent engine, low maintenance, gas saver."

10 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Beautiful style and design, great for value

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very affordable vehicle for its beautiful design and style. I enjoy driving it until I could afford a Lexus ISC but I was happy with its acceleration and keyless startup. I would highly recommend the vehicle. Only issue I had was that my neighbors had the same vehicle."

10 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Looks sharp, great features, price, and gas

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "looks great, good price"

Cons: "not so much comfy seats and not a lot of head room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Bought in late 2010 for 25,700 (1400 off with rebate, 1000 below invoice) and was a great decision. Pros - Looks sharp, good gas (says 24/35 and I drive a lot of highway and get 33 normally), good pickup/torque, great technology features (although it lacks the lane departure and backup warnings the new 2015 sonata is but not an issue with the 2013). Cons - Not the most comfortable. As it is an inexpensive car, luxury seats, arm rest, little head room are not that easy to get used to. Other than those and 100 bucks to upgrade the GPS maps are my only complaints."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Some of the 4cyl turbos have issues

By on Sunday, August 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great style great ride and great fuel milage"

Cons: "problems with the 4 cyl turbos"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Purchased used with 22k miles. We have had it in the shop twice in the first year. Now the third time it is in the shop getting a new engine. It only has 32k miles. Was told that they have had problems with some of the turbos. I loved every thing about the car, but I think we will trade it in when we get it back and get a Toyota Camry like my last two cars. Glad Camry has changed there body style in the 2015 model."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

40 MPG Average 10 MPG better than my 2009

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "MPG"

Cons: "A little sluggish"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very happy with purchase - have 1000 miles so far with a 40 MPG average - had 30 MPG average with my 2009 Sonata. Best Hybrid value on the market bar none. Great deals on 2014 models now at year end. Got 6K off the sticker prices with discounts and incentives."

needs more weight in the back. fishtails on

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"uneven roads and slips when starting on a wet surface"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Keeps on Running

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,037

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, easy to drive, nice looking"

Cons: "No complaints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this car in 2011 with around 19K miles. It has been a great car with little issues. Obviously I drive a ton of miles and this car just keeps going and going. I average 33 mpg overall which is very good for a car this size. It's not overly powerful, but gets moving when needed and never leaves you hanging. I was skeptical when I bought it because of all the miles I put on cars, but I can say I would not hesitate to buy another one and I have no problems recommending this car to anyone. My plan was to trade at 100K, but it has been so good to me that I decided to run it to 150K. Now I am thinking of running it to 200K!!"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Sunday, August 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable & roomy, gas saver, many features"

Cons: "Haven't found any yet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had many makes & models, but this has been the best & I would recommend it to everyone."

Great car and great quality.

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "QUALITY AND SERVICE FROM DEALERS"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After owing cars manufactured and designed by the BIG THREE for fifty years, it is great to finally have a car with great price, quality and workmanship. I finally walked out of a dealer showroom with a new car and didn't feel I was being taken advantage of."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Gas mileage

By on Saturday, August 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,547

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Warranty, MPG, reliability."

Cons: "passenger seat sits very low."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Dealer informed me that I would get 25/35 mpg. Skeptical because my last vehicle (Equinox) was suppose to get close to that and never did. Thus far, my best has been 36 city and "40.7" highway. Way over the top in joy."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Amazing automobile in every respect

By on Friday, August 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, Comfort, Equipment, Reliability,"

Cons: "There are no dislikes on my list"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

This is exactly what I am driving.

"Have been driving over fifty years my first new car was a 59 Chevrolet I have owned many others both domestic and foreign. I have been more satisfied driving this vehicle than any other including my Caddy, mileage is amazing for a car with this much room and comfort. Performance is great. I love the body style. The SE model is really hi tech The entry model is no slouch. The SE was not the entry model in 2012. Interior room is fantastic. This is a great road car for a long trip and I am 6'2" 240. That is my 43,800 mile drivers report."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This is exactly what I am driving.

HYUNDIA SONATA GLS

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"PRETTY CAR,RELIABLE,AS LONG AS THE ROADS ARE DRY,(WINTER)OR WET ROADS BRAKES DON'T WORK WELL HAVE TO START STOPPING FOUR BLOCKS AWAY.THIS IS HOW I DRIVE IN THE WINTER (WET ROADS). I WAS TOLD NOTHING IS WRONG WITH MY CAR. NERVER WAS ON RECALL LIST."

great value

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great milage and 60/100,000 warranty."

Cons: "like a lot of cars on the road."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Value is unsurpassed. Very comfortable and a nice driver. MPG is 36 on the highway."

Very confused on this car

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great mileage, clean look, nice highway ride."

Cons: "so-so interior, uncomfortable seats, bad service"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I bought this car new after reading reviews off many sites. The car looks good and rides well on the highway. City driving is a bit rough, and it always feels like the suspension is weak over bumps and potholes. The car gets great mileage; above what the sticker says. The interior has very cheap plastic that seems to attract scratches. The scratches are permanent. The passenger seat sits very low, and most reviews on subscription sites say this. We have had the car in for repairs 3 times for electrical problems in the last 5 months. That is the confusing part, because Hyundai's are reportedly very reliable. If I were guessing, Hyundai has made their cars affordable for people not used to higher end quality workmanship. The flashy features like backup camera and touch screen controls may make the average consumer excited (it did to me), and cause them to overlook some shortcomings. I have owned a Honda, a Buick, and a couple Ford Windstar vans. This car is not the same quality, in my opinion. I did not post this review to bash Hyundai, or to talk you out of buying one-I just think you should know that not every Hyundai Sonata is perfect. Ours certainly isn't. When we bought this car we were 200 feet from a Honda dealer, with the Honda Accord very similarly priced. The Accord seemed bigger and more powerful. The Honda came with dual zone air conditioning, and remote start. We went with a hunch and chose the Sonata. If I had to do it again I would take the safe bet and go with the Honda."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

My 5th Hyundai

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Stiff ride on 18" wheels. OEM tires were terrible."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best looking car I've ever owned. It's also fun to drive. Keeping it waxed with a quality product gives it a finish like a luxury brand - still looks like it came right out of the showroom. Couldn't be happier with Hyundai quality and value for the money. My only gripe about this car is the rough ride on the 18" wheels and performance tires. I just put new tires on after a trip to the seashore and they made a huge difference in handling and ride. I feel I can never go wrong with the Hyundai brand and will most likely never switch."

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

WOW! JUst Fantastic

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is the real deal. Fun to drive and outstanding gas milage without the small car feel."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I've had my car for 2 years and I love it!!!

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my red Hyundai Sonata."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car for the money

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all the above"

Cons: "18" tires are expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car rides and handles like a sports car! 34 MPG on the highway @ 65MPH. Took a 5000 mile trip last winter with my wife and we were pleasantly surprised how comfortable it was on long trips"

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Good car

By on Saturday, August 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Turbo makes it fun."

Cons: "Could improve ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Good car"

Great value

By on Wednesday, August 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "features for the price, gas mileage"

Cons: "Leather seat comfort is lacking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The 2011 Sonata has an attractive exterior styling and provides an excellent value. Excellent highway fuel economy and surprising power for a 4 cylinder engine. Leather seats aren't the most comfortable out there. Rides smoothly but won't ever be mistaken for a sporty vehicle in terms of responsiveness."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned!

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "can't think of a thing wrong with it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car more every day! It rides and drives so good and just feels like it was always my car. I love my dealership too."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Basic Transporatation

By on Friday, August 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Great mileage and Exce[tional Blue tooth"

Cons: "Horrible defroster"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Had the car for 3 years I would rate it higher if it wasn't for the worst defroster one can imagine,then again maybe I rat5ed it too high because unless you live in a warm climate don't buy The car Great mileage"

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 26 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.