Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2011 Hyundai Sonata

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 673 Ratings for the 2011 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 135 | Next

Outstanding value for the money.

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, great looking, reliable, fun"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you don't need all the bells and whistles in a used car, then the 2012 Sonata GLS if perfect. No nav system, no push button start, but so what. The car is beautiful, handles well, and gets excellent mpg. Having bought it as a certified pre-owned, my warranty coverage is excellent. Really pleased with this car!"

Good mileage, but hard noisy ride on Limited

By on Saturday, December 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Transmission, Brakes, Looks, City handling"

Cons: "Shocks, Noisy engine and ride, Steering."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bought '13 Limited for a quiet comfortable ride, 100 K miles CPO from a dealer. But after a few days of driving we are disappointed, and noticed a number of issues. a) The steering is tight, and has some resistance to moving it. So tackling windy mountain roads is hard on shoulders and arms. b) The steering cannot be made to go straight in highways, it wanders. It finally got fixed by switching from the "GLS" to the "Sport" mode. c) Very rough ride on certain tars. The car has monotube shock absorbers which makes the ride feel very hard and bumpy, not good for long drives . To make matters worse, the seat cushions are hard too. d) Engine has a timing chain, making it very clunky and noisy like a diesel jeep. e) The engine produces power, but not until it is rev-ed to a very noisy 5000+ RPM. Also, the torque noticeably lags putting feet on accelerator. f) The interior of the car is not noise insulated, causing a lot of wind roar and tyre clap. This steals the comfort out of both the ride and the music. Overall, expected better from a Limited model. There are some good things too. It looks majestic, and the brakes and transmission are among the best of many full-sized sedans I have driven. City mileage is OKAY. So this car is good for short rides in a city, but NOT for highways or the hills."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Decent car

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "5 star performance"

Cons: "Low trade-in/resale value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Drove the base model Sonata then drove the 2.0 Turbo. For the extra money the Turbo is hands down the best. Fuel mileage is in the low 30's highway, and the car handles & rides very well. Very roomy interior and the trunk is huge. Fit, finish and overall quality is good and other than one minor factory recall, I just have the normal routine maintenance (oil/filter/tire rotation) done at the dealership. One downfall is the poor resale/trade value when I was thinking of purchasing the re-designed 2015 Sonata so I will be driving my 2013 Sonata for a few more years."

Best value in its class

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very good quality. hwy mileage consistently over 30mpg. great residual value. It has all available options except navigation plus we added pin stripe, tinted windows, and chrome along bottom. Best looking and best quality. this is our 3d Hyundai and I now have buyer loyalty. My next one will be a Genesis."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

everything the commercial said it would be

By on Thursday, November 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great features for the money. The only changes I could hope for would be to lessen the blind spot at both ends of the front windshield due to wide frame. Have had several occasions over the years where a car "appeared out of nowhere" from the blind spot. Also, needs a charging port in the back seat for those passengers to recharge phones/ipods. Lastly, the there is an unavoidable click that is inherent in the console area when the brakes are applied. Can't be remedied even when dealership sprayed an insulator on the area. Sounds as if a toggle is being activated when brakes are applied. Overall, wise purchase. Minimal maintenance."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 135 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Sonata near Honolulu. See local deals