Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2009 Hyundai Sonata

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 717 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 72 | Next

a really good,reliable vehicle.

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun car to drive .i like to downshift"

Cons: "cant think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never had a problem. Bought it used in 2010. Has been garaged,and has some dings on it."

Don't buy this car

By on Saturday, November 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Cheap"

Cons: "Cheap"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car because it was cheap and I thought it would be reliable. It is not reliable. The transmission needed rebuilt at 65000 mile. I will never buy another hyundai again. I will stick with Honda. These Korean cars are very inexpensive and maybe I just had bad luck and got a lemon but the build quality and driving experience are so very poor. I feel like I'm driving a plastic throwaway toy. Never ever ever buy a 2006 Hyundai Sonata. Bottom line poor quality and poor driving experience. Buy a toyota or a Honda."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Nearly no mechanical problems

By on Saturday, November 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "engine is the best (oil),comfortable,affordable"

Cons: "Not good with potholes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car was purchased as a "new used" car at 38000 miles. I have had no engines problems until because learning it is very important to change the oil at least every 3 months. I am having issues with the oil pump and it is taking a haul on my engine. But this car has amazed close friends and family while having it for about 6 years with very little Maintanence. It ran well with minimal problems. Not good for city streets, many axle problems due to pot holes. DC potholes are enormous! If you visit, it's worth swerving to miss them."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: do not need the car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"98000 miles never a problem"

My favorite car-comfy, reliable, and economical.

By on Monday, November 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "For a medium sedan the value cannot be beat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had to special order the car because I wanted the Cocoa Metallic paint color, and was certainly happy when it arrived. The mileage I get is wonderful-3 weeks on a tank of gas-and a very reliable vehicle to boot! My father is over 6 ft tall and can sit in the back seat comfortably, the trunk holds just about anything, and the back seats fold down for everthing else. I love this car, one of the best I've ever owned, and plan on buying a new Sonata in a year or so, but I'm not tired of this one yet. I'm waiting to see what new colors they come out with, as I like something a little different than all the silver and white ones on the road. The only probelms were when the dealer service dept scratched the dash and left the battery terminal loose(reset all my xm stations!)"

No problems at all.

By on Monday, November 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,775

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "Rough Ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My wife and I have really enjoyed our car. No mechanical problems is a plus. Our Hyundai Service department has been outstanding."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Better than many

By on Tuesday, October 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "mechanically reliable, fast enough, better than ma"

Cons: "Slow poke gas savings, cramped legs after hr drivg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This car ran reliably and without mechanical failure. The car mileage was hard to create: to match what the manufacturer promises, the car needed to be driven slow poke slow. It handled mountain driving at reasonable speeds, but with a loss of mileage. My husband liked the interior better than I did. The trunk held lots of stuff: definitely a value for people with lots of stuff or who want lots of stuff."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

best car I ever owned, however can't part with it.

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "gas mileage great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has had all normal maintenance done and up to date. I have not had any mechanical problems at all except for an $8 plastic lever that broke inside the starter(covered on warranty)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A great surprise for a short search of cars

By on Thursday, October 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased the car in Mississippi from a dealer with 25k miles (approximately). It was a "quickie" purchase as I was relocating to Northwest Arkansas with a new job where I would no longer be provided with a company car. It was a program car and was very clean. I have owned it now for over 7 years and have put 193k miles of both city and highway miles. I use it every day as I am in sales and travel an average of 200 to 400 miles a week. It has had the oil changed every 5000 miles and I have had it serviced as needed. Until recently, the only expense has been oil, batteries, and tires. I have had to invest a bit more this year for some minor suspension repairs which was very little compared to the miles I have in it. The thing that amazes me the most about this car is how everything still works. Power windows, power driver's seat, sliding sun roof, exterior electric mirrors, A/C. heat, etc. Usually you can expect some of these to fail over the years, but not this car. I plan to drive it for a few more years before I retire and fully expect to hit 300k. What a great surprise for a car purchased over 7 years ago when Hyandai's were less well known and as popular as they are today. I can't rate it any less than a 10."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I ever owned.

By on Thursday, October 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A great car at a good price."

Cons: "Valets would probably rather park a Mercedes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned more expensive cars, But this is the best car I have ever owned. I bought the car in 2009 new. I have had no problems with it at all. I get excellent mileage and it is very easy to drive. It has more than enough power to safely pass other vehicles. It has a small car price, but is intermediate in size."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 72 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Sonata near Honolulu. See local deals