Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2009 Hyundai Sonata

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 734 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

this has been the most reliable car i ever owned.

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "just keeps going. great opn gas."

Cons: "does not have great power but enough for me."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"loved this car. only getting rid of it because I am inheriting my wife's newer santa fe."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

a great cruise vehcile

By on Tuesday, March 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I spend a great deal of time on the road and the comfort and fuel economy is very good living in the north east corner of Pa the ECS is as good as 4 wheel drive I would buy another one ."

Hyundai sonata very clean

By on Tuesday, March 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2008 Hyundai sonata limited very comfortable and clean"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This V6 Sonata is what I wanted and I see why!

By on Saturday, February 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Like the sporty look"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I first drove a Hyundai Sonata in 2006 when I rented one; that is when I first liked it, and later on in life, I wanted one. This has nice power for the highway or whenever you would need to use it, the interior is not cheesy, and the whole look of the car makes you think it is more than what it is in a good way. No complaints here, a great buy!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice riding, dependable car

By on Monday, February 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"A little short on headroom with the sun roof for tall drivers"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Looks sporty but it's not anywhere near sporty.

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great steering"

Cons: "Horrible suspension"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"The green lightings are annoying doing night driving. The 235 horsepower seems to be to much for the front wheel drive under hard acceleration. Front seats are to firm for long rides. The suspenion is horrible. Any crack in the road you hit you will feel it. Smooth acceleration when not pushed hard. Great highway ride very zippy. Can't cut corners even with the really good $260 tires I have on the 17 inch rims. Needs a eco system because it's not that good on gas in the city. The engine note is quite after it heats up in the winters of New Jersey. Wish it came in black leather when I brought the 2006 Sonata in early 2005."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great value for the money.

By on Thursday, February 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought used with 8K miles. It has exceeded my expectations. LOVE the power seat and sunroof. Roomy inside for my needs. 28mpg in town, 33mpg on a trip. Never any maintenance issues"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A very fine vehicle.

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid vehicle."

Cons: "no road flaps."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This has been and is a very fine vehicle . We drive lots of highway miles and mountain roads. This Hyundai has never let us down."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Equal or above standards to sedans in this class

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "above expctations all around, defininte quality ,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Well taken care of second car with low miles. This car in my opinion is equal or surpassing the usual top two sedans that have been around for so long. Very pleased all around."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Equal or above standards to sedans in this class

By on Wednesday, February 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "above expctations all around, defininte quality ,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Well taken care of second car with low miles. This car in my opinion is equal or surpassing the usual top two sedans that have been around for so long. Very pleased all around."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Best value of any I have owned

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Cross country or around town, no problems. good to excellent mileage and good performance. Nothing has failed in the 8 yrs. Limited 4d sedan"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Most realiable car I ever owned.

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage..liked the instrument panel"

Cons: "Need higher arm rest. wind gusts affects driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"most reliable car I ever owned in my 55 years of driving . Had some steering issues in the beginning and could never solve the TPMS problem."

Best car I have ever owned

By on Thursday, February 05, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,650

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable ride; low maintenance cost; big trunk"

Cons: "low head space for my TALL husband"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been the most trouble-free, reliable, owner-friendly car a person could ever own. I would have no worries driving this car another 10 years."

Totally reliable car

By on Sunday, January 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Love the canister oil filter on top of the engine."

Cons: "Not a very comfortable ride."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This was my first Korean car purchase and I would certainly consider this line of cars in the future. The only negative comment I have is the ride is not very smooth but that could be because I stepped down from a Lincoln Continental. I'm getting up in the years and don't care for low profile tires which contribute to less than comfortable rides and this is rather prevalent with all manufacturers. Give me more rubber between the wheel and the road."

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Getting 30+ mpg in city, quiet ride, good handling

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Can put the rear seats down."

Cons: "No cup holders in the back."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Passengers like the room. Several comment on the smooth ride and how quiet it is. Experience with Hyundai service was phenomenal. While under 60K miles they would fix anything without hesitation. One time they were fixing it before the service manager finished the intake paperwork."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

9 years and so far so good!

By on Saturday, January 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had my car for 9 years now. Bought new in March of 2006. Just under 60,000 miles and so far bulletproof. This is my 3rd Hyundai. Two previous were a 99 Elantra and a 04 Elantra. Never a problem with any of them. Hyundai used to get a bad rap, but that is finally being put behind them as other people find out how good their cars truly are."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

It is just a great car.

By on Monday, December 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car all around."

Cons: "Power and handling."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I looked at a 2014 Sonata Hybrid and did not care for it at all."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car for the money

By on Saturday, December 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "roomy, safe and comfortable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Test drove all the competition in 2007 and liked this one most of all. Much better value for the dollar than anything in its class. After 7and a half years only thing I replaced on the car was tires recently, other than standard oil + filter changes. Rides like a full sized luxury sedan with as much room as any of them and yet still gets great gas mileage. I will be buying another Hyundai in the future without a doubt."

9 people out of 16 found this review helpful

a really good,reliable vehicle.

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun car to drive .i like to downshift"

Cons: "cant think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never had a problem. Bought it used in 2010. Has been garaged,and has some dings on it."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Nearly no mechanical problems

By on Saturday, November 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "engine is the best (oil),comfortable,affordable"

Cons: "Not good with potholes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car was purchased as a "new used" car at 38000 miles. I have had no engines problems until because learning it is very important to change the oil at least every 3 months. I am having issues with the oil pump and it is taking a haul on my engine. But this car has amazed close friends and family while having it for about 6 years with very little Maintanence. It ran well with minimal problems. Not good for city streets, many axle problems due to pot holes. DC potholes are enormous! If you visit, it's worth swerving to miss them."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

great car

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: do not need the car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"98000 miles never a problem"

My favorite car-comfy, reliable, and economical.

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "For a medium sedan the value cannot be beat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had to special order the car because I wanted the Cocoa Metallic paint color, and was certainly happy when it arrived. The mileage I get is wonderful-3 weeks on a tank of gas-and a very reliable vehicle to boot! My father is over 6 ft tall and can sit in the back seat comfortably, the trunk holds just about anything, and the back seats fold down for everthing else. I love this car, one of the best I've ever owned, and plan on buying a new Sonata in a year or so, but I'm not tired of this one yet. I'm waiting to see what new colors they come out with, as I like something a little different than all the silver and white ones on the road. The only probelms were when the dealer service dept scratched the dash and left the battery terminal loose(reset all my xm stations!)"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

No problems at all.

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,775

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "Rough Ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My wife and I have really enjoyed our car. No mechanical problems is a plus. Our Hyundai Service department has been outstanding."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Better than many

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "mechanically reliable, fast enough, better than ma"

Cons: "Slow poke gas savings, cramped legs after hr drivg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This car ran reliably and without mechanical failure. The car mileage was hard to create: to match what the manufacturer promises, the car needed to be driven slow poke slow. It handled mountain driving at reasonable speeds, but with a loss of mileage. My husband liked the interior better than I did. The trunk held lots of stuff: definitely a value for people with lots of stuff or who want lots of stuff."

9 people out of 21 found this review helpful

best car I ever owned, however can't part with it.

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "gas mileage great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has had all normal maintenance done and up to date. I have not had any mechanical problems at all except for an $8 plastic lever that broke inside the starter(covered on warranty)"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Sonata near Honolulu. See local deals