Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2008 Hyundai Sonata

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 690 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next

The best car I have ever had. No major problems.

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great for trips. Always reliable."

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better and alignment issues."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would buy another Sonata if Hyundai had not priced them out of my income level now. I LOVE this car!"

Best car i ever owned out of 32 cars.

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The car exceeds all claims for it including MPG"

Cons: "One noise that could not be fixed nor found."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Amazing to me that around town this car gives me BETTER mileage than claimed. It handles well enough to provide a good safety margin. Just has been a great car since new. The ONLY down I can give it is since new there is a noise on some bumps that can be heard only from the driver's seat. It has calmed down somewhat but it is why I had to reduce the quality rating."

Outstanding car for the price

By on Tuesday, July 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Sonata...I have owned each for 5 years. I have been back to the dealer twice in the 10 years. Once for a defective clock and once for a noisy tail pipe."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very good car, reliable

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 166,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good value and very reliable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in 2009 and my wife and I have driven it 166K miles. I have had no problems with it. I performed normal service and changed engine oil every 3K miles. I will buy another Hyundai Sonata."

minimmal maintenance

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"minimmal maintenance"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good value and warranty compared to the rivals.

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good value for the money but would get leather next time."

This car has performed very well.

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very pleased with this car, good gas mileae, engine is quiet, steering is smooth, pleased overall. I will be driving this car for a long time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,870

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great warranty and value for the money"

Cons: "Limited interior colors; grey or beige? Really?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My previous car was a Hyundai Elantra, that I traded in for the 2007 Sonata. I am now closing into retirement mode and will be trading in the 2007 for what may be my last new car. It will be a Hyundai!"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

great value and get up and go

By on Wednesday, June 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "outstanding value & great source of transportation"

Cons: "could have done a better job w/ the sound of horn"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"the 2006 Sonata is probably the best car I have ever owned and I have been driving for 40 years. very reliable and a great source of transportation. I would buy another one if I wasn't getting up in age."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Overall,a very good vehicle

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"My '08 Sonata had 13,000 on it when I bought it. It has 72,000 on it's 4 cylinder and consistently gets 30 MPG + on a road trip. I really like the car but have two comments. The visor on the passenger side flopped down and was replaced at significant cost. It has flopped down again and the only solution they give me is to velcro it up. This is UNSAT. Likewise my third stoplight bulb burned out and it took $95 to change it as it is so hard to access.These seem like minor things to some,but they are enough to keep me from recommending that model year at least,and Hyundai in general."

Dependable Transportation

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Far better quality than ford or chevy."

Cons: "Back driver tire wears to inside."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My 2006 v6 GLS Sonata had 75000 miles on it when I purchased it and now currently has 161000 miles on the odometer. I owned a chevrolet malibu sedan before this and let me tell you there is no comparison in reliability. The sonata is hands down the better car. I have only replaced the battery one time in the 86,000 miles that I have owned this car and have just recently had to charge the a/c system. Very good fuel economy and actually quiet fun to drive."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Terrible, don't buy!

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Goes fast when you first buy it."

Cons: "Everything. It is a piece of junk."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car is terribly made, and will most likely begin falling apart the minute you drive it off the lot. I have had my car for nearly 7 years and taken good care of it. Despite that, at 75,000 miles it is requiring nearly 6,000 dollars in repairs. Pieces are constantly just falling off the vehicle. Save your money and buy something reliable like a Honda or a Toyota."

Have owned 10 different brands, best ever

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great trunk space,quiet drive.Spacious interior."

Cons: "Rides a little rough but handles well."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new, only owner. Has been maintained as recommended by manufacture with back up documents. Oil change every 3.000 miles. New battery and recently realined. Tires rotated with each oil change. We are in our 70 an 80's. We are the only drivers. Tires are Michelin with 50% tread."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

A great car and increasing in value

By on Friday, June 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Too many to mention"

Cons: "Does not have the latest navigation electronics"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car drives like a large and very comfortable car. Gas mileage is 23.8/31.2(always loaded with 200lbs of junk) for the 4 1/2 years I've owned it. The finish paint is still like new in spite of the fact that it is always parked outside. I have needed virtually no repairs on this car(well,one headlight). The 4 cyl engine is pretty much unbelievable to me.. first 4 I have ever owned. If you don't watch out you'll be cruising 80MPH and not realize it. I have had only one set of tires on the car for 4 1/2 years and still have 70% tread to go. Great car!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great riding auto, with lots of power-6 cyl.

By on Thursday, June 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lots of extras and smoth effortless driving,"

Cons: "no power seats or heated seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"lots of standard features, terrific driving experience, one owner, dealer serviced with additional 1 1/2 left with bumper to bumper extended coverage. garage kept and always cleaned inside and out."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The car to which I compare the others

By on Wednesday, June 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 139,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "interior & trunk space, warranty, reliable"

Cons: "rust issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love my 2006 Hyundai Sonata GL. I had it from fall of 2006 until spring of 2014. Pretty darn reliable. It's roomier than most sedans in its price range-- great for 2 adults and 2 kids with large car seats. Huge trunk space! It has an awesome warranty and decent gas mileage. .. but... While we took good care of our car, we had constant rust issues with the wheels early on and sub frame later on (recall on sub frame). Then some oil leaking around 130,000 miles. Then, at 139,000 miles, the engine blew.(Mostly highway miles commuting to work, averaging 15,000 miles/year just going to work.) Basically, as soon as that warranty ends, watch out. It's a good thing its 10 year/100,000 miles. Now that I am looking for a new car... Would I consider buying a Hyundai Sonata again? Absolutely."

Good vehicle. Strives to be upscale but fails.

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Vehicle is reliable. The build quality is just OK. THE ENGINE RUNS WELL, BUT THE 4-speed transmission is a weak spot. A 5- or 6-speed transmission would improve both acceleration and fuel economy. One of the strengths of the transmission is the ability to start out in 2nd gear on slippery snow or ice. Speaking of fuel economy, mixed driving comes in, according to the vehicle's own readout at 21.3 mpg. This is just over the EPA City rating of 21, but lower than the EPA mixed driving rating of 24. On long trips however, this car achieves 35 mpg which significantly surpasses the EPA rating of 30 mpg."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

the best vehicle i have owned

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive and economical"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only problem with this sonata was the sun visor on the drivers side would not stay up and the dealer installed a new one free of charge.I have owned this vehicle since it was new and if you change oil and follow Hyundai recommendations it will be a trouble free car. No problems what so ever I would rate this sonata ltd a solid ten ."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car...still gets 32mpg with original plugs.

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliability, low maintenance cost, and a brilliant"

Cons: "No built-in navigation and no power passenger seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"From 5/08 to 5/14 the only problem was the alternator failure. That was the result of a sloppy oil change at a well-known chain service station. The tech spilled oil on the alternator and belt. Never told me and never cleaned all the oil up. Lost all power on I-95, but felt safe in the Sonata. The unassisted steering was very responsive, and I was able to maneuver across two lanes between semis to the shoulder. Of course it helped that I was doing 85 when the power went out. $285 for a rebuilt alternator (towing & labor included) with a 12 month parts & labor warranty One battery replacement, a few windshield wipers replaced, two sets of tires, and oil changes every 10k miles. That's all the maintenance cost. If the Sonata still came with a V6, I wouldn't hesitate to buy a 2014/2015. I am sticking with Hyundai for my new car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car For the money

By on Wednesday, May 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good value, comfortable, enjoyable to drive"

Cons: "cup holders, visors, handles cheap, break easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my Sonata used with 10,000 miles on it. Ended up with 130,000 miles before being totaled in an accident. My husband walked away from the accident with some bruises and aches and pains. Only problems I had with it were minor ones. Visors needed to be replaced, passenger door handle needed to be replaced, window motor replaced. Inside parts a little cheap and plastic like, engine was great. Keep up regular service and oil changes this car should take you through 200,000 miles easily."

DO RECOMEND THIS CAR.

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "PRICE, SEAT COMFORT, MILEAGE, STYLE, ROOMINESS"

Cons: "VISION FOR DRIVERS OVER 6'1" COULD BE BETTER."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"WE TRADED IN A 2003 SONATA FOR THIS 2009. HAVE SINCE TRADED IN MY 2006 ELANTRA WITH 165000 MILES FOR A 2012 SONATA. HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH ANY OF THEM."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car for the money very comfortable well buil

By on Saturday, April 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price fun to drive great warranty"

Cons: "cant really think of anything bad just agreat car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I only own the car a few days but I'm very impressed I bought it with 110,000 miles and it still looks new runs great handles great very tight very comfortable powerful good paint job no rust or wear ride smooth and quiet Well equipt"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Hyundia Sonts GLS

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Performance.speed, comfort and very roomy"

Cons: "I really don't have any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have this car for 3 yrs and its a wonderful.Its great in the snow and traveling is very comfortable.This car is also great for family and I feel very safe in this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very good car on all counts,but not outstanding

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "like I said"

Cons: "bumper paint, mediocre handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"car makes within one MPG of factory mileage estimates; peppy four cylinder engine has a wonderful growl to it. Ride versus handling only average. Could use at least 10% shorter lock to lock on steering,10& more power steering. Paint on front and rear bumpers has flaked off the clear coat; I bought the car a year old (rental) dealer certified, but car maker wouldn't make good on it; seen problem on a few other cars. I have owned 6 nationalities of cars, have sold 8 in my sales career; car has been a very good value."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

bought this car new very good car

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"very good car ran it for seven years with very little trouble"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 28 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Sonata near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details