Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2004 Hyundai Sonata

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 321 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next

Best I have ever owned, Have 2 no problems

By on Tuesday, July 03, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value and comfort, performance"

Cons: "Poor dealer service, No plugin Hybrid"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am so happy with the Sonata cars. Only maintenance is tires and brakes at 75,000, 150,000. Timing belt at 150,000. Drives like a roller skate, using Goodyear Triple tread. Mostly highway, 65 to 75 mph, very powerful."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

A great car

By on Monday, January 26, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought mine in 2002 having rented one for a week and been very impressed. Since that time (seven years now) the only things I've had to replace (other than the oil) are the battery, two tires, and the CD player. This is a reliable, comfortable, and nice looking car! It handles very well in the snow and in conditions where you'd think you need an SUV. When I bought the car, it was so quiet I would occasionally doubt the engine was running when I came to a stop. Over the years the noise has increased slightly, but I can hardly complain. I truly can't think of anything about this car that I'd improve. I could certainly get a new car now, but why? I don't like the styling of the new Sonatas quite as well and I can't imagine getting luckier than I was with this one."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

I like this car

By on Sunday, January 17, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I had my 99 sonata for five years and it runs great. the only problem so far is I changed 2 speed sensors and it is kind of common in Hyundai cars. the mileage on my car is over 200000 miles and it still running great. After I graduate from school, I definitely will buy a new one with the same model."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This Sonata has & is great.

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Veryy dependable and easy to maintain."

Cons: "Is prone to sway in high wind conditions."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My dad bought it new and willed it to me when he passed. I have maintained the vehicle since he purchased it and it has been fantastic. I had a Viper starting system installed. It was all this vehicle needed to make it perfect. I have replaced the front bumper cover and did some minor repairs and paint to the body. He was 94 and was driving it up until 3 months before passing. He and I have been the only operators."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Hyundai? more like a HONDA! =)

By on Thursday, February 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,235

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent on gas."

Cons: "I couldn't find one in black, instead white."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My beauty

"I've owned this car for 4 years now. only tune ups and oil changes. Car runs like the energizer bunny, literally! Low-cost maintenance, easy to work on and a luxurious elegant look. I love it and would buy another one if anything were to happen to my baby."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

My beauty

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Sonata near Honolulu. See local deals