Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2004 Hyundai Sonata

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 316 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next

Attractive, comfortable, EZ entry/exit, rides well

By on Tuesday, March 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "attractive, comfortable, EZ entry/exit, 30+ fwy"

Cons: "Hardware quality poor, cup holders r small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

Car at 16,000 miles.

"Car is attractive, easy entry/exit, road handling is fair to good, rides well. Seating is comfortable. Easy reach for driving controls. 2 cup holders are small and smaller - Ugh! Interior hardware is a 4 out of 10. Electrical shorts in cabin a/c, heater functions. Leather on steering wheel coming off. Trim moulding on rear door fell off. This is a V6, poor gas economy (16 mpg) in town, but 30+mpg on fwy. V6 gives you power when you need it!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Car at 16,000 miles.

real goodfor transport

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,650

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"One owner car very well taken car of ! Only need one car !both are retired"

This is my "Florida" car-love it!

By on Monday, December 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great ride and handling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a Camry at home that I paid over 30,000 for. In many ways, this car is better-I love the moon roof and I love the styling. I have a hard time figuring out if this is my car or a Jaguar-check the lines! reliable, comfy, roomy and easy handling-great on long tripps, too."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very dependable'

By on Sunday, December 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Dependable, low or no repair bills."

Cons: "Just a little small getting in and out ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never had a problem with this car. I inherited this car from my Dad who bought new in 2004. He never had an issue of any kind. I took over ownership in 2011 and continue to use it on a daily basis. Recently put a new battery in but besides that I haven't done any repairs."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Wonderful starter or around town transportation.

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent Value, Wonderful Starter or Around Town"

Cons: "Minor Cosmetics/ 185,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Take a look. Ready to drive TODAY

"Are you in the market for reliable, dependable, efficiently priced transportation? Look no further. I have a 2000 Hyundai Sonata. 185,000 miles, low-maintenance/ high performance vehicle. Cool air/heat, CD changer, Automatic Seats, Sunroof, Tint, all she needs is a owner who is ready to commit to a long lasting partnership. Only one previous owner. Minor Cosmetics/ No rust-No Fuss."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Take a look. Ready to drive TODAY

Wonderfully reliable, comfortable car

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,750

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "driving comfort, reliability, value, mpg, power"

Cons: "visors don't cover whole side window"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Sonata has been a stalwart friend for 14 years and over 188,000 miles. It remains comfortable, reliable and loaded with pep after a recent tune-up. I have had few problems with it, and those were corrected quickly. My car has leather seats, steering wheel and shift knob, power driver's seat, power windows and locks, tilt wheel, cruise control, etc. The major reason I am selling it is I need a vehicle to tow my boat, which this cannot do - but it did tow a U-Haul trailer when I moved. Yes, it can tow up to 1000 pounds as described in the Owner's Manual. You wouldn't believe what I have carried in my Sonata that people said would not fit. It resided 10 years in the "salt belt" and has limited rust at the lower edge of the hood. This is a great car if you just take care of it. In July it took me to the East Coast and back in complete comfort, averaging 28 mpg. That was amazing for a car with 185,000 miles on it and before the tune-up."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

My Sonata just won't die!

By on Thursday, October 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "very reliable"

Cons: "not the prettiest car ever made..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've been wanting a new car for about 5 years. Every year, I think something is going to go wrong with this Sonata that will make me finally give it up. Hasn't happened! It just keeps going and going. I had to do routine maintenance (oil changes, brakes, tires, etc.), but nothing significant on this car has failed. Very reliable, basic transportation. I'll drive it anywhere with confidence. Runs better than my wife's 2007 Lexus!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

best vehicle

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"like this car"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

have i injoyed owning this car

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price for work any local business"

Cons: "may need small repairs due to age and milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"O op this car is very reliable for around town driving handling is very good alignment is true tires are almost new radio works interior good condition exterior paint original i would recommend this car to drive every day with out fear"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

This car has nickel and dimed me to death

By on Friday, October 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Plenty of room for four"

Cons: "Underpowered and sloppy ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"This car has nickel and dimed me to death. It seemed nice initially, but after awhile, many things started failing on a regular basis. They have not stopped! The next generation of Sonata improved dramatically…I know…I own one (2008)"

8 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Hyundai Sonata near Honolulu. See local deals