Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2009 Hyundai Sonata

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 733 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 136 137 138 ... 147 | Next

OK

By on Sunday, April 13, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"2000 Hyundai Sonata GLS - 88,000 miles. Had power windows go out three times and lot of brake problems. 26 MPG, 30 on long interstate trip. Smooth and handles well. It is easy to leave parking lights on and kill battery. Overall just above average car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I did like it.

By on Thursday, April 10, 2008

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought this car because I thought it was georgous! Although it did break down all the time and I had a $100.00 deductable, It became too expencive for a young single mom to keep up with. Other than that I really did like it!!"

A Decent Vehicle

By on Friday, March 14, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

"I own a 2001 Sonata, 4 cyl, 5-speed. Great gas milage (about 27 mpg overall), good comfort, overall decent vehicle. It has 112,000 miles, and realtively few things went wrong with it: paint is peeling off plastic (door handles and front grill), three of the four power window motors needed to be replaced, but the biggest problem is throwing timing belts. The timing belts needed to be replaced at 50K, 90K, and 112K. Unfortunately, this last belt tore up the head - $2,200 to repair. It's time to donate the sucker. Did I get my money's worth... probably, as the initial price was fairly inexpensive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very happy owner

By on Thursday, March 13, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 2001 Sonata new. I have the 4 cyl 5-speed manual. Over 7 years later I have 140,000 miles on it and it's still going strong. I get 30 mpg. The only problems have been an oxygen sensor, a problem with the drivers window and a rear wheel bearing which were fixed under warranty, then the other rear wheel bearing which went outside the warranty. I replaced the timing belt twice at 65,000 miles each time as scheduled. Apart from that it's been great. The only disappointment is the performance from the 4-cyl engine. It's fine at highway speeds, but getting there is a long process. It's not great in my 5-speed manual, I would imagine an automatic is worse. The new 4-cyl puts out as much power as the old 6-cyl and I'll probably go for another 5-speed manual when this one is ready to be retired, which doesn't appear to be any time soon."

By on Wednesday, February 27, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"It's nice to look at but, the tranny stinks, breaks down all the time, expensive to fix and price of parts are outrageous!!!!!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 136 137 138 ... 147 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Sonata near Honolulu. See local deals